We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip spot to relax and enjoy life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blind Monk

The Blind Monk
410 Evernia Street #107, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
+1 561-833-3605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 577 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: A neighborhood bar serving a robust and regularly rotated selection of wine, craft beer, stinky artisanal cheeses, and small plates.
Rockland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hip spot to relax and enjoy life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We slipped in here in the early evening last night and found a place that is both intimate and grand, created by a team that clearly cares about details and knows how to polish them. Guided by the knowledgeable bartender, I had a memorable brown IPA, while my partner enjoyed a bubbly cava (that was offered as one of their nightly special drinks). We also shared a new roasted cauliflower tapas, elegantly prepared with a manchego cheese sauce that was so good we asked for something to soak it up with! Ben, the personable owner, happily complied by bringing us some toasted baguette slices. The lofty ceiling, creative lighting, and industrial design elements combined to give us a New York experience (in the best way) in little old WPB. We loved every minute. Go and visit; the place is superb, and will be even more fun when the movies (to be displayed as a design element) are on.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, Owner at The Blind Monk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It was such a pleasure meeting both of you the other evening. I am so happy you enjoyed yourselves! You were the first to try our roasted cauliflower plate, so you will always hold a special place in my heart.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, drink and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My mother and I stopped here before heading to Night on Clematis and we were blown away. The cheeses we had were to die for - the brie and gouda especially! Our waiter was such a help, taking time to describe the cheeses and make recommendations. The hummus was also quite divine. We'd go out of our way to visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, Owner at The Blind Monk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. That is the best compliment we could have. Thank you!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cozy and pleasant atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Every time my wife and I drop in for a glass of wine here we always promise our next visit will be soon! They have a very interesting wine list with a wide range of possibilities for wines by the glass. The couch seating is very comfy and we usually end up meeting and chatting with those sitting nearby. We did not try the food but the expanded tapas and cheeses will definitely find their way to us on our next visit for the Sunday wine flights! Service is also friendly and attentive. Our server clearly had a good knowledge of the wines offered.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, Owner at The Blind Monk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We love our regulars! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you and your wife enjoyed yourselves.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unexpected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great wine list, looks like a perfect date spot and even better wine list. The best artichoke dip I have ever tasted in my life!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“wine and tapas casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Wine a bit pricing -same tapas selection always. Menu should be cycled Nice for pre meal stop

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, Owner at The Blind Monk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated. I wanted to let you know that we have some new selections on our food menu. We have rotated off some summer items to make room for plates with more fall and winter ingredients.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blind Monk also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to The Blind Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blind Monk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.