We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like you are on a boat, right on the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa d'Este Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Costa d'Este Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Costa d'Este Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3244 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 30%
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Feels like you are on a boat, right on the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful location, really right on the beach, with terraces looking out over the beach and ocean. Loved listening to the ocean waves as I fell asleep and woke up, very peaceful and serene.
The rooms can be a bit small, be sure to get an ocean view. It matters here. Staff and service was really friendly, always available, never intrusive, very helpful,

Room Tip: Only get ocean view, otherwise rooms are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    149
    51
    26
    16
See reviews for
93
297
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A wise man once said to me that you never get a second chance to make a first impression. My wife and I were looking for a place to decompress after the holidays and selected Costa d’Este by a recommendation from a couple on an airplane. We could not be more grateful for the recommendation and for the experience. We know Vero Beach very well and of course are familiar with Gloria Estefan. We checked out the resort website and I checked, as usual, Trip Advisor negative comments because I have often found that unhappy people need to vent and usually take out their unhappiness on the most convenient target like a resort they arrived at already unhappy………and then made our room selection based on our requirements. We reserved an ocean front suite and were absolutely taken aback by the room the view and the furnishings.

The resort is everything we expected with the modern art deco flair with a Cuban flavor. The staff treated us as if we were the only guests in the hotel and that we were the most important people to each and every one of them. This work ethic and culture of hospitality can be attributed to the General Manager Ed Riley.

We visited the spa on two days for massages which were exceptional. The staff; Tiffany, Megan, Gisela, Cathi, Josie and Ilesha all need to be recognized for their professionalism. The spa itself is located on two floors of the resort and makes efficient use of the space. A pre massage steam bath helped to loosen up our muscles before our massages. There is an extensive spa menu that will accommodate anyone.

We took advantage of the Shark Bait concessions on the beach which offers Umbrellas; excellent lounge chairs, tables, Kayaks and more. See Scot (with one T) and his team they will take care of you as you lounge your day away on the beach catering to your lunch and drink needs so you don’t have to. I rented a Kayak on a windy day but was very happy to have seen five young sea turtles less than 100 yards off the beach.
There are not enough good things to say about the Wave restaurant. We were so impressed by the Paella on our first night and the rest of the menu selections that we could not wait to go back. So we did only having two meals outside of the resort and that was to experience a brand new restaurant a block away.

The pool is heated in the winter and there is a spacious and accommodating hot tub. The pool deck has plenty of seating and the cabana bar and café are conveniently positioned on the pool deck. Lyz at the cabana bar will take good care of you and ask her for a Mojito she is an expert at whipping them up.

If I you don’t believe my stellar review that’s ok my only complaint in five days was that I did not get a small pot of coffee when I ordered a single coffee from room service but the service was so exceptional that the staff made a follow up call to the room service delivery. So, all things considered, I have no complaints.

We regard good customer service as paramount to a great spa resort experience. We found what we were looking for here at Costa d’Este. We will be back for sure even if it is only for lunch, dinner and the spa!

Room Tip: If you are not too concerned with price i would recommend and ocean front suite. A true gem with a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Small hotel in the middle of the "action".
Very clean, service was excellent.
Free valet parking, walking distance to the shopping district with a nice pool and right on the ocean.
Only disappointment coffee is $4.50, other than than great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Sometimes there is a special on TravelZoo and my wife and I will take advantage of it to have a mini 'stayca' (STAY-at-home-vaCAtion). We live just 20 minutes away and the Costa D'este is fabulous for the purpose. We love the latin/European vibe of the place, the salsa music around the poolside bar, and also encountering other languages than one would usually encounter around Vero Beach.

The rooms are stylish, though not excessively large, the beds are comfy and the bathroom well- appointed. We have stayed in 2 different rooms and both had flatscreen TVs. One had a bathtub and the other a nautical feeling, rounded shower. As you would expect, plenty of hot water.

Most of the staff went out of their way to please. Both times we appreciated the attentiveness of the valet parking attendants as well as the bell hops and the people behind the bar.

Upon arrival, having requested a pool view, we were told that the only pool view room available was on the ground floor. I would avoid these rooms as there is minimal privacy between you and the pool and the pool can get quite lively. We gratefully accepted an upgrade to an ocean front room for $30/night.

On the previous visit, we stayed in the North Tower away from the pool. The room was quiet, had a partial ocean view as well as of the side parking lot. This room was in the 3rd floor of the South Tower, and as I said, direct ocean front. Loved it! The view was fantastic.

The next morning we awoke to dump trucks and tractors just outside our window as they 'replenished' the sand eroded by a previous storm. On a glorious day, we could not open the door for the noise outside. Fortunately they were done by mid-afternoon.

Upon checkout I requested and was granted a waiver of the $30 up charge for the oceanfront room for one night. This seemed reasonable and was handled well by the front desk. I was then presented with the final bill. All was satisfactory except for the item 'Resort Fee" @$12/day. This fee had not been disclosed either at TravelZoo nor by the hotel itself.

I do not understand why a hotel of this caliber would be anything but transparent. If the hotel feels that their services are worth an extra $12 then they should have enough faith in their product to increase the rent by that $12 and allow the customer to make an informed desision. To add on non-disclosed fees is dishonest at best. The fee was eventually refunded but noot the associated tax.

We really do enjoy the hotel and will sometimes come just for drinks and perhaps some salsa dancing around the pool. It is unfortuante that our stay ended on such a sour note. Perhaps management will realize that in the best of circumstances "Resort Fees" do not reflect well on the property, but especially so when they are not disclosed until check out.

Room Tip: Ground floor oceanfront rooms have outside decks with recliners. North side rooms in North Tower hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Costa d'Este brings flair to sleepy, little Vero Beach with a stylish exterior and modern interior. I have had the opportunity to stay here on several occasions. The staff is great, helpful and genuinely friendly. This time, I stayed in the south tower with an ocean front view. One must cross the pool area to get to this part of the hotel, which would be quite a hassle if the weather was bad, as there is no covered or interior access. The pool area is very private, situated between the 2 towers, with the hot tub closest to the beach access. There is a great bar adjoining.
My room did not disappoint! The beds are very comfortable with extra pillows supplied. This time my room did not have a tub, so if you want to luxuriate best to ask ahead of time. One issue I had with the room was not enough outlets for phones and computers. If you are in the south tower beware of the noise factor from the ocean-side bar next door. The southern rock band plays until 10pm. The hurricane doors muffle much of the sound.
The restaurant is good, but very pricey for these parts and for what you are served. The Wave, would do well to have some mid-range choices to keep the guests "in house".
All in all, I like Costa d'Este and do recommend it to my friends staying in town.

Room Tip: East tower! Ask if your room has a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubberzapp
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Yes, it is a fancy, glitzy place next to the Driftwood. If you want this kind of glam go to South Beach or other places and have your pockets FULL of cash because it is not cheap! It does not fit or belong in Vero Beach, Florida, not a party town and everything shuts down by 11:00 PM. If you have money to throw away, stay here, it is on the Atlantic.

Room Tip: You could do better at the Holiday inn, or the best in Vero, The Driftwood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are halfway through a four day stay. The decor is bright and modern. Seems very clean. Love the sliding door wall and balcony. Staff seems friendly. The pool area is quite nice. haven't swam yet but the water feels very warm. So far the down sides are the noise level. While there is a mixed clientele here of all ages, Saturday night in particular there was quite a party scene. The room doors to the hallway do not block any noise (surprisingly the patio door does a good job blocking outdoor noise - AC units and poolside music). Also every time someone opens their door it makes a loud sound when closing. Every few minutes very late into the night we heard the noise and even normal level conversation in the hallway is loud and clear. We got no sleep that first night. Second night much better with ear plugs. The room has everything you really need and the in room coffee is surprisingly good for in room coffee. I do wish there was a chair or love seat. I think that's because we are in an ADA room? The nice long counter is handy for all your stuff. The bed and pillows are VERY comfy. I wish there were a counter by the mirror since that makes it tough to get ready. I had to put my flat iron on the floor. A little counter there would be nice. Also a little hand towel bar by the bathroom sink would be nice. Did feel a little short changed on towels, a couple extra hand towels and wash clothes would be appreciated. Being by the beach you tend to have to clean up more than usual. Over all we like it. Clean, bright, modern, by the beach and a good value for the price. Haven't tried the restaurant yet. Probably not a great place if you are traveling with kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa d'Este Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa d'Este Beach Resort

Address: 3244 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa d'Este Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa d'Este Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa d'Este Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.