We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place/ Laid Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added South Beach Place to your Saves list
South Beach Place
1705 South Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable Place/ Laid Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed for five nights at the end of June. The room was stocked with things like clorox wipes, plates, cups, and dish liquid. The walls are cinder block, and the furniture is shabby chic (with the emphasis on shabby), but the price is right...and it is VERY CLEAN. I am picky, and I have walked out of several hotels because of cleanliness issues, this hotel was clean. The only real complaint I have is that the air conditioner was a wall unit, and made a huge amount of noise kicking on and off, which interfered with my sleep. The ocean is a very short walk across a cul-du-sac, and the beach is fabulously uncrowded. The hotel environment was laid back and relaxed. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I enjoyed my stay, and my family did as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    13
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
72
88
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed at South Beach Place for 10 days in June/July 2011 for fly-drive holiday with my brother. Had a brilliant time and the motel was a crucial piece of the puzzle. Accommodation was spotless, tasteful and functional and staff were more than friendly - even an offer of some night fishing on our next visit, which is a dead cert. Laundry came in handy towards the end of the trip and was very well priced (couple of dollars), pizza place down the road filled the gap on many an occasion and the walk to the beach in the morning was the icing on the cake. Can't recommend highly enough. Go there! - Matt, UK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

stayed twice in 2010 one week in june 2010 and one week in aug . will be staying again in may 2011 , found this motel to be a wonderful place to escape from the world ,we never want to leave. perfect location if you like solitude, pool was warm and clean . entire property well maintained, staff was friendly and accomandating . host brian kelly is always ready and willing to answer your questions or concerns. Can not imagine staying anywhere else,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We visited Vero Beach during our Spring Break. Our Varsity baseball team was in a tournament at Dodgertown and all of our families wanted to stay near each other at the beach. As luck would have it, Brian had 3 rooms available because of a cancellation so we quickly snapped those up! The other familes stayed in various locations nearby and all were extremely jealous of our South Beach Place accomodations...picture Key West meets Melrose Place! The rooms are funky retro style with real dishes, a kitchen and the most comfortable king bed around. Brian provides everything imagineable...books, magazines, suntan lotion, goggles, beach chairs and even bikes! We all hungout at our pool for happy hour on the giant overstuffed wicker pool furniture and Brian even lights a firepit every night for his guests to enjoy! He has guests that have stayed with him every year for the past 18 years! This place is a treat! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I have been very lucky enough to have stayed at the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok, the Imperial and Taj in New Delhi, the Waldorf Astoria in New York, the Shangli-La in Singapore, the Ritz in Madrid, the Biltmore in Coral Gables, Gleneagles in Scotland, the Mandarin in Hong Kong, the Oberoi and Taj in Mumbai ..... and now South Beach Place in Vero Beach. It is not 5-star opulent luxury of course like the above-mentioned, but it is an oasis of comfort with good-sized rooms (lounge/kitchen/bedroom/bathroom) and a peaceful, relaxed atmosphere in a great location a few minutes walk from the wonderful beach. Managed with a laid-back efficiency by Brian Kelly to very high standards where the guest comes first. My wife and extended our stay because we loved it so much. Enough said!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

If you want to experience the charm and life style of Vero Beach you need to stay at South Beach Place. The location at the southern end of the city, right on the ocean, provides a perfect secluded environment yet close enough to the great shopping and restaurants that make Vero the place to visit.
The rooms are set up to blend in perfectly with the surroundings and include everything to make your stay comfortable. There are outdoor grills to prepare your own special dish along with a full kitchen to fill out the rest of the menu. A great pool or if you rather, a short walk to beach.
This is to be our home away from home when we are in Vero.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Amazing, "Martha Stewart" clean...each motel room was a cute suite, the kitchen had everything you could think of including a wine opener haha! I loved this place. So friendly, great location and I cannot emphasize how clean and comfy the room was. There is a living room area and kitchen with each rental. Steps from the beach. The pool was great. You need to stay here, way better than the 4* hotels up the road...promise you that....seriously...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Place

Address: 1705 South Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your South Beach Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Place Hotel Vero Beach
South Beach Place Vero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.