We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done, Waldo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Driftwood Resort to your Saves list
Driftwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well done, Waldo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The world needs more visionaries like Waldo Sexton, who created Driftwood Lodge on Vero Beach back in the hard times of the 1930s.For us, a family of Kiwi travellers, it was a wonderful relief from the sterile 5* star family rooms we had encountered in hotels on our Florida road trip.
Sadly ,Driftwood nowdays is also a condominium group but insist on staying in the old part of the hotel and you will be in for a treat. Character abounds.
Our room 231,had lovely old wood panelling,a library balcony(with a double bed-perfect for the kids),lovely seperate bedroom,claw footed old bath , romantic living room filled with heaps of memorabilia.Best of all you are right on a beautiful beach with your own Driftwood deck and rocking chair-perfect for a cold afternoon beer
-also try the Ocean Grill -fantastic restaurant with heaps of character (also started by clever old Waldo ).It is right on the sand and walking distance to Driftwood.
This one night stop over was the highlight( with the exception was the shuttle taking off)of our whole time in Florida.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    47
    16
    15
    9
See reviews for
44
57
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ont can
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

i don't like negative reviews cus no place is perfect but people should have a better idea what they're in for at a place. there were good parts. we were in a "cottage" in the main section , the room was quaint with a huge tub living room kitchen 2 baths and bedroom. it was clean . but there are no assigned parking spots and as waldo's restaurant uses this parking also good luck at getting a space and also when the patrons leave in the wee hours expect a lot of noise . noise was also a problem in the room as the walls are paper thin . luckily we only had neighbors for 2 nites cus when someone was there we could follow their conversation as if they were in our room and when the one couple decided that 2, 3 oclock in the nite was a good time to plan the next day well we knew all about it , so we were not impressed. the beach/bar on the patio was nice . i did enjoy the voodoo juice .lol. so depending what's important for u check it out first.

  • Liked — the rustic rocking chair feel
  • Disliked — noisy noisy noisy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leightex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

“A Wonderful Experience”

Honestly, my decision to stay at the Driftwood was based solely on price. I found myself on a very strict budget for the week. The hotel was quite, clean and in well repair. The staff was very helpful and attentive to all my needs during the week. That having been said I cannot stress enough how important it is to check into the Driftwood with an open mind. You will be staying at a timeshare - not a hotel. No daily room service, no breakfast,
no hairdryer, no shampoo or fancy soaps, no free internet,
no remote for TV, no movie channels, and a antiquated
phone system. If these things are important to you then
you'll probably be more suited to the Holiday Inn down the
road. For a clean, safe, well run place to sleep in a great location
on the beach the Driftwood is perfect. I will definitely return again and recommend to my non-pampered friends.

  • Liked — Beach access
  • Disliked — Parking is scarce!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

The location was very scenic and for us was quite. The beach was clean and not crowded. The property seems well maintained and rustic. The rooms are fairly well equipped, but are half way between hotel room and suite. The size is small, but would normally be adequate if we weren’t stuck inside for several days from the hurricane. The staff was informed, level headed and very helpful during the storm. We didn’t get to see much outside the property and would go back to try again.

  • Liked — Beach Location
  • Disliked — Room Size
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

At first sight, the Driftwood seems very unique with all of the wood everywhere and the fact that it is right on the beach is great but that's about all it has to offer. The rooms inside were tidy but VERY outdated and we had creepy crawlies all over the place. I was barely able to sleep through the night wondering if the bugs where going to come to our bed. When we mentioned it to the front desk staff they gave us a smile and said "oh yeah" like they've heard it many times before. Although we knew that check-in wasn't until 3:00 we had arrived early b/c there was only one flight in and it was an early flight. Since checkout is at 10:00am the front desk said they would try and get our room ready as soon as possible so I waited by the pool with my kids. They didn't have the room ready until 3:00 so I had no choice but to sweat by the pool for 5 hrs with my kids. The food at the restaurant was TERRIBLE. I asked for Salmon and I got something that looked nothing like Salmon. It was like mystery fish!!! Overall, I would rate this hotel as mediocre and would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

After reading reviews and looking at the website we decided to book a room at Driftwood for the weekend. The location on the beach was fabulous!!! We stayed in room 3029. The view of the ocean from the balcony was breath taking. We were on the quieter side of the hotel and were very glad we were. We used the pool near our room. My daughter kept asking me if we could try the pool near the restaurant/bar and finally I decided to walk over with her. We didn't even get up to the pool and I decided it was not a place I wanted her hanging out. It was more of a bar atmosphere with a pool plunked in the middle of it. It attracts many people who are not even staying at the hotel. As far as our hotel room most everything was ok, but I do not think it was worth the price we paid. I think with a little updating it could of been very nice. There was mold on our shower curtain liner (very easy to change). There was also mold on the caulking of our tub (easy to change). Also the caulking around the toilet bowl (again easy to fix) I would not dare to make any food in the kitchen. All we did was make coffee and the ants just came out in swarms. Other than the things I just mentioned everything else was fine. The rustic charm on the outside of the buildings was a very nice touch. However we will probably NEVER stay there again.

  • Liked — The view from our room and location to beach
  • Disliked — with a little effort the room could of been great. Needs much updating inside room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We're 2 week RCI owners at The Driftwood and we're looking forward to our stay next year. We bought it sight unseen (yes) but don't regret it at all. It's on the small scale which is what we prefer rather than a highrise 25 floors up. We have a ground floor studio which was ample with a 25 second walk to the beach or the pool by Waldos. Everyone was friendly, including the staff and guests. Shopping, restaurants, walking and relaxation was great. Our only complaint is the parking situation because a lot of local patrons use Waldos Restaurant and have no respect of where they park even though the parking is designated "Registered Guests" so we suggest that this could be monitored somehow by the staff. 2 small pools which could get very crowded so used the beach mostly and it's awesome. BBQ's were in top notch condition, nice clean area. If you're travelling there by vehicle take beach chairs, umbrella and whatever else for the beach. We had to buy some while we were there. Overall, it's a great place to stay.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vero Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.