We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surf Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Surf Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 North State Route A1A, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Paying for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is definitely an older property. Read reviews before we left (although this was a group reservation and we did not choose it) and they were pretty spot on. The rooms are older, some lights did not work and electrical outlets were not able to hold our cell phone chargers. Pillows were wimpy. But....when you are outside it doesn't matter! They have a beautiful outdoor area by the pool with lit palms at night and the roar of the ocean in back. Didn't swim (air temps way too cold) but pool looked clean and heard it was warm. The rooms have balconies overlooking the pool side or the parking lot, but you are just a few steps from pool, beach, etc. There seems to be a religious theme throughout the hotel (chapel,angels,etc), unusual but nice. Not a lot of extras re: vending, food, etc but we did hit up the 7-11 just down the road. Kind of pricy but the area in general is and you are just blocks from a cool downtown park area an other things.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    42
    35
    30
    42
See reviews for
52
63
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I and two teenagers left the Surf Club yesterday-in the midst of a unexpected and very cold snap (high 30's w/ wind chills in single digits) after a weekend baseball tournament. Even with all our extra clothes, everyone was freezing watching baseball played in Vero Beach. We asked the owner of the Surf Club (family owned hotel) for an extra blanket for the games (we were provided two down blankets along with the owner's coat for my wife who was just recovering from a cold.) We were so appreciative.
We loved the stay, aside from the cold. This property has a private and beautiful beach front (lots of shells), great fishing in the surf and heated and very nice outdoor pool. We had a pool side room on 3rd floor with spectacular view of ocean. Two beds with small refrigerator. The rooms could use a little updating, but we did not care. We were in Florida-who wants to spend time in a room when you have a beach right outside your door and a beautiful pool. Local Manatees restaurant had the best fresh caught grouper and Mahi Mahi (very reasonably priced.) Loved our stay in Vero Beach.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor rooms overlooking pool-all have a great view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel has a good location right on the beach in the nice little town of
Vero Beach. We had a good view of the ocean, the room was comfortable enough, but there is no real effort made to make it feel like a resort. The building is part church and it seems that maybe the church part is the main focus. There was no dining available when we were there, the pool area was indifferently maintained, there were no beach towels available, etc. While our room was fairly clean, basic maintenance is lacking and everything needs to be updated. The foot shower area by the beach desperately needs to be cleaned. On the other hand, if you just need a place to sleep where you can walk right out onto the beach, the price is lower than other places and you will be comfortable enough. It was certainly quiet when we were there in February!

Room Tip: A room up high and close to the ocean would be best, though I think probably every room has a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Surf Club Hotel on 4700 North State Route , Vero Beach for four nights. This 48 room hotel has a pool, small restaurant and bar and a nice view of the ocean. The room had a king bed, dated tv, bathtub, iron, and coffee maker. There were two deck chairs outside the room. The restaurant was not open during the week for breakfast, but was available for dinner in the evening. On weekends the breakfast area was open. We never saw more than two couples eating at the "Tides" bar & restaurant was open for happy hour but prices were high for drinks. The Tides has no connection with the Tides in South Beach, Miami. It's like night and day. We checked the menu out and most meals started at $20 so our first night went over to the Vinz Restaurant, an expensive wine bar with sitting outside. I ordered a beer first and the bottle was placed at our table without a glass. The young kid thought everyone drank beer that way. The manager later apologized. The salmon turned out to be a toasted sandwich with some kind of cheese. I asked her whether it was canned. The price was steep ($14)for the small portion with potato chips. Later we drove to Muligans near by, where they had a nice happy hour and view of the beach outside. Other restaurants and bars in the area were the Driftwood Hotel, (nice size burgers for $7.50) .The bar was called Waldo's for Happy Hour. I had plans on going into the ocean but changed my mind after a fisherman on the pier caught a six foot "spinner shark" just beside the hotel. He managed to bring the shark on to the beach. I watched him cut the line for the shark and it slowly disappeared back into the ocean. I wish I had my camera at the time. Keep to the pool in the hotel. Why risk a leg or worse.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the higher floors facing the pool are ok"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is one of our favorite guilty pleasures. We've stayed here several times and look forward to going back soon. Often we will impulsively tack on an extra day or two beyond our planned departure date.

I can absolutely understand the negative comments made in other reviews, but I don't care. For this location the price is more than right. You can expect to pay three times more at neighboring hotels. A friend who stayed here called the place a beautiful example of "Shabby Chic," and that seems very appropriate.

Built in the 70s, the place operated for years as the Vero Beach Inn. The property is a throwback to hotels and motels of that era. It was virtually destroyed in the hurricane swarms of 2004/05. The owners worked hard to get the place up and running again. It is still a work in progress. Rooms are clean, freshly painted and tile has replaced carpet. Much of the "shabby" appearance is due to the building's exterior, much of which is metal, reacting badly to the constant bath of salt air from the Atlantic Ocean... it is THAT close to the beach.

For your $99 (the going rate as of this writing, less with AARP or AAA) you get a clean room with daily housekeeping service, a great patio and pool overlooking the beach and the Atlantic Ocean. That's about it. If you want something else plan on providing it yourself.

Chef Kelly, a local caterer, usually serves food on the patio during weekends. The food is outstanding and reasonably priced but his schedule can sometimes be "flexible."

If you are a "low maintenance" type of person looking for a reasonable beach get away, give the Surf Club a chance.

Room Tip: Rooms are either sunny or in the shade depending on the time of year. Which is the more desirable al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

my girlfriend and I are in our early 20s and wanted a quick get away before school started. Rooms were okay and the price was unbeatable. great fishing nearby and the owner was a great guy. room service was good and didn't have any problems.

Room Tip: if you love the sound of the ocean sleep near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a beautiful location, but the hotel is run down and worse then our local kennel. The ceiling is hanging down away from the studs. We have a chain to lock the door, but it doesn't hook to anything. The water is the color of tea. The furniture is old and worn. The air conditioner makes noise, but is not working. There are no amenities other than ice. They do have packets of coffee in the room, but no cream or sugar packets. I tried to open a drawer to find the telephone book, and the handle pulled out. Rooms for pets have no bedspreads. There is rust and mold on the walls. The parking lot is dark, no working lights. They run your credit card when you check in. I suspect it's because some would not want to pay at all. I believe they use to serve food and have buffets, but there was no evidence that they still offered these services

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Hotel

Also Known As:
Vero Beach Hotel
Address: 4700 North State Route A1A, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Club Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Club Hotel is owned and operated to the Glory of God by brothers Jon and Mark Bates. Our goal is to create a beach house where you can relax, kick back and enjoy. Our 100 room hotel overlooks the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with Suites, King Rooms and Double Rooms. Beachside weddings and conference facilities on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surf Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.