We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed! -Average (2.5)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Place

Save Saved
You added South Beach Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Beach Place
1705 South Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Sarasota, Fl
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Disappointed! -Average (2.5)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews on T.A., thought we'd try this place on a weekend trip to Vero Beach...sorry, but we were very disappointed. After being shown to our room by the Manager (nice touch and very nice Mgr), we first noticed that the living room tile was buckled. We let the Mgr know and were told that this was something new, but no other rooms were available. My opinion is that this could not have gone unnoticed since the grout had been cleaned up. Next, tried to access the wireless internet (free), but no luck. Manager tried to help fix it, but we ended up with a long cable to plug directly into the was outlet (no wireless). The environment was also pretty bad..loud people in the pool at 11:30pm on Fri, party atmosphere on Saturday complete with boom boxes and people with open room doors playing loud music. (note..all rooms open onto the pool area). Office hours are only until 5:00pm (2pm on Sat), so who do you complain too? The noise in the evening was no problem when it came to sleeping however, ..the loud air conditioner drowned it out. Couple all that with no curtains on the windows (only blinds) and you got very little sleep...especially after the sun came up. Finally, Beach is not directly across the street. You have to cross the street, thru a parking lot and down a boardwalk before you see the Ocean..about 200 yds All in all..won't be back. Final note: We were refunded 10% on the rental due to the tile problem. Only thing that kept a lower rating away was the cleanliness of the room.

Room Tip: Try another place if you'd like a quite stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    11
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
65
80
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I just stayed here for my birthday. It could not have been more perfect! The decor, which is unique to each room, suits the 2 story 50's building. I loved the table and chairs out in front of our apartment and had tea each morning there. Even in July the direct ocean breeze was cool. The entire atmosphere is very friendly and warm, like you are coming home. The lovely big old pool, super clean as was the entire property. We were driving up late from Miami Beach we were told to just go up to our room as the office would be closed. Our room was lit, a/c on (very quite modern wall unit) with the key on the table. Everything was spotless. I was surprised to see a small kitchen and realize for the very affordable price it was a one bed apartment not a room. We loved the outdoor kitchen for the guests and had a great bar-b-que one night pool side. Again do to the direct ocean breeze it was cool and bug free. This is by far the best hotel we have ever booked in Florida. As we live on South Beach we like to get away from the "scene". If you are looking for David and Victoria Beckenham to be your neighbors this in NOT the place for you. If you are looking for true old Florida laid back comfort and charm, this IS for you. We can't wait for our British family to come over so we can bring them here. Its super close to Cape Canaveral and a hour-ish drive to Mickey's House. We are booking again now!!!

Room Tip: Every room has different decor and a lovely pool view. Next time we will take a ground floor unit s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Weekend getaway couldn't have been better! I loved my chic room, it's view to the pool area and best of all the fabulous beach. Powdery soft sand and tanning in the beautiful ocean. Nearby restaurants and downtown area are a bike ride away. Sunrise walks and sunset jogs...I could truly go on and on. It's a must-do...believe me.

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently...very inviting. Plenty of sunlight and spacious. There is a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I thought I'd take my husband away for a 'birthday' getaway and although we didn't travel too far from home, we felt like we were on a island in paradise! We loved South Beach Inn and all of it's charm! The room was delightful and decorated in shabby, vintage...which just added to the charm. The grounds were like that of a tropical island....plumeria in bloom and wild jasmine that could take your breath away. The seagrapes and coconut palms that surrounded the pool were beautiful. It was a home away from home....clean, cute, charming. The staff was remarkable! I'm only sad that we were only able to stay for two nights. We will however, be back again. My birthday is in September and I'm already making plans...this time we will be bringing along some friends! South Beach Inn is a must stay.... I promise you will feel like you are on a private island in paradise! Job well done!!! The South Beach Pizzeria gets a '10' as well!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel and grounds are getting somewhat long in the tooth, but the value is great, especially with good beach access just across the road. Nothing was horrible about the room - window unit air conditioner didn't bother us sound sleepers. We needed a hair dryer, but no one was at the desk on Sunday at 10am- that's where ball caps come in! So - great if you want an inexpensive, safe area, and don't mind an old-feel FL motel. No real complaints.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, ME
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This funky little beach motel was a real find. We were traveling with our 2 young sons (7 and 9) and wanted to find a comfortable suite-type hotel near the beach in Vero. This motel offered everything we needed: a pool (heated!), a kitchenette (small but functional, with all the basics provided, even dish soap/sponge/coffee filters/salt & pepper!), a separate room for our kids to sleep in (day beds in the living room - not ideal for parent privacy, but very comfortable) and easy access to the beach (just steps away, across S. Ocean Drive where it dead-ends). The atmosphere at the hotel is very easygoing and friendly, with all the rooms opening onto a balcony or walkway overlooking the pool. The setup lends itself to sociable interactions with your "neighbors" if you choose; we met a bunch of really nice folks, many of whom have been coming to this hotel for 10-15 years! There is a guest laundry area on-site (coin op), and the hotel provides beach/pool towels, beach chairs, a BBQ/grill area by the pool, and there are even bicycles for guests to use if they choose. The spacious rooms appear to have been rather recently redecorated by someone with a real flair for funky "tagsale chic." The location of the motel worked great for us, too - very close to the main drag of Vero (1.5 miles away?) but nestled just south of it in the quaint "old" residential area of Vero known as Riomar - nearby streets are paved with sand and are canopied by giant old live oaks. So the hustle and bustle of downtown Vero was close enough if you wanted it, but far enough away that you felt like you were in a quiet village. All in all, a great spot, a great value and we hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Upper floor offers best view & sun access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We booked South Beach Place on the strength of the reviews. And weren't disappointed. Spotlessly clean and we got the king size bed requested. Two minutes from the beach, really lovely pool also carefully maintained and spotless. Spacious mini apartments in a quiet setting away from through traffic. Large fridge freezer comfortable sofa and chairs and very comfy bed. The only thing I would like to mention is that being first time visitors from England we had no idea where things in the area where and spent a couple of days floundering looking for supermarkets bank etc., a map to guide in the room would be much appreciated. The property has recently changed hands and now has an absentee owner so we fervently hope that nothing will Change here.

Room Tip: Don't worry they are all good and all overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Place

Address: 1705 South Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vero Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Beach Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Place Hotel Vero Beach
South Beach Place Vero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.