We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date night place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
1640 Bruce B. Downs Blvd, Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
813 907 8202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Tampa FL
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great date night place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been here a couple of times now and overall, it's enjoyable.
The bad aspects: Pretty dark over some tables. We had to ask them to please increase our lighting or move us to another table w/ lighting overhead. Woman in restroom had to use a lighter to apply lipstick.
The good aspects:Fresh, not frozen fish.Extensive options for food and beverages,combined w/ knowledgeable staff.
Yes, there are expensive dishes, but there are also specials as well. My best advice is to get there between 4-6:30 to enjoy the discounted apps and drinks. The friendly and attentive staff make for a pleasant night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just cannot get enough of this particular Bonefish Grill location. The staff are friendly and attentive, there is always a great atmosphere suitable for either a romantic dinner or a family gathering, and the food is outstanding. Bang-Bang shrimp, of course, are a favorite. But there is another off-menu shrimp that is sometimes available if you ask. Saucy Shrimp. Really tasty, but they will only make it if they have the ingredients, which depends on the entree specials that are being offered at the time.

This place never disappoints. We even celebrated our engagement here. Just don't fill up on the bread, because everything else is so good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere/food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'm a shrimp person and have had all the shrimp dishes here and they're great. Lovely atmosphere, great for a date nite. Brought the kids and it was fine, but you might want to make sure they're well behaved. They seem to have a problem cooking the scallops though. Try it, you might like it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, good service and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Bonefish Grill in Wesley Chapel is our favorite "go-to" restaurant in our neighborhood. In fact, it's our favorite restaurant for sit down dinner, dinner with out-of-town guests or wine and appetizers at the bar. The regular seafood offerings are superb. The specials are always creative. The Bang-Bang shrimp are excellent as are all the other appetizers such as mussels, beef pot stickers, calamari, and scallops, to name a few. Waiting time is usually reasonable, especially when you can enjoy a glass of wine sitting or standing in the bar area.

The atmosphere is fun and the wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The only drawback is there is a very limited parking area. Maybe that is why the wait times are reasonable!

We like to think Bonefish is our little secret just around the corner from our neighborhood. So, please keep this info to yourself.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yumm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Love Bonefish Grill. Can be a bit pricey, but worth every penny. My sister visits from AZ & always wants to pay a visit. Our favorite Bang,Bang Shrimp appetizer. Shhhh. 1/2 price on Wednesdays!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

Wesley Chapel, FL
 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.