We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not with teens” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Weeki Wachee Springs

Weeki Wachee Springs
6131 Commercial Way, Weeki Wachee, FL
352-596-2062
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, State Parks, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Performances, Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Weeki Wachee spring offers 200 acres of natural attractions and a waterpark with an underwater theater for entertainment.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Saranac Lake, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not with teens”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The mermaids are cool...for about 5 minutes, after that teens tend to roll their eyes. The waterpark is a couple of slides and the animal show unimpressive bordering on a middle school presentation. Great for little ones. The skill of the mermaids is without a doubt impressive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    230
    81
    28
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cute for little children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited this spring break with two teenagers. It was cute, but more geared for little children. The park was clean but a bit outdated. It was really busy the day we went due to spring break so we had to wait over an hour for the boat tour. They only had one boat going out and it only holds around 36 people. The tour guide was really funny and we enjoyed her tour. Too bad it did not last longer because she was a lot of fun. The river water was beautiful and we got to see a manatee which was cool. We missed the animal show but got up close to several peacocks that were walking around the park. We saw the Little Mermaid show but there were some technical issues and the show was cut short which was a bummer. We thought the mermaids would be doing more "tricks" so we were a bit disappointed that they mostly just floated and lip synched. It was too cold for the kids to check out Buccaneers Bay but it looked fun for young children.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEFUNIAK SPRINGS
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great part of the Old Florida experiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A great piece of Old Florida that the state has preserved. You can't go to this part of Florida without seeing the mermaids. The boat ride was fun and we got to see some Bald Eagles, and blue heron and the river was full of mullet and sheephead. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My mother talked about going here when she was young, so glad I finally got to go see it myself too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“loved the mermaids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

the boat rides and the mermaid show was the best this is a great park. would highly reccomend it for all ages.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, NC
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the mermaid show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had never seen the mermaid show at Weeki Wachee so my husband and I made a point to stop by the park. I agree with some of the reviewers that the park does look a little rough around the edges but it looked like there was some work being done in some areas. We really only came to see the mermaid show and that was very good. It was interesting to get background into what went into creating the show and how much girls have to go through to become a "mermaid". We sat behind a family with 4 small children and I think I enjoyed watching them as much as the show...they were enthralled! After the show we walked around the park briefly. We didn't go to any other shows. I do think that the mermaids are unique enough that everyone should see them at least once. The water park wasn't open but looked like a place kids would have fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weeki Wachee Springs also viewed

 

Been to Weeki Wachee Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weeki Wachee Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.