We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
651 Okeechobee Blvd, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
(561) 514-3544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 566 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Jupiter
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have had as good as and quite a bit better food than I was served at this restaurant. They tried to sit us on a table next to both the kitchen and the waiters station. Service was slow and the extra charge for basic side (a potato!) is ridiculous. We certainly won't go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    42
    21
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Supposedly one of the best restaurants in West Palm Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Birthday celebrations were very much anticipated at this restaurant which, unfortunately, left us wanting in the quality of the meals. While the atmosphere was nice, the over-priced meals reminded us of pub fare where you'd be paying a quarter or less of anything this menu offered. Also, as a dedicated "sweetie", the dessert menu lacked variety and the hot chocolate fudge cake was very dry and tasteless. The $250 we shelled out could have been better spent elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“Very Hyped, Great in Cetain Aspects, BUT ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This steak house tries to develop a reputation as a very high end place in West Palm Beach. They use a special technique for their steaks, roughly a combination of very high heat and some kind of butter infusion. The result is truly soft and tender steaks. But - steak is already on the greasier and more unhealthy end of the spectrum of foods you should consume, and their way of adding generous portions of butter to everything just makes things that much worse. So we couldn't particularly enjoy the result, neither in taste, nor in the healthiness aspects. It is very pricy and tries to be high-end, although there are several places with nicer ambiance in the immediate vicinity. And, in my opinion as somewhat of a gourmet - if it is is the steak flavor you crave, head over to Outback, it's as simple as that. If you crave really great-tasting traditional American steaks, head a mile or so west on Okeechobee Blvd to the Okeechobee Steak House. And Ruth's Chris, de-grease your steaks so that the enjoyment you produce in people's hearts is more than the damage you do to the arteries of these same hearts!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“memorable occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We celebrated a family birthday at Ruth's Chris in West Palm Beach in April, 2013. When the restaurant called to confirm the reservation the hostess asked if a special occasion would be celebrated, I said yes, a birthday. I was very surprised when we arrived to find Happy Birthday confetti on the table, along with a birthday card. Our waitress Jen, was very professional and did an excellent job. The meal was good, we each had steak. To my surprise again, the Chef had prepared a special dessert to celebrate and wrote Happy Birthday on the plate. Jen, our waitress asked if she could take a photo for each of the guests to have. The extra thought and care that was taken made the evening memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best steak in town PERIOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A must visit, if you are looking for the best steak in town! Great view at he West Palm Beach Ockeechobee road location.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.