We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own food and take the stairs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Lakeview Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in West Palm Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bring your own food and take the stairs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Hyatt Place was recommended to me by a friend in WPB as a good, inexpensive hotel for a two night stay in the city with my son. Here's my take on our brief stay.

Pros -
1. The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to City Place, and easy to get in and out of by car.
2. The room was spacious, comfy and clean although it did have a bit of a musty odor, but nothing so overpowering as to make me change rooms. I loved the comfy corner seating area. It was a nice option for relaxing other than the bed.
3. The shower was great. Unlike most rain showers the water stream was nicely powerful and consistently hot.

Cons -
1. They are terribly short staffed and as a result service is horribly slow. It seems as if the Hyatt has decided to cut operational costs by using one person for front desk check in and out, restaurant service and answering the phone. Talk about multi-tasking! Hyatt may want to rethink this approach. What they save in overhead, they are losing in repeat business. Check in, check out, rekeys, ordering food, and coffee service take forever. There was always a line and even when it was finally my turn, the staff person would be interrupted because the phone rang, or the oven dinged, or there was something unresolved from the previous guest that required attention. One night my son went down to get Nachos. After an hour he came back upstairs empty handed. He patiently waited in line, finally got to place his order and was waiting for his food when he was told, oops we ran out. Can't make the nachos because we don't have any beans. With no where else to go at 11pm, he unfortunately went to bed hungry.

2. The elevator is painstakingly slow and sometimes goes out. Yup, a few guests told me they got stuck in the elevator. This was corroborated by my son. Luckily on the Nacho night he rode the car that was working because when he got out, he discovered that people were stuck in the other.

3. Parking is $15 per night, even although their site says $5

4. Security was a bit of a concern. Not enough for paranoia, but perhaps a little more caution is required especially for solo travelers. There were families camped out in the hallway who I think were waiting to get into a room. Same situation also could be seen at the outside entrance in the parking lot. I overheard a guest complaining that he had been given a key to a room that was still occupied. My room key didn't always work and on one occasion when I asked for a second key to my room, the multi-tasking overworked staff member issued me one without verifying my identity.

Overall, it's a decent choice for families because of the location and semi-reasonable cost. I would suggest you bring your own food and take the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Greetings,
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are please dot hear that you took advantage of our convenient downtown location and that you enjoyed our oversized and spacious rooms. We would like to offer our apologies for the issue concerning the food your son had ordered and please be assured that we have addressed this concern with the appropriate staff and management. In addition, guest security is of the utmost importance to us and we pride ourselves on providing a clean and safe environment for all guests. We do have active security procedures in place to ensure guest safety and your concerns are being addressed accordingly.
We do hope that when your travel brings you back to West Palm Beach you will give us a second chance so that we can exceed you and your family’s expectations at our hotel. If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to reach out to our hotel management directly and we will gladly discuss further.

Kindest Regards,
James Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    122
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
62
82
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very close to Clemattis street and City Place and minutes away from the beach. There is a parking lot for guests (U$15/night) which is great for downtown. Room was new, clean and spacious. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Greetings,

Thanks so much for your feedback about your recent stay, it was a pleasure hosting you! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and took advantage of our convenient downtown location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon – also, effective December 1st – March, we will offer full service valet parking as well!

Kind Regards,

James Hansen
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

Clean, nice rooms, good value and the only hotel in walking distance of downtown WPB. Overall better than you would expect from a hyatt place. Parking garage attached.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Greetings!

Thanks for the kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Also, we are happy you could take advantage of the parking garage while in West Palm Beach. We look forward to your return to the Hyatt Place and thanks again for choosing to stay with us!
Sunny Regards,

James Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in a double queen room..Rooms were huge.. Had it's on separate livingroom which was wonderful .. Woman at front desk was very friendly even gave us the water view room on the 5th floor..very clean!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Greetings!

Thanks you so much for the nice review, we are so happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. The hotel cleanliness and service is key to our guests satisfaction and we are so happy that we met your expectations. Your feedback has been relayed onto our team embers and again we look forward to seeing you back in West Palm Beach!

Sunny Regards,

James Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband had an overnight business meeting and I tagged along. His customer had suggested the Marriott in West Palm, however, after reading the Trip Advisor reviews, we investigated options and found the Hyatt. I was pleasantly surprised to find there was a shuttle to take me shopping while he played golf and took the client to dinner. The room was spacious, clean, and had a sitting area with a sofa (which converts to a sleeper, if needed.)
The desk staff was very helpful and friendly, however, the housekeeping department seemed unhappy and didn't seem to appreciate a hello. I often found myself in the elevator and I'm not sure if it was a language barrier but it did make for an uncomfortable ride. Breakfast is included but is mediocre. Avoid the oatmeal. Very friendly young girl there to assist guests. I would recommend this hotel for one or two nights, without hesitation, particularly for overnight business trips.

Room Tip: I think we had a room with one queen bed. Very comfortable for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Greetings Getupandgonow,
Thank you so much for the feedback from your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that the guest room suited you and your husband’s needs for your stay. Also, we are pleased to hear that you took advantage of the complimentary shuttle service we offer to Worth Avenue, CityPlace and downtown Clematis Street. Your feedback regarding the housekeeping staff has been forwarded onto the appropriate management as we assure that this concern will be addressed accordingly. Thanks again for the recommendation and we look forward to your next visit to West Palm Beach.

Sunny Regards,

James Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Had another great stay at this hotel. The staff are wonderful and the kids love the rooms.
Its close to cityplace for restaurants etc.
The reason I have not given 5 stars is the $15 parking fee which I feel is a little excessive and the ac units in the rooms are not the quietest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

This was our first time staying at a Hyatt Place. It was fabulous. We were there to attend a wedding and the staff we encountered during our 3 night stay were great. The cost of the stay was very, very reasonable. Great hotel with great rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown

Address: 295 Lakeview Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Palm Beach
#6 Business Hotel in West Palm Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Palm Beach
#12 Family Hotel in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown Hotel West Palm Beach
Hyatt West Palm Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.