We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norton Museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Norton Museum of Art

Norton Museum of Art
1451 S Olive Ave, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
561 832 5196
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stellar art museum, the largest in Florida, has undergone a multi-million dollar renovation to better showcase its permanent collection of masterpieces by artists such as Picasso, Monet and Matisse.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Norton Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Pleasant surprise - small but worthwhile. The Chinese collection is amazing. There is a taste of everything no one style is overpowering so you can skip what you do not like and still still a lot of fine art. The docent tour was not available - check ahead (we called and were told yes but when we arrived we were told no). Free parking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    93
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diverse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I went to the Norton Museum to kill some time before dinner. General admission is $12.00 which is pretty normal. They have a small cafe and a gift shop on site. The gift shop is a little small and not much of a selection to buy a token to remind yourself of the visit.

They had a pretty diverse selection of art and artifacts. It went from modern day American, to Chinese and European. One of the coolest exhibits were of the tallest buildings of the world constructed of Legos. For those with young children, it's a good place to take them since they had a Lego play area after the exhibit.

This place was one of the nicer museums I've been to in terms of its diversity.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a little slice of Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Then Norton in West Palm Beach is a wonderful museum experience! For a rather small museum they have a wonderful collection! A must see when visiting Palm Beach!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disney World for the Art lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Friends, I can highly recommend the Norton; it will feed your soul. I could write three pages. If you are here deciding whether or not it's worth the trip...it is. I've been many times (with friends and solo). It's like catching up with an old friend... each time...some things are new and some things are comfortably the same. This place has opened up my creativity and cheered me up, as well as expanded my "art IQ." I am always inspired by the beautiful glass engraved quotes as well. Go. Your right brain will be happy. :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Art museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I visited the Norton Museum of Art today. The museum is housed in a beautiful white building in downtown W. Palm Beach. It is located on a side street with free off-street parking. Admission to the museum is $12.00. The museum has three levels connected by an architecturally stunning stairway. There is also an elevator. My particular interest is the impressionists and the collection was very good. Right now the special exhibition is the Doris Duke Collection of Islamic Art. The special exhibits rotate. There is a Chinese porcelain exhibit as well as many others. This is a wonderful museum, well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norton Museum of Art also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Norton Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.