We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Driftwood Resort to your Saves list
Driftwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Schererville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here 11/16/13. Got an ocean view suite and it was amazing. The suite had all the comforts of home with an amazing view. The bathrooms were large with a bathtub in the middle to give some old school charm. The room was very quiet and peaceful. The resort staff was very helpful with all and any needs. Just a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    16
    15
    9
See reviews for
44
55
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My review will probably sound a lot like Mandy J's 10/7/2013 review. It seems that we stayed at the Driftwood right at the same time, and had very, very similar experiences!- unfortunately, not good experiences, at all...

We ended up here through a RCI vacation exchange. We knew ahead of time (by internet research and online pics) that this resort was going to be 'different', but we had hopes it would still be enjoyable. We were greeted by the overwhelming smell of mold/mildew, and many little ants crawling around on the kitchenette counter, in our tiny, little hotel room. RCI tries to pass this off as a 'studio suite' (in the A building), but it is a glorified hotel room. After we called about the bug problem, they sent a nice security guard up with ant traps (!), but that was not going to do. After making several more phone calls to management, we were moved to an ever-so slightly larger room in the B building (B 103). It did not have the ocean view like in the A building, but the mold smell was less pronounced, and we had a little more breathing room there, so we made it work. The parking situation was awful- locals parked there constantly, and would walk right out of the resort, on to their actual destination (which was NOT the Driftwood). This was in the supposed 'off-season', so I can only imagine how much worse it is during the summer.

Vero Beach is pretty, but there is practically NO nightlife. We were handed our check at 9pm at Mulligan's (a block away) during the baseball playoffs, surrounded by a bar full of patrons. Seems the local businesses don't really care about making money, or making repeat customers, by staying open past sunset. This is a sleepy place, so if you're looking for excitement and/or socialization, I'd try another community entirely. Even Waldo's bar (on site) closed at 11:30pm, and they were the last one open in the entire area. Our queen bed at the Driftwood was extremely uncomfortable- (bowed in the middle) so one of us ended sleeping on the couch, which wasn't much better.

Positives: right on the beach, 2 pools (albeit small and crowded), bartenders are all very nice except for one very rude guy, staff was generally friendly, although no one asked how we were enjoying our stay. We checked out 3 days early, and they didn't even blink an eye. No questions, at all... Neat decor, interesting history.

After we ended up leaving 3 days early, we finally figured it out: The Driftwood is a great place if you want to spend the day at the beach, then have dinner and multiple drinks at Waldo's restaurant. You can then crawl over to your little room and pass out, and not be bothered by the many things that I listed above. But if you're planning on staying more than one night, and NOT being intoxicated, I would have to recommend staying somewhere else...

RCI vacation exchanges are often a crap shoot, and we definitely lost big, on this one :(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Driftwood. Most sorry about the ant problem you encountered, the traps were brought to you because spraying for ants doesn't do anything but spread the ants around, traps will actually kill the colony, but you should not have had ants at all and I'm sorry you did. The room you were moved to is in the main part of the resort and therefore the busiest parking lot, since it also services the restaurant. We do have 2 other lots available and except for Saturdays, when the resort is almost always full, there is always ample parking available. Half the beds have been replaced in the resort in the last month and the rest will be done by early 2014, had we known you were having a problem with the bed we would have been happy to add egg crates and/or bed boards to make it more comfortable.

Vero Beach is a small town, so there is not a strong night life available, although we do have live music at Waldo's 4-5 nights a week, but no it is not usually open past midnight. We are known as a family community and have a huge repeat clientele but they are not looking for evening activities. With the beach in front of us, a city park next to us and all the shopping areas and restaurants within walking distance of the resort most people do find enough to do to keep them busy but there are no nightclubs in the beach area.

You booked into a studio with RCI, which is what you received, but there are many larger 1 & 2 bedroom units at the resort. Hopefully if you decide to come back to Vero in the future you will be able to reserve a larger room that is more to your liking. Thank you for your comments. Jeanne Radlet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The look an feel of this place was charming! The location right on the beach was awesome! We had a partial kitchen & couldn't really do much in it. There were ants in the room and when I called they brought up traps right away but they ended up in my baby's bed and our bed. Speaking of bed Not comfortable at all :( the other stuff we really could have been ok with if the beds were nicer. Parking come Friday night was a nightmare driving around & around till one opened up because of all the locals parking an walking to other locations. It wasn't cool hiking our sleeping kids up to the room from a couple parking lots over. The beach access and beach were so nice! We will miss you Vero Beach!!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Glad you liked the location of your unit and sorry about the ant problem, it is an issue many resorts and hotels fight with in Florida continually. As far as the bed is concerned all the mattresses and box springs on the property are being replaced in the next few months, we would have been happy to add an egg crate mattress or bed board, whichever to make your stay more comfortable. We do have 3 parking lots and there is no reserved parking, certainly on the weekends it is busier than other days, sorry you had to park in the lot farthest lot from your unit. It sounds like you still had a good time with the easy beach access, hope you will give us another chance sometime in the future. Thanks for your review. Jeanne L. Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I might be a little biased, because my husband asked me to marry him here. But we love it so much we have been coming back for the last five years, and we make a reservation for the next year before we leave. The place is homey, clean and it makes me happy! Vero Beach is a fun little town and there is lots to explore. We love to do it on foot, but if you want you can drive around too. The rooms are all unique and decorated well. The room we stayed in was fully stocked with everything you could think of, even a blender! If you're staying an extended period and want to cook, there is a full sized refrigerator and stove with oven! I just can't say enough great things about this place. If we only have one place we can go for vacation, we choose to come here!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there is a fitness center, as we never use it if there is. We get enough exerci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTILL SPRINGS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The area is full of history. The studio room was adequately supplied with everything we needed for the week. The resort is conveniently located near many shops, restaurants and on the beach. Amy, one of the managers was very nice and informative about activities to do in the area. There is a restaurant on the resort, Waldos, very good food and service.

Room Tip: Rooms over the restaurant may get a little noisy on the weekends but we stayed in the 4 story buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family of three stayed in a one bedroom through the Armed Forces Vacation Club. There really was plenty of room for us and the room was very clean. The people working in the resort were very nice. The restaurant was closed for renovation during our stay. If we would get a place beach front we would think of staying here again. I don't know how it's decided who gets what at places like this but there were so many empty rooms-I would think we would have received at least a room with a balcony we could use. We faced a cement wall on the first level. Again, everyone was pleasant there but it would have been a lot better if the restaurant/bar area had been opened and if we had a better view.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is in a very good position and is old-style but our bedroom was very very dark(we used our RCI exchange weeks),our view was the car-park!! It is clean but there are no services at all!
They have never cleaned the room during our week stay and never entered it: we had to change the sheets and the towels by ourselves leaving them outside the room.
They weren't open and never asked us anything about our stay, just good morning etcetera nothing more.

Room Tip: If you are RCI members, avoid the rooms in front of the car park, they are very dark! Don't exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Sorry you did not like your bedroom at the resort. We have many different types of rooms, some are very bright, some with dark wood. Timeshare exchange guests do not receive daily cleaning, just as in most other resorts. If you were renting you would receive cleaning each day. We do have a linen exchange for timeshare guests. We supply the rooms with six sets of towels to begin your stay and exchange them through the week for you. I don't know what you mean by not being open, our reception area is open from 7AM to 11PM everyday and the restaurant is open 7 days a week also. Hopefully you will come back again and have a chance to enjoy the resort more. Jeanne Radlet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vero Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.