We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff couldn't have done more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Lakeview Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get Caught Package
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in West Palm Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Staff couldn't have done more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt from Feb 24-March 2, 2013. We were first time visitors to the area. The hotel staff was a great help advising and shuttling us around free of charge at all hours of the day and night. They served a great free breakfast each morning. The rooms were very clean and a good size. We really liked the room divider as it made the room feel like you had a seperate bedroom with a large flat screen tv. It was a combination business pleasure stay. If there was one complaint it would be the volume of the air conditioner but the moral and the hard working staff more than made up for it. When it came time to depart they had our taxi waiting for us at 4;30 am.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Manager at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Janet G,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast and our comfortable rooms. We look forward to your return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    106
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
54
76
14
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is relatively modest, very old-fashion. I came for a conference in the area, so this was not a major issue. It smells in the lobby like an antique when you get in even though it was recently remodeled, as claimed. The rooms are OK and comfortable, but nothing to write home about. The buffet breakfast was quite satisfactory. The best part were the staff. They were extremely friendly and helpful. They tried to give very personal treatment to accommodate everybody’s special needs. For instance they did not hesitate and twice they sent one of their staff with their car to be dropped within a short ride away when taxies were not available at that very moment. I would surely stay there again if I do not look for a beach resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Manager at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Gordetsky,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very excited as we have just celebrated our 4th year, having been built from the ground up. Thank you for the wonderful comments about the staff, I will be sure to share them. We look forward to your next visit to Hyatt Place West Palm Beach/Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My stay at the Hyatt Place in West Palm Beach was my first-ever experience with both the Hyatt Place concept and with a limited service hotel. On the whole, I liked the experience very much. The room was well designed (save for the bathroom which had a half a glass door in the shower that resulted in splashing water on the floor). The empty fridge, the desk for work or dining, the sofa area, and the comfy bed, all great.

On my first night I ordered food from its Gallery service (hot menu, 24/7) and was surprised to hear that I had to go to the lobby to collect the sandwich but no worries, it wasn’t a big deal at all. Alas the food was rather disgusting (I was desperate and appreciated there was something available, but would make contingencies moving forward).

The service ethic of Hyatt Place is admirable. A sign, posted in the staff quarters but obvious to anyone standing at the check-in desk, advised staffers thusly: The answer: Yes. What is the question? Love the idea of it. The execution, not so good. The valet in the parking garage asked for a tip on arrival (forgive me if I am unaware of tipping on arrival, I usually tip on departure), which as a bit...weird. And on a trip that was meant to last a night or two, but was extended, the hotel’s self-service laundry was a godsend. Or should have been. Strikingly old-fashioned, in contrast to the state-of-the-art concept of the guest rooms, and lobby area, it required numerous quarters to fuel not only the washer and dryer but also the soap dispensing machine. Coming up short on a Sunday night (the hotel’s locale in downtown West Palm Beach was a bit ghostly), I asked the gallery “host” for some change. Her abrupt “don’t have quarters, you’ll have to go out and find them” didn’t really illustrate Hyatt Place’s “yes” philosophy. How does a hotel run out of $2 worth of quarters? I’m not sure and it definitely didn’t help that the precious change I did have on me was wasted on the detergent-dispensing machine, which ate my money and dispensed nothing.

It was a small thing, the laundry and the lack of change, but it was a big thing for me. There was nothing of the “can do” attitude promised.

Other disappointments? My cell phone didn’t work unless I stood at the window (overlooking the scenic vista of a parking garage) and so I had to spend some $70 on an overpriced long distance call to Atlanta. Shocking. And the Internet wasn’t terribly strong, you definitely couldn’t stream Netflix.

Would I stay there again? I loved the location (save for the desultory Sunday night atmosophere) – it was a block and a half to the Intracoastal and thus to Palm Beach and I loved that. I liked the idea of Hyatt Place very much – so much so that when my trip was unexpectedly extended for another week, I found a home at the Hyatt Place in Delray Beach. The room there wasn’t quite as large but the bathroom was more intelligently designed, the Internet was fast and furious, and the location was, also, divine.

And p.s. the laundry was the same set-up but at least this time I was prepared, and came equipped with a roll of quarters.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Such a nice hotel in an amazing location. Beautiful room (terrible view of the parking lot but that's ok). Free continental breakfast was nice, coffee was hot. Dinner was not bad. I didn't realize there was no room service, but hot food is available at all hours. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Manager at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Tracy M0118,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our Fresh 24/7 Gallery Menu and complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your next vistit to West Palm Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We chose this hotel for one last night at the end of our vacation for its proximity to the airport and Palm Beach. We were very pleased with our choice! Close to everything, very easy access in the city, clean, high tech rooms, and friendly, helpful staff!

Room Tip: We were in a City View - nice but surrounded by buildings so no real view anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Manager at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear grrr10,

Thank you for your grat review of our hotel. The Hyatt Place West Palm beach/Downtown is very close to shopping and dining! I am happy to hear the staff could assist you with your needs. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you have stayed at a Hyatt Place then you know what to expect, that is good.
It is right downtown with easy access to the airport.
Keep in mind there isn't much downtown within 5 blocks but there is a great place to run along the intercostal only 1 block away.
One difference is that there is a larger bar than at most Hyatt Places, but it wasn't loud and the crowd was hotel guests so it fine.
The staff is good. It is clean. Checkin and checkout were very fast.
And a billing error where I was mistakenly charged for parking was fixed immediately.
The breakfast is ok, but that is typical at Hyatt Places.
This is a well run place.
About the only thing that was annoying was the grating elevator buzz that happens on each floor, does that count?
The big problem is price is about 2X Hyatt Places elsewhere, but that is Palm Beach and it is 1/3 the price of the Breakers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Manager at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear bink,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hyatt Place West Palm Beach/Downtown. Our location, as you described, is wonderful. Close to the Intercostal Waterway and a nice walk to the beach, downtown or City Place. Next time you are in town, ask one of our Gallery Hosts about the Lake Trail, a great spot to run just across the bridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Got a super noisy room that they claim is because of the ice machine that is quite far from this room but I happened to notice the large laundry room on the floor below. Asked them to turn of hte machines during the night but they kept referring to ice machine. One heck a a noisy ice machine. I'm sure there is a quiet hotel nearby with friendly management staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Manager at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear AJohansson,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the hotel, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the noise and I am having engineering look into the situation. Next time you are going to be in town, please do not hesitate to contact me personally. I will be happy to give you our best available rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Palm Beach
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West ...
#1 of 33 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Marriott West Palm Beach
Marriott West Palm Beach
#14 of 33 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West ...
#7 of 33 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites West Palm Beach - Central
Embassy Suites West Palm Beach -...
#6 of 33 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#1 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
4.4 mi away
Springhill Suites Marriott West Palm Beach
Springhill Suites Marriott West ...
#4 of 33 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown

Address: 295 Lakeview Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Palm Beach
#8 Business Hotel in West Palm Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown Hotel West Palm Beach
Hyatt West Palm Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.