We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster Shanty

Lobster Shanty
1 Royal Palm Pointe, Vero Beach, FL
772-562-1941
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 265 restaurants in Vero Beach
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The food, service and scenic views are very welcoming. The salad bar is fresh, clean and delicious, as are the dinners.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    30
    26
    13
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unfortunately average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We thought a great view of the water and lobster would be a great first night in vero.... Well this place was really just average, nothing to brag about. We were not shown how to get to the salad bar. The oysters on half shell were pretty good as was the crab & spinach dip (apps). My steak was ordered medium parts were well done, others were medium but flavor was good. I believe My lobster tail was undercooked +sad face + & key lime pie was said to be homemade in house but came out with soggy crust as if frozen, I've had better pie from publix! To sum it up if you are not expecting to much & enjoy a average ho hum dinner with a water view this is your place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Scenic view and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lobster Shanty is always a must visit while we are in Vero. The menu is great. They have a nice early bird menu that includes desert. Their salad bar is top notch! Don't forget to try the corn fritters...delish! We love to sit on the water and watch the boats sail by. Nice, relaxing meal!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A waterfront restaurant off the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice restaurant on water, with active boating and open spaces, serving good food. Good window views of water, some outside dining, salad bar and full menu. We thought the food was excellent, especially the Coconut Shrimp dish. Royal Pointe is a deadend street at the restaurant so there is not any road noise or traffic. Much better than Bobby's and others located at Vero Beach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“One step up from Red Lobster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

By Florida standards, this is not a great seafood place, but it is a fairly good place in a wonderful location with water on three sides. The menu is pretty standard seafood, with a smattering of non-seafood items. We were not that hungry, so ordered entrees, plus the salad bar. The salad bar is pretty good.....everything crisp and fresh. I had the fried shrimp, which were just ok. My wife had a grilled marinated shrimp/vegetable skewer dish, which was also just ok. There is a raw bar here, and on a past visit i had oysters which were pretty good. If you are not looking for the very best of fried seafood, or innovative, gourmet seafood entrees, and care more about the ambiance and the view, then this is a decent choice for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lobster Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.