We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky restaurant reminiscent of my time in Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BeckyJack's Food Shack

BeckyJack's Food Shack
8070 Cortez Blvd, Weeki Wachee, FL 34607
+1 352-610-4412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Weeki Wachee
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Funky restaurant reminiscent of my time in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This tiny restaurant is out of the way but well worth the search. The portions are generous and the food is good, although I wouldn't recommend the peanut butter cheesecake. I had their fish tacos and they were excellent. My husband had their fried fish and it filled the plate. His salad was the standard iceberg with a tasteless Florida tomato but that is to be expected. This is a place where you leave your diet at the door. There were plenty of beer offerings and sweetened iced tea...southerners like their sweet... Go there and have a great time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you Kelly Girl.
It is enjoyable working in Belize.
Kim and Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    26
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This place is a MUST DO if you are in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Wow! While wintering near by, I was told that I should try Becky Jack's. Am I ever glad I did. The best meal I had the entire time I was there! Try the Fish Tacos (I had the fish grilled).....they were fabulous! And the Clam Chowder was pretty yummy too.

It is one of those little hole in the wall places that you might not try if someone didn't tell you that you should...I'm telling you that this is a must do. Unfortunately I didn't get there until the end of my trip, otherwise I would have been there often.

The inside dining area is small (maybe 7 tables?), and quirky, and they also have outdoor seating. They serve beer & wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Can we expect you to arrive soon?
Thoughtful and nice words you used to sum us up.
And you should have more time this year.
Welcome!
Kim and Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a find! Becky Jacks in Weeki Wachee FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Small place with big taste! The crunchy fish sandwich n fish Reuben feed two! Great burgers. Try the Snakebite - Stella's n cider. Very tasty. Haven't had a chance to try crab cakes n sides yet but I will! Only open Wednesday thru Saturday lunch n dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
You also have Sunday to join us for your Crunchy.
Open 12-5.
Cheers,
Joe and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, delicious,you will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I ALWAYS take any of our visitors to BeckyJack's. For $8 you can have a great meal. The craft beers on tap are $4.50 and you will be shocked at the large selection. Each day there is a special (written on a brown bag). The place has been VERY busy with all the good press it has been getting, so get there early. It is always closed on Mon and Tues.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Great advice for new peeps!
Thankyou!
Kim and Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in Weeki Wachee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a hidden gem in Spring Hill and is totally worth the visit. The food is quite tasty and the staff is very friendly to regular and new patrons. The almond-encrusted grouper is the signature dish to try by far. Large selection of beer. Cozy, down home environment. If you have an old license plate, be sure to come with it to place on the wall.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
And you must sign your plate. (license that is)
It is an honor for us to showcase them.
So grab your plate and we will get ours ready.
Think a Crunchy Fish sounds good.
Kim and Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeckyJack's Food Shack also viewed

 
Weeki Wachee, FL
 

Been to BeckyJack's Food Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BeckyJack's Food Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.