We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs in our room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1725 US Highway 1, Vero Beach, FL 32960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    36
    23
    15
See reviews for
47
26
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It was what you would expect from an inexpensive hotel. Although I do appreciate free wi-fi. The bed seemed small for a queen, it was hard and springy. The TV was an old square one but the picture was set as if it was a wide screen, so the sides were cut off. Also no premium chanels even though HBO was advertised on hotels.com. One odd thing, there were no free outlets. I had to unplug a lamp to charge my phone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

In Dec. I had to be in Orlando, Florida for a meeting and decided to visit a few friends in Vero Beach also. They booked me at the Howard Johnson hotel. The hotel was nice with the out door pool and the 1st floor room. I was able to up my car right up to the room which was nice for unloading and loading. The staff was extremely friendly, especially their maint. guy name Andy. The breakfast was well stocked. I had a wonderful time visiting my friends and staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a well kept older HJ very clean in a great location, simple continental breakfast, good parking and polite service. This was in the high season so a little expensive for the area when you add in Florida hotel tax. But this a well maintained property for its age and is recommended for a good nights sleep large rooms patios and nice pool close to Beach and restaurants. On the down side the have an ant problem the ownership needs to step up and hire an exterminator for monthly service. Nice staff, safe, laundry room area, and small breakfast area.

Room Tip: First floor pool view non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a night here on our way to Orlando. As we arrived quite late and left early in the morning we didn't have time to look around much. The hotel did serve its purpose well with a large room and comfortable beds. The overall look of the room was nice and clean and we got good service from the reception. The surroundings of the hotel were surprisingly quiet, yet there was some noise coming from other rooms. The breakfast was very basic but still enough to get us on the road again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown

Address: 1725 US Highway 1, Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach Hotel Vero Beach
Howard Johnson Vero Beach
Vero Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Vero Beach Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.