We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOSTLY AWESOME!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darbster

Darbster
8020 S. Dixie Hwy, West Palm Beach, FL 33405
561-586-2622
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Vegan Bistro on the waterway serving a mix of innovative vegan dishes such as palm cakes along with favorites like enchiladas and mac & cheese. Salads and raw items as well. Serves beer and wine. Dog friendly. Dinner served Wed-Sun, lunch on Sat-Sun. Has outdoor seating. Accepts credit cards. Open Wed-Fri 5-10pm, Sat 1pm-10pm, Sun 11am-10pm, Mon-Tue closed.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MOSTLY AWESOME!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've been here around 7 times in the past year, a few dishes aren't all that and the mac n' cheese is average, but I must say, the majority of the food is beyond delicious. The Nachos, the pizza, the Wellington, and a host of others are well worth the price, which is a bit high as ith most of the menu, I am not sure if everything on the menu which is available organically is, but if you get 2 entrees and an app. you won't get out for under $35 plus tax & tip - in most cases it's well worth it and the food has a lot of heart put into it, flavor, and originality!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    54
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vegan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great food, could have some more raw and salad options, but still fabulous!! Thank goodness for vegan restaurants!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself, my husband and our Bichon Bella had Sunday Brunch at Darbster this Sunday. Lovely setting, palms and waterside, inside/outside seating in a casual friendly atmosphere. The brunch items are varied but quite healthy since all items are dairy free and meat free! I enjoyed the pancakes and my husband enjoyed the french toast. There is a live music which is great for background and we just enjoyed it completely!

We definitely will

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum factor is high”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have eaten here several times with friends. The atmosphere is friendly and the wait staff attentive. Although they get busy at times no question is to small or at any time did I feel rushed. The chile relleno is fantastic and I love the big onion rings, although they can be a bit greasy at times. Also, the hearts of palm cakes were delightful as was the quinoa loaf. I did not like the desserts in general but than again I am no vegan (cream or bust!). I did very much enjoy the pear hard cider and the occasional dog sitting by the bar with their owners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere usa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Meat eater is impressed by vegi fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I love food and variety, so when we found ourselves at this vegetarian restaurant in W. Palm we dug in.

The faux wings were great. My burrito was favorful. My wife's faux curry chicken sandwich was yummy. The onion rings were greasy and indelible.

Carrot cake was dry and infused with chunks of some sort of crystals (some sort of sugar substitute?) Not good.

This restaurant is open air and offers no air-conditioning, which makes dining a chore rather than a pleasure.

All in all, if vegi is your current must do craze and you don't mind sitting in south Florida heat while trying to enjoy your meal, this restaurant is a viable option.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbster also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL

Been to Darbster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darbster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.