We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Oaks Resort and Carriage Musuem

Grand Oaks Resort and Carriage Musuem
3000 Marion County Road, Weirsdale, FL
+1 352-750-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Weirsdale
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the Grand Oaks, America’s Equestrian Resort. Here, guests enjoy a gracious Southern sporting lifestyle set amid majestic oaks and gently rolling pastures of Florida’s horse country. Whether you wish to stay in one of our well-appointed houses or cottages, visit our Carriage Museum, enjoy special events held throughout the year, enjoy exceptional equestrian activities and training, or plan an unforgettable wedding or meeting. Our Resort and its amenities are ready to welcome you.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Spectacular Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've taken our winter visitors to the Carriage Museum several times. Always find something I've missed on the last visit. They have added a cafe of sorts. For the money, walk right by it - don't stop - don't bother. They are still working to get the kinks out. It ranks up there with some of my first attempts at cooking in my early 20's.
But you shouldn't miss the museum and the grounds - beautiful, breathtaking...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best I've seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Do not miss this place. It is very amusing and beautiful.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Now called The Florida Carriage Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The largest collection of European and American antique horse drawn vehicles in the world. Most have been fully restored and the display is amazing.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“didnt you always want to drive a carriage?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

this is a working horse ranch as well as a museum site, they provide instruction for all types of horsemanship. we recieved an hour of instruction from applying the required tack to our draft horse to hitching it to our buggy, it was glorious trotting on the grass with our belgian horse. the weather was great, the scenery lovely, and the instructor good. yes it was a little expensive...but how many times in your life are you going to drive a carriage yourself, and know a little how complicated it was in the days before automobiles when this was the only way to go to the store and take your kids to grandmas house?

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Neat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Interesting info check out the Museum, Take a day & enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Oaks Resort and Carriage Musuem also viewed

Weirsdale, Central Florida
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Grand Oaks Resort and Carriage Musuem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Oaks Resort and Carriage Musuem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.