We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surf Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surf Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 North State Route A1A, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stinky room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My biggest complaint is that our non smoking room reeked of cigarettes. Nasty. It was clean-ish. The location is great on the beach. There's a pool, complete with poop from a kid at the bottom. Way in need of some tlc.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    38
    30
    46
See reviews for
56
71
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I just spent a week at the Surf Club Hotel and was very pleased with my stay. As mentioned, the party going on at the pool, what do you expect, people are on vacation to have fun and relax. Get over it! Really, if you would have had your A/C unit on in your room you would have not heard anything over the fan running. I really don't think that this is an everyday occurrence. For the most part we had the pool to ourselves most every night and everyone staying there was very friendly. After driving 16 hours to get to Vero Beach I was just glad to be there. It is right on the beach and has a great pool. The staff is awesome and the employees who take care of the rooms are very nice and accommodating should you need more towels. The rates are great considering that you can see the ocean/beach from just about every room. Yes, there is need for a few repairs but with the ocean being right there I would expect that the salt takes a toll on the paint and anything else it comes in contact with. Don't be so critical and try to understand that the owners and staff are trying to run a business and do so after all you idiots keep posting negative comments. Staff/owners keep up the good work, we were very pleased with our stay and we will be back. I can truly say that I miss you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We always stay at The Surf Club, It is an older Hotel and needs some work but it has a great view of the ocean and a pool that you can view the ocean while you swim. you can not beat the price and service there. Bruce and Paula Waddell ,Bartow ,Florida

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central , Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, 2013. The staff at the fron desk were very friendly. That's where it ends.

There was a loud party going on in the pool area that looked like something from Jersey Shore. The rooms are small with tile floors which become slippery when wet. Further, there are mold issues.

The property is in a great spot and would be worth millions to a new developer, but is so old and run down now and very poorly maintained. My chance of staying here again are slim and none. Unless new management takes a power washer to the whole place.

Also, two (2) diapers left in the pool area. Who does such a thing?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Read the reviews and was pleasently surprised that this place is nicer than some reviews give. Rooms are nice and location was the best. I don't know what some people are looking for. This place offers the best of both worlds. A beach and a pool. Yes it could use a bit of painting and repairs but you cant beat the price and location. Try it a try! Its a diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: Great for a family with kids.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff here is extremely friendly which is a main reason we continue to visit this hotel. It is directly on the beach and has a great pool which they keep very clean. They aren't the nicest rooms to stay in on Vero Beach, but who cares what your room looks like when 90% of your time is spent on the beach or in the pool? :) Great value for a great time. This is our go-to place in Vero.
A short walk up the beach (or a 2 minute drive up the road), there is also an area with a small "boardwalk" near an ice cream shop, restaurant, and very large park with a playground, grills, picnic tables, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very friendly. Near to the beach. The staff care about you. If you are in a budget, this is the best hotel to stay. Not rules at all. Rooms are more clean now. It needs a restaurant or serve breakfast. There is no place near by o get snack or a good coffee. I will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Hotel

Address: 4700 North State Route A1A, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Club Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Club Hotel is owned and operated to the Glory of God by brothers Jon and Mark Bates. Our goal is to create a beach house where you can relax, kick back and enjoy. Our 100 room hotel overlooks the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with Suites, King Rooms and Double Rooms. Beachside weddings and conference facilities on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Surf Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vero Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.