We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second year of satisfaction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Crest

Save Saved
You added Summer Crest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Crest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5639 Oakley Blvd, Wesley Chapel, FL 33543 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Wesley Chapel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Second year of satisfaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We returned to the Best Western Summer Crest after a great stay last December and it was as pleasant, if not better, this time. We were part of a lacrosse tournament that caused most hotels to be sold out for the weekend before New Year's Eve.

Check in was quick and our first floor room was spotless. Refrigerator and microwave came in handy. There is a small table with two chairs, desk, dresser, and a flat screen tv but not much room for anything else. Shower had great water pressure but they really should have two shower curtains to keep the water inside the tub. Temperature in the room is easily controlled and it was only loud when it was on high.

Laundry room is used by housekeeping in the morning but we used it every night - $3 a load to wash and dry but bring your own soap because they charge $1 for a box of detergent. We did not have our room cleaned (by choice) while we were there but we had no problem exchanging our towels every day for fresh ones. They do not have more than enough for each room so sometimes we had to wait to get all four but they always found at least two for our immediate needs. Our lax player went to bed early every night and the halls were quiet by 9 pm. We watched a movie in the lobby on our laptop and were extremely impressed by the young woman working the desk until 11 pm. She was patient, kind and very courteous to every guest.

Breakfast was not crowded except for one morning when we got to sleep in a little. It is kept well stocked - fresh fruit, yogurt, biscuits and gravy, cereal and bread/bagels. There are two waffle makers.

Not sure about the previous reviewers' experience but our room (115) was perfectly clean, not musty and we will definitely stay again if we return next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
11
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This motel should be a "5," but it just makes foolish mistakes. We recently stayed at the Summer Crest for one night, and had difficult on checkin getting two rooms (previously reserved at the same time) together, in traveling with our 82 year old father. The reception desk was reluctant to make every possible effort to change this, and we ended up with rooms that were distant from each other. Our room, on the Third Floor, was to be a "nonsmoking" room, but we were dismayed to find that half of that floor is, unbeknownst to nonsmoking customers, reserved for "smoking rooms" despite "no smoking" signs on each door badge. As a result, the entire hallway on that floor is redolent of the wondrous odor of Virginia broadleaf, to which I (like many) are seriously allergic. We received conflicting reasons for this situation from the desk staff.

What makes this a "3" instead of a "1" or the "5" (in its class) that it deserves? Well, it gets moved up from a "1" because, within hours (and over a holiday, to boot), a senior manager responded to my online survey responses in a very accommodating way, and with a full credit for our rooms and an assurance that the problems we faced would be addressed. That's the hallmark of good management, in trying to recover from a serious fumble, albeit an unnecessary one since they should have been anticipated. That brings an "avoid" up to "acceptable" and indicates that with a little serious work, it could be much higher.

But that's also why it goes down from the "5" it otherwise would deserve: This is a clean, well maintained facility, with very modest prices yet providing a full hot breakfast (waffles, good sausage gravy and biscuits, and all the other usuals), a business/internet room with two systems and a printer, great parking, a small but comforting lobby (with a free Tampa paper - not the usual USA Today junk), a small but bright exercise room, and even a modest pool. The facility is excellent, and management seems attentive, albeit belatedly. But for the very serious problem of warning customers that the Third Floor is a smoker's heaven (apparently, including the hallway in that wing of the floor), and a more empathetic staff, this would be a "5" from a nonsmoker. (Of course, it probably is a winner all the way for smokers.)

I hope they make some operational changes, so they can get the rating that is so easily open to them which, otherwise, may literally go "up in smoke."

Room Tip: If you smoke, go for the Third Flooor, I guess. If you don't, and don't like smelling smoky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Room was dirty. Sheets were stained. Dead bugs were on one of the bed covers. Chair was ripped. What else can I say? Checked out. Didn't stay. Went to a different hotel. Stayed in other Best Westerns and never checked out before scheduled departure. It was bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room was clean and as quiet as we had requested.
The breakfast buffet was well stocked(2 waffle irons!) and kept clean.
Easy access on and off of Interstate 75.
Many good dining options in the surrounding area.
We paid $61 for a King non-smoking room.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Been here several times now because of the location to Saint Leo's and the price but think it will be the last time. Don't get me wrong the front desk is very good and personable but the whole hotel needs help. The rooms are musty, our toilet didn't work either day and my husband fixed it...that's our problem. Unfortunetly in this area you either pay more or get the same.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same..it's a very basic motel/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Only stayed one night, but excellent value for Best Western. Room was clean and quiet. Reasonable price (approx $65) for a quiet night's stay. Simple continental breakfast. Convenient to St. Leo University. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for and one night. The staff was polite and accommodating and the room was clean. The location is off the main road and it was very quiet with no road noise. It was a little hard to find. They have a small sign by the Marathon station but the street sign it the intersection is Dayflower, not Oakley.
Breakfast was the typical high on carb and low on protein selection. There is enough to get by for the morning and the coffee was OK too. It was a bargain at less than $70 including taxes. If you looking for a clean place for a short stay, this hotel meets the need.

Room Tip: First floor on the right is closer to the parking lot and has a direct entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Crest

Address: 5639 Oakley Blvd, Wesley Chapel, FL 33543 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Florida > Wesley Chapel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Wesley Chapel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summer Crest 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Summer Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Summer Crest Hotel Wesley Chapel
Best Western Wesley Chapel
Wesley Chapel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Crest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.