We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star staff with unbeatable views - definitely coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3244 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Five star staff with unbeatable views - definitely coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Costa d'Este is everything the website promises in terms of views and accomodations. Their staff, however, really made the trip for us. Adam at the front desk and Ryan doing valet parking were friendly, funny, and enthusiastic, and went out of their way to get us what we needed (a fridge, dining recommendations, the best beaches to hit). Scott (who goes by "Sharkbait") is the local "beachologist" who offers kayaking and snorkeling tours on the hotel's beach. We really appreciated his knowledge of the beach, dedication to conservation, and honesty about snorkeling conditions (even when it meant him losing money)! The only drawback, as mentioned in previous reviews, is that the pool music Friday and Saturday nights can be quite loud - but it's over by 11:30. I think if you ask specifically for a room AWAY from the pool you should be in good shape.

Incidentally, I booked through a third party site (and got a great rate) about a month in advance, but when I called to confirm a few days before the trip they hadn't gotten the booking. I called the third party site and everything went smoothly - the hotel even upgraded our room to an oceanfront corner king for free.

Checked out the "competition" luxury hotel down the beach and it looks nice also - I'd describe Costa as chic, Zen, and modern, while the other was more traditional lux (lots of marble, pool statues, etc).

Room Tip: Oceanfront corner away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    190
    61
    27
    22
See reviews for
146
447
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I wanted to do something special for mom on Mother's Day. I was looking for a nice buffet and although pricey ($40. pp), I thought it would be a nice treat. Let me tell you, we were disappointed greatly. The restaurant stated it had 4 stations, an American, an Italian, a French and a Latino. The American station had pre-cooked pancakes, beat-up O’Brian potatoes, tasteless scrambled eggs and undercooked sausage. The Italian station had an Gnocchi warming plate and a pan of lasagna. There was also a tossed salad and some undercooked breads. The French Station had a bowl of croissants and an Attendant
hand rolling crepes. The Latino Station had a splayed roast pig but nothing else available
until I asked about rice and beans; which I knew was supposed to be on the menu.
The dessert station had some chocolate donuts and cannolis that came out of a box.
Rice pudding and an attempt at peach cobbler were also presented.
No vegetable, raw or cooked. No soup. No fish or seafood of any kind (at a beach resort).
And the final kick in the teeth was being charged for a cup of coffee.
Never, ever again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed at Costa d'Este last Thursday night after two weeks in Florida with our two young children. It was our second visit after staying at the hotel for two nights in June 2010.

We were massively disappointed by the hotel this time. During our trip we stayed at four other hotels around the Florida coast (including Ritz Carlton Sarasota, Hilton Fort Lauderdale and Marco Beach Resort, Marco Island) all at the same rates of around $300 a night. We had a great time at all except Costa d'Este.

Main issue is the noise at night. At the time of booking direct we mentioned that we were travelling with children and would like a quiet room. Problem is no rooms are quiet. The hotel didn't tell us that they were having a fashion show by the pool and this involved a VERY loud disco into the night. When I asked the lady on reception when this would end, she wasn't interested and said she didn't know.

We enjoyed this hotel in 2010. It's in a lovely location, the food is good and the rooms are stylish. However, the rooms are now looking tired, it appears under staffed and the service is very poor.

I would recommend you try another hotel is visiting Vero Beach any time soon.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAResponse, General Manager at Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for your comments. May I fist apologize for this incident and let you know that we would have been more than happy to move you and your family to a quite room. Should you decide to return to Costa, I will be happy to give you the second night's stay complimentary.

Regards,

Charles Nehme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel twice under the previous General Manager Awilda Rivera and the service was great and she even came out to great us at check in. We were no one special but she made us feel as though we were. When we had a problem she personally was on top of it not one of her employees. We had to wait to be seated at Oriente even though we were on time for our reservation we waited almost an hour. Ms. Rivera came to us an apologized and we had drinks on her. Because of her hands on style of managing we decided to com back over and over. However this last trip will indeed be our last trip. Check in was after 4:40 PM the room with pool side view was filthy. The toilet was soiled. Dust everywhere. There were drink rings on the furniture. Ant the overall attitude of the staff when I complained was we're over booked so if you don't like the room we have other people who will take it. I asked to speak with Awilda and was told she no longer was the GM. We were told that Charles [--] was now the General Manager. Well we asked to speak or to see him and we never did. Not even a note from him. We also complained of an open, half used Fiji water bottle in our room and it was replaced the next day but at checkout we were charged for it. The restaurant service this time was far from the pleasant experience we had the last few times we were there. Yes we still had to wait, the food was cold, the steak overcooked and I found a hair in my salad. And would you believe I got nothing by way as an apology not an amenity, not a drink, NOTHING just an overpriced bill. Well never again. Emilo and Gloria bring back Awilda and we will come back, if not I guess your competition will have to get our business.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, don't get a poolside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

The hotel is casual and heartwarming. Decor is tropical, white linens & bamboo. Amazing heated infinity pool with the best pool-side Mojitos! Room 534 was direct ocean front, very clean, comfortable and WOW what a view! My only reservation, and that may be just a matter of timing, was the large number of young kids running around, splashing everywhere and using the round pool loungers as trampolines and bounce houses. Nothing worng with the little ones, just food for thought if youre looking for posh and chic.....this is the place! If your looking for posh, chic & romance ( adult atmosphere) this may not be your first choice.

It's a mixed crowd with everything from couples and retirees to young families with several kids, boogie boards etc. The service is casual & friendly, location is IDEAL. Youre in walking proximity to great shopping and awesome local eateries! Overall a very nice hotel!

Room Tip: Direct Ocean Front, high floor South Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAResponse, General Manager at Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope that you willl consider returning to Costa for another stay. The weekend you attended was unusually busy with families due to the time of the year. But, you can experience the quite surrounding and the great service our staff offers at another time. Please consider returning to Costa to have this great experence.

Regards,

Charles Nehme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Beautiful location, but the rooms are tiny, the staff was rude and the patio bar with live music goes until 1AM. Most rooms have a balcony that faces the pool bar (our was literally directly over the bar) so the noise was overwhelming. If you are looking for a loud party hotel filled with gold neckless wearing older men with their young Jersey-shore girlfiends, this is it. If you are looking for a romantic, quite hotel on the beach where you can leave the sliding door open to hear the ocean all night, aviod this place.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAResponse, General Manager at Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for your comment. I was musing at your comment about "gold neckless wearing older men with their young Jersey-shore girlfiends,..." and couldn't but chuckle as this is not a reflection of our real clients. This must have been an unusual situation during this particular visit here at Costa. We invite you back to experience the quietness of the resort in a room away from the music at the pool.

Thanl you

Charles Nehme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I have stayed in other hotels at the area, but this is by far the best.

Rooms are really modern and nice. And they keep them well and the cleaning standards are set to the level where really good hotels should be.

Added to very good rooms there is extremely nice pool and pool-bar. Its located just at the beach and to have excellent Vero Beach experience I wouldnt even consider anything else than Costa d'Este Beach Resort.

We loved it and will definately go again!

Room Tip: Towards sea - amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 3244 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.