We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staple on the Water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill Restaurant

Ocean Grill Restaurant
1050 Sexton Plaza, Vero Beach, FL 32963
772-231-5409
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 276 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staple on the Water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Large and established place with a great view and varied menu. Food was acceptable but not inspired. Desserts ordinary

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    285
    119
    44
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Halloween was a kick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Every time we visit Vero Beach, our first meal is always at the Ocean Grill. On Halloween the staff were all in costumes as were many of the diners. We love the setting, service and quality of food. Never disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited the Ocean Grill on our last night in Vero Beach and it was a good experience to round off our trip.

I must say that the member of the team who looked after us, Ben, despite being new to the restaurant did a great job and made sure that our needs were catered for perfectly.

The portions seemed perfectly sized leaving us satisfied without leaving hungry. My wife and I both had the salmon, which was one of the specials and it did not disappoint.

The restaurant itself seems to be a mix of styles of decor, however, this adds to the atmosphere and it had all of the attributes you would expect from an establishment such as this.

Despite some of the other comments referring to price, providing you look at the menu outside, you can see what you will be charged, and personally I don't think they overcharge for what is good, fresh food, cooked to a high standard.

Well done!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pricey for average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went for a girls weekend to Vero Beach. A friend took us to this restaurant..the atmosphere was nice..My friend's steak was not to her standards,so she sent it back,the waitress never offered her another one,but did charged $23 for a small Lobster tail. Be aware of the add on's for dressings and stuff. My grouper which was two small pieces were overcooked and charged $30. Way over priced for crappy food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have always liked this restaurant, and try others for a new experience, but this is always a solid choice. Atmosphere, food and service were excellent. Very good menu... My girlfriend loved everything....that helped.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.