We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1725 US Highway 1, Vero Beach, FL 32960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Pasadena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was extremely clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff was so helpful with directions around the area and anything else we needed. We would definitely recommend a very comfortable, quiet, and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    37
    25
    18
See reviews for
48
30
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room had the distinct smell of urine. It was on the edge of unbearable. I asked for late checkout, and all they gave me was an additional 30 minutes. Then the manager came banging on my door. I am a Choice Privileges Member. They give me an extra 2 hours of late checkout. 1Pm rather than 11:30. So I've been staying at Quality Inn since my stay at HoJo. Sorry... I wanted to like your hotel but the combination of smell and brusk treatment makes it hard to like you.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although rooms are not up to standard anymore, and require an update, the staff is friendly and help as much as they can. The airconditioning unit inside the room is very loud, so I had to turn it off. Breakfast is included. Not a big choice, but enough to get you started for the day

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The man at check in was very friendly and helpful. He recommended a restaurant when I asked where we could watch a football game. However, when it came to the room it was dirty. I understand the hotel is outdated and can look dirty but the bathroom vanity looked disgusting so I picked up a tissue and wet it and wiped the countertop and it was dirty. Gross. The sink had a hair in it. The beams that were in the ceiling had dusty cobwebs in them. We slept in our clothes and didn't walk barefoot on the carpet. I figure if they can skip cleaning the bathroom then maybe they didn't change the sheets. The towels had a funny smell too. Too bad the housekeeping team didn't have the same work attitude and the check in person.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was close to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The room was comfortable but the bathroom could have been cleaner. The front desk people were nice and very knowledgeable about the area. It was a good stay.


  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

So I just called to make a reservation (Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach/Downtown) for November 26 & 27 for my parents, and requested a ground floor room. My father is 90 and cannot climb stairs, and I confirmed that there was no elevator. I was told that they cannot guarantee that a ground floor room would be available as they WILL NOT make a room assignment until day of check in. I asked if they accommodate handicapped individuals, and they said yes. So I asked again to reserve a ground floor room... and the gentleman again said that he cannot guarantee that a ground floor room would be available. He said it was company policy not to promise a ground floor room. So, basically I cannot make a room reservation for my handicapped parents at this hotel. They DO NOT accommodate elderly or handicapped individuals. This surely cannot be company policy. My name is pissed off Dennis Quigley, and I can be reached by email: homespector@gmail.com - would like to report this hotel

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown

Address: 1725 US Highway 1, Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach Hotel Vero Beach
Howard Johnson Vero Beach
Vero Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.