We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonably priced, up and down service, GREAT DANCERS.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Opa - CLOSED

Taverna Opa
700 S. Rosemary Ave. Suite 232, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
561-820-0002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hibiscus Street
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced, up and down service, GREAT DANCERS.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have been to this restaurant 3 times. When they have the Happy Hour its a great deal.

The dancers are great and a awesome part of the atmosphere.

If only the service was as good.

We have had

Bread with hummus = very good, sometimes if you ask for more they try to charge you, sometimes they don't, like I said the service is up and down

Calamari = very bland and very small portion

Chicken wings = very good and flavorful

Gyro = very good meat, but don't really care for the sauce as it is very sour.

We would eat at this restaurant when we want Greek food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    33
    28
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Attended an holiday party with our office and even though the food was good, we waited over 20-min for a simple glass of water. We finally got up and went to an outside bar to get the glass of water ourselves. Not sure why the wait staff couldn't have done that?? Took even longer for the glass of wine we ordered to finally arrive.

It took almost 40-min before we even saw a single plate of appetizers, but then we had about 10-min to finish the appetizer before the entree came out and they were trying to take the appetizer plates that were less than half completed.

Very unorganized and disappointing experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fun place, pretty good food too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Get the flaming cheese - it's super tasty, and has a great presentation! Interesting chunky hummus served with pita bread. This is a fun place to come with a crowd on a weekend - belly dancers appear and dance to Greek-sounding music. yes, the music is loud, but it's all very fun. Not a place for quiet conversation, but a great place to bring some people when you are looking for something different.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach, nyc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“YUMMMMMM but what's the price today?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

They have the best Hummus - you mix it yourself, as you like it - thick or thin, all the ingredients are there, but you have to ask for it as one day it is free and comes with your meal, and the next, nope.
The Moussakka is the best I've ever had! It's got loads of meat (probably beef) and it's not oily, and they give you tons! And the eggplant is wonderful in it. One day it's 10 bucks, the next it's 16 (lunch).
The salads are superb as well, but like I said the prices change almost daily!
I have had better service at the outdoor bar than inside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner/Pregame Spot Fun for All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Opas is a must-see when in West Palm. The food is good and the enviorment is all about fun. The waiters dance on the tables and throw napkins. I would not suggest this as a family place, but more a place for people who want to grab a drink and a bite to eat before going out at night.

My friend and I always go to Opas for the happy hour for great priced drinks, half priced apps and we usually end up staying until the belly dancers come out. During happy hour in the summer they sometimes have live music (just one or two players) and it is really relaxing. The place is nice because even my parents and 50 yr. old aunt have a good time having drinks and enjoying the crazyness of the bartenders and belly dancers.

Finally, if you are looking to go out and enjoy the night, Opas is fun because on the weekends the inside bar is turned into a dance floor and a DJ starts going around 10pm. Thats when the bar gets roudy, people fill the outdoor bar and families should prolly not try to come in and have a nice sit-down dinner.

My suggestion for Opas - the drinks are pricy, so go to Happy Hour and then visit some of the other bars in City Place like Blue Martini then go back to Opas for the DJ/dance party. Just be careful - sometimes the bartenders can mix up drink orders and accidentally charge you for something that you didnt drink. Check your bill before you leave.

Ladies - please note - dancing on the bar is not slutty at this place - in fact, it is encouraged and usually results in a free drink. If you see girls on the bar, join in the fun or give them a wave - I'll prolly be one of them! Ha ha!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Opa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.