We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced roach motel that looks like the projects” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vero Beach Inn & Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Travelocity
and 2 more sites!
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8797 20th Street, Vero Beach, FL 32966 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
1 review
“Over priced roach motel that looks like the projects”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there over night and the smell of mold, must, and mildew wasn't just in our room. It was everywhere. We had roaches in our hotel room. They have a cute bar so we went there to have some drinks. Our bar tab was$65.00 for watered down liquor. I'm not exaggerating. I had 5 vodka drinks in 3 hours and one of those drinks was supposed to a double shot of vodka and I only blew an alcohol level of .03... We will NEVER go back there again! Disgusting and overpriced!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana V, General Manager at Vero Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are sorry this was your experience with us and wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking your time to write a candid review. Our property is now under new ownership and management and we are renovating the entire hotel. We have addressed the smell issues with new wood tile flooring in the renovated guest rooms and new flooring in the bar as well. We feel confident that our facility is now free of any pests. We also have a new bar manager, and you will find that the cute bar you enjoyed before looks even better, and now offers a great drink at prices lower than other area bars. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we hope that you will give us a second chance to impress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this inn with a baseball group in Vero Beach to practice and play at the Vero Beach Sports Complex, the former Dodgertown. The easy access off I-95 and the short drive to Dodgertown were good. The pool was fine. Some of the pool furniture could stand repair. The breakfast offerings were extremely limited. The business center internet was extremely slow. The bar attached to the lobby was not bad. With minor improvements to breakfast and the internet speed, plus a newspaper stand in the lobby, this rating could be upgraded to good. If you do not plan on spending much time at this inn while you are in Vero Beach, this place is satisfactory for your needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side, away from the pool, are quieter, and afford a view of a detention basin whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana V, General Manager at Vero Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. The new ownership and management take your feedback very seriously and are upgrading our breakfast choices to include make-your-own waffles, as well as the scrambled eggs, sausage, fruits, cereals, breads and pastries that are already available. We also now have a newspaper available in the lobby and have made some upgrades in the pool area as well. Hopefully, with these sorts of targeted improvements, as well as our excellent location and attractive grounds we are now a motel you could rate great. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel was alright for our short stay, kinda got what I expected for the price and rating. Seemed like an older hotel with some renovations started but not completed. Our room had a lovely granite vanity top and shower surround but thats were the it stopped. Decor was old and room had a musky smell. Bed was comfortable and large TV was a plus. Breakfast was the typical continental type - not a lot of selection and some electrical issues with the toasters. Overall not too bad - not somewhere I'd spend very much time but okay for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are in a courtyard and breakfast is in the main unit, there is a pool in the middle of the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana V, General Manager at Vero Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you noticed some of our updates. These were done awhile ago, and we have recently undergone major renovations under new ownership and management. We think you would be pleased to know that we are offering even better rooms at the same rates. Updated décor, fresh paint, and new flooring have taken care of any lingering odor problems. We have new TV’s as well, larger high definition, smart TV’s to further enhance your experience. With the newly renovated bar, resurfaced pool, updated fitness center, and improved hot breakfast you might find that this is the kind of place you would enjoy spending more than just a single night. Please keep us in mind next time you travel to Vero Beach. We’d love a chance to show you how great we’ve become and thanks again for the comments; we are always glad to know how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

They've done some work to refresh their room interiors, but we had 2 rooms, neither one had operational heaters, & it got down below 40 degrees outside. It was downright unhealthy - very chilly in the rooms. Noisy rooms with some kind of antiquated electrical/plumbing/ventilation system that comes roaring on intermittently, rumbling through the walls. Every time a neighbor flushes or uses water, its just as loud in your own room. Not possible to get a good sleep. I wish I'd have spent another $50 to stay in a better place. No way I would rate this a 2&1/2 star as stated on Hotwire.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana V, General Manager at Vero Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with us and appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we can improve. Our facility is under new ownership and management and we are making changes. Know that we are always committed to making your stay as enjoyable as possible and that we would be happy to move you to a room where everything is fully functional. All you have to do is let the front desk know so we can fix it as soon as possible. Your feedback is critical, and we want to let you know that we are very glad you brought these things to our attention. We will be looking into any noise issues now and will solve these issues as well. A peaceful night’s sleep is very important to us. Please accept our apologies for your stay and stop by to check out our newly renovated rooms and bar. We would love a second chance to show you how much we have improved thanks to reviews from guests like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of a family who was sponsoring a birthday party for their dad in Vero Beach. I cannot imagine why they chose this place as there are so many other nicer places in the vicinity. The decor was ancient, the check in person was surly, the breakfast food was of such limited quality and variety, and it had a musty, dirty smell. We could not get out of there fast enough. The only redeeming feature was some of the lovely tropical plants in the court yard area. Thank you, Mother Nature!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana V, General Manager at Vero Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience with us. Our new owners loved the landscaping as well and have put a lot of effort into rectifying the problems you found with our facility. That lush tropical plants now surround a freshly resurfaced pool. Completely renovated rooms with wood tile flooring solved the odor issue you noticed, and we added a hot breakfast with eggs, sausage, fresh fruits, as well as breads, cereals, bagels, and beverages. We feel confident we are now the nicest, comparably priced facility in the area, and hope that you will stop by and check us out if you are ever in Vero Beach again. Tell your family we are once again a place they could recommend and that we appreciate their previous loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I booked this motel through Hotwire. It is conveniently located a short distance from the interstate and is in close proximity to the outlet mall. The former Best Western is rather dated. Check in and check out were quick and efficient. The standard room was average sized. Drapes did not close completely. Room was clean but chairs around the pool needed attention. Television station selection was disappointing - no HBO or Showtime. Breakfast was not worth stopping for. The signal for the "free" wireless was so week my three wireless devices had difficulty picking it up. For the money, there are more comfortable places nearby.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

For a quick one night stay, thus was a very convenient location. The room was very average, and the toilet was overflowing. The po ol looked nice, but the self service breakfast was truly awful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vero Beach Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vero Beach Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Vero Beach
Americas Best Value Hotel
Best Western Vero Beach
Vero Beach Best Western
Best Western Hotel Vero
Address: 8797 20th Street, Vero Beach, FL 32966 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vero Beach Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Relax by our outdoor pool. Stay in shape in our on-site fitness center. Take advantage of the convenience of our guest laundry facility, business center, ice machine, and vending machine. Host your next meeting or event in one of our five meeting spaces. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our public areas and guest rooms. Step into our peaceful guest rooms and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, coffeemaker, Cable TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, in-room safe, radio, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Vero Beach, we've got you covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vero Beach Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vero Beach Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vero Beach Inn & Suites to your Saves list