We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Kayak Shack” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kayak Shack

The Kayak Shack
5414 Darlene St., Weeki Wachee, FL
352-610-4169
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hernando Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved the Kayak Shack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We loved our experience at the Kayak Shack. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable and our experience on the river was dreamlike. Thanks!

Visited February 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome stand-up paddle along winding river.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stand Up Paddle made easy. The board was stable and easy to use. The river wound through areas that felt like isolated wilderness. Lots of fish and wildlife. The staff were friendly and helpful. I'll be going back often.

Visited January 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“EPIC paddling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

February 1, 2014


The Kayak Shack and all of it’s staff are very friendly, very helpful and are located at the perfect stopping point in Weeki Wachee. We brought our own kayaks and they loaded them along with all of our gear and shuttled us to the beginning of the head spring. This allowed us to essentially float downstream with only correction paddle strokes with minimal effort. We had a truly EPIC paddling adventure. We saw tons of fish, manatee, turtles, birds ect. The water is amazing in clarity and color. We definitely will make this journey with the Kayak Shack again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Royal, Canada
1 review
“Cheerful service, lovely trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've been to the Kayak Shack several times starting last year when visiting family in the area. They have been several times in the past and always recommend it to visitors. The service is friendly and professional, the gear worked well, the price was reasonable and we had a great time. Love seeing the manatees! We're hoping to go on the longer, day long tour soon. We'll be back!

Visited January 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
1 review
“Diving made easssssssyyyy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

you guys were awsome,got to the shack, before we even got out of the car they had our canoe in the water with everything we needed ready to go to hospital hole, just add gear an go! great service , friendly group an very reasonable priced, ill never tow my canoe again for the 15 bucks it was worth not dealing with the hassle. thanks guys! see you soon

Firefighter Daniel an Cody, see you soon!

Visited January 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonkayakshack, Owner at The Kayak Shack, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Daniel and Cody, first of let me thank you for your service as firefighters!!! glad you guys had fun and the pictures are amazing. Just to let all the divers who want to dive hospital hole or the river we have a cart available for you to carry your gear from the car to water.
thanks again
Jon and Amber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kayak Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Kayak Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kayak Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.