We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1725 US Highway 1, Vero Beach, FL 32960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #17 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    33
    20
    14
See reviews for
43
25
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
JUPITER
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

have stayed here several times before and it was great for the location we needed to be at for the weekend. This time it was full to the max and the thunder foot people up above us kept us awake. All in all it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is a great location for the value. Close by to eating places and 5 mins from the beach. Rooms were clean and simple. Walking distance to all the major fast food resturants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMPANO BEACH
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

your location is in need of pest control, both inside the rooms as well as outside/pool area - major problem with biting ants. Bed sheets were stained on the first night in one room, but changed next morning by housekeeping staff. Pool bottom spots of green alegea. Otherwise enojoyed the stay - great location, connecting rooms a plus

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojovb_gm, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for responding to the survey. I want to apologize for any problem that you encountered during your stay. We work with a reputable pest control company who does monthly inspections and spraying of the hotel. If you like to discuss this further feel free to call me at hotel and ask for Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is older and dated, but the bed and bathroom where clean, a short drive to the beach. Don't expect a room equal to a 100.00 hotel. Staff was nice and helpful. For the price I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We didn't make a reservation, but since it was a Monday, they had plenty of rooms available. We checked in at around 7pm. The room they sent us to, was scary, worst then a motel room, it had a bad smell, the bed was way too small for two adults, but that was the biggest size they had and the surprise of the night, was the broken A/C machine, so noisy, that would make the bed vibrate.
We had to go to the front- desk early in the morning, after a night of non- sleep, the clerk was very understanding and nice to us, we got a different room, A/C working fine, clean, no additional smells and we got two beds now.
The whole experience ended up not being that bad.
The beach is 5-10 minutes away, 5 minutes away from Downtown VB, plus, there a lot of shops and restaurants around the hotel. I guess it's just an old hotel, you can't really blame anyone. Things would change a lot with some fixing here and there, cause' for the price you pay, you can get something better in other cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The room was stuffy and moldy. I decided not to stay there. It was all the way in the back on the first floor. There were rusty chairs on view. The hallway was dark and dusty. I should have inspected my room, but checked in and right back out when I saw the inside. The desk clerk told me that it was the only room left, so he couldn't change it. Although I had made reservations in advance. I was charged for the night even though I couldn't stay there. This was a motel not even good enough for the homeless.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach

Address: 1725 US Highway 1, Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach Hotel Vero Beach
Howard Johnson Vero Beach
Vero Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.