We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Driftwood Resort to your Saves list
Driftwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
ESTILL SPRINGS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The area is full of history. The studio room was adequately supplied with everything we needed for the week. The resort is conveniently located near many shops, restaurants and on the beach. Amy, one of the managers was very nice and informative about activities to do in the area. There is a restaurant on the resort, Waldos, very good food and service.

Room Tip: Rooms over the restaurant may get a little noisy on the weekends but we stayed in the 4 story buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    18
    15
    10
See reviews for
57
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family of three stayed in a one bedroom through the Armed Forces Vacation Club. There really was plenty of room for us and the room was very clean. The people working in the resort were very nice. The restaurant was closed for renovation during our stay. If we would get a place beach front we would think of staying here again. I don't know how it's decided who gets what at places like this but there were so many empty rooms-I would think we would have received at least a room with a balcony we could use. We faced a cement wall on the first level. Again, everyone was pleasant there but it would have been a lot better if the restaurant/bar area had been opened and if we had a better view.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is in a very good position and is old-style but our bedroom was very very dark(we used our RCI exchange weeks),our view was the car-park!! It is clean but there are no services at all!
They have never cleaned the room during our week stay and never entered it: we had to change the sheets and the towels by ourselves leaving them outside the room.
They weren't open and never asked us anything about our stay, just good morning etcetera nothing more.

Room Tip: If you are RCI members, avoid the rooms in front of the car park, they are very dark! Don't exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Sorry you did not like your bedroom at the resort. We have many different types of rooms, some are very bright, some with dark wood. Timeshare exchange guests do not receive daily cleaning, just as in most other resorts. If you were renting you would receive cleaning each day. We do have a linen exchange for timeshare guests. We supply the rooms with six sets of towels to begin your stay and exchange them through the week for you. I don't know what you mean by not being open, our reception area is open from 7AM to 11PM everyday and the restaurant is open 7 days a week also. Hopefully you will come back again and have a chance to enjoy the resort more. Jeanne Radlet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Driftwood is an eclectic collection of old buildings directly on the ocean. The property is by no means a shiny brand new, cookie-cutter resort. Instead it is authentic old Florida with loads of character. If an oceanfront room is available, by all means spend the extra money.

The rooms in the E Building where I always stay have a kitchen complete with everything except a stove and oven and the room I stayed in has a big claw-foot tub and separate shower. This is an ownership property so the rooms come with everything you need for a week including dishes and kitchen linens. The décor is somewhat mix-and-match and a little worn but this only adds to the homey feeling.

There is a restaurant onsite with an oceanfront deck. Some of the food is quite good - chicken quesadillas, hamburgers, nachos, and some is average at best. There are also another dozen excellent restaurants, as well as many shops, within walking distance.

As other reviewers have mentioned, parking can be problematic during the dinner hours and on weekends, but I always managed to find a spot.

I love this place and stay here every chance I get!

Room Tip: The best rooms by far are the ocean front rooms in the E Building, which is on the National Registry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Visiting ailing father-Inlaw in Ft Pierce....my wife her sister and mother had drinks on the beach here..( Waldo's)..she came back and asked if I could check into getting a room because it looked like such a cool place.....I called and booked #229. Unseen.....what a great room. Around $200. had an adorable loft for sister in law....the furnishings were beautiful antiques....this place has a history....best part was balcony...ours had a perfect porch roof at top of stairwell that made for a perfect morning....the mineral pool was a delight...can recommend the fish and chips.....so after evening walk on the beach and lots of good rocking chair conversation.....it was a perfect diversion for us. Not the embassy suites and hope it never will be.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Awesome views, wonderful sculptures and art through out the entire resort! Beautiful rooms and buildings, great little restaurant/bar on site , great location for day trips! I will be back! Loved every minute there!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

They really need to address the parking issues. We arrived on Sat. When Waldo's was in full swing with lots of patrons using the parking spots so there was nowhere for us to park and unload our stuff. No Hints from staff about what to do. We found a 2 hour spot across the street. It became very stressful wondering if you were going to find a spot if you went somewhere else. Glad the restaurant is so popular but maybe there should be designated parking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.