We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Relaxing Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Driftwood Resort to your Saves list
Driftwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Chickamauga, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Relaxing Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We sort of "fell" into Driftwood as we got rooked in to touring a time share for a free week of vacation through RCI. . . prior to trying to book that free week, we had no idea that Driftwood Resort, or Vero Beach for that matter, existed. We consider ourselves very lucky to have found both.

We arrived Saturday afternoon, the day before the big Christmas in July party/charity event and were nervous because the parking was very limited, however, we were lucky enough to find a space without too much trouble. Our first day there, Sunday / Christmas in July, was a bit crowded. . .the beach was packed and you couldn't get near the main pool. However, Sunday afternoon-the rest of the week were amazing as far as people were concerned. Not overcrowded at all.

We had a fantastic little studio room with a partial kitchen (Room 407). It was very small, but worked well for my husband, myself, and our two year old. The room says that it sleeps 4, however, I would not recommend it for any more than two adults and maybe two toddlers. With older kids, teenagers, or more than two adults, the studio we stayed in would be WAY too small, in my opinion. The location of the room was perfect. We were up high enough that we could see the beach from our window and rocking chairs on the balcony. Our room was also on the Waldo's side so we could sit in our chairs and enjoy the live band (with our much less pricey drinks) from our room with our two year old safely playing beside us.

The room was nice, but a bit dated. The refrigerator and inside of the microwave both had rusty spots which felt a bit dirty to me. The two small windows on the side of the large one were both filthy. The bed was definitely firm which was fine for me, but my husband didn't enjoy it so much. The partial kitchen was tiny, but I expected as much and was able to work in it just fine for our week long stay.

If you choose to use the laundry room, I would definitely suggest purchasing your own soap/dryer sheets. After charging you $1.50 per token (so $3 to wash and dry one load) the resort will also charge you $1 each for soap and single dryer sheets. Also, be prepared to get there early as there is only 2 washers and 2 dryers so it's hard to find them available. Also, you will find that there is no laundry basket so be prepared to use a bag or tote.

As far as the staff, they seemed helpful, but most were not overly friendly. Check-in was fine and everyone was friendly during the process. However, I later had to call down because our clothes iron was broken. Someone brought one to my door within 5 minutes (GREAT service) but the person who I spoke with at the front desk never apologized or anything, just dryly said, "we'll send one to you" as if it were a bother to take my call. Overall, though, I could deal with the staff. They, for the most part, just weren't people who I was interested in starting a friendly conversation with.

We spent most of our time at the beach, however, we did spend some time at the pool. We tried out the main pool that is located at Waldos and did not feel comfortable there, right smack in the middle of a bar, with our two year old so we then decided to only use the pool at the breakers buildings even though we weren't technically supposed to. It was a much more relaxed environment and I felt comfortable that it was kids running around rather than people with their drinks in hand.

During our time at the beach, we were blessed to be able to witness a shark feeding on "bait fish" as well as an abundance of sea turtles.

Some negatives: The wifi is AWFUL!! If I was lucky, I could sit outside and get a enough signal to get my email to load. I'm not sure that this is all that terrible though, since it definitely doesn't permit any working via the resorts wifi. Also, the entire little town shuts down at 5pm. We decided to go for a walk after dinner at Waldos Monday night and nothing but a couple little restaurants was open. Turns out that it didn't matter as the shops in the area were extremely pricey.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider a return stay. Just don't expect anything touristy. There is very little to do outside of partying at Waldos and enjoying the pool and beach which was just what we wanted for this particular vacation with just our toddler.

Room Tip: The room we had - 407 - was PERFECT for us. Great view of the ocean, as well as a great view of Wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    57
    18
    15
    10
See reviews for
59
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived right in the middle of the annual Xmas party in July ! Full on party - was a bit concerned at first but no problems on the whole for guys who had been partying for 8 hrs.......
Stayed in a family room which was fab - separate double bedroom and bathroom with our girls on a double pull out sofa with their own kitchenette and bathroom.
Great value for money and stunning location !!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been visiting the DW in the summer for years. Our family has a timeshare in a beautiful little villa facing the beach. We stay for a week, it's perfect. This was the first year I rented a room for myself. It was maybe 15 steps to the beach, huge, clean! And Waldo's is always tons of fun!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This resort only seemed to care about its paying customers at the restaurant/bar that is part of the resort. Parking is a nightmare because this is a local hangout and they let anyone park anywhere. There is no dedicated parking for the people who are staying at this resort. There were people drinking in the pool, beer bottles & wine glasses on the side of the pool at times. Definitely not a place for children. Not to mention all the drunks leaving daily. We saw an older man who was drunk goofing off in the parking lot in his car hit another guy and the guy just handed him another beer and then another girl leaving back into someone else's vehicle that was parked in the handicap space. There cops were called here on several occasions. There were no activities, the few shops in the area were pricey. Beds were hard & very uncomfortable. I ended up sleeping on the sofa bed as it was a little better which is sad to say. RCI guests can only exchange their bath towels & bed linens once within your week stay; you have to leave them outside in the morning and then wait for them to return them later in the afternoon on Tuesday. The main pool is in the middle of the restaurant deck dining area and the bar. There is only about 20 lounge chairs all of which were taken every morning by people running down and draping towels over them even though it was clearly stated you were not to do this. We got to sit by the pool one time during our weeks stay and there were people not even staying at the resort using the pool facilities too. The other pool on the breakers side of the resort was the same way. The resort itself has a nice location and we had a great ocean view from our room which was right above Waldos the restaurant/bar. And we did enjoy some of the live entertainment in the evenings at Waldos but I would never come back. This was my worst RCI exchange experience ever

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Very sorry you had such a difficult time parking. The 4th of July week was busier than we have ever been and parking was at a premium. Many of the resort guests bring more than one vehicle and the restaurant onsite is indeed very popular both with locals and with tourists and that does exacerbate the problem. We value all of our guests and are sorry you felt that was not the case. Our RCI guests and owners alike have a linen exchange once a week, as is the case with most interval ownership resorts. People renting units on a daily basis receive fresh linens daily which is built into the rental price. I hope you will give us another chance sometime in the future. Jeanne Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a great lil treat for my family and I. My teenage boys had an amazing time between the two pools and the beach. They were never bored. My husband and I enjoyed the pool and beach as well and Waldo's pool side bar. Our room was clean and quaint. Loved the lil nooks around the resort. My husband and I would get up early and grab a breakfast sandwich and a cup off coffee from across the street and enjoy the view from them. The hotel staff was super friendly. Can't wait to go back with out the kids ;) My only complaint was the pillows, but that's just because I am picky. I forgot to pack mine.

Room Tip: the bar noise can get a little loud if you stay in the units by the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place. The rooms are clean and roomy and the staff were great. A beautiful beachfront and 2 swimming pools that were clean and well kept. Whether you're a family or a solo couple you'll enjoy the whole ambiance of this place. The ocean views are amazing and the bar has a great ambiance to hang out and have a drink or two.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I love the Driftwood! Our family has vacationed here for nearly 30 years - we are owners in the Driftwood timeshare villas. We can't wait to unwind and relax at the beach each June - our suite with kitchenette becomes our home away from home, and we enjoy exploring the grounds and relaxing by the pool. The Driftwood is a piece of history, too - it is on the National Historic register. Waldo Sexton, builder of the original Driftwood Inn, was an eccentric entrepreneur who developed much of the area around Vero Beach. He also built the Ocean Grille restaurant, the Patio restaurant, and the Szechuan Palace in Vero, and had a hand in the McKee Botanical Gardens. I love all the items he collected and left on the Driftwood property, especially the ships bells, the wrought iron, and the ceramic medallions. Make sure you explore all the Driftwood buildings to see these treasures!

Room Tip: Book a room with an ocean view - staying in the ordinal building would be awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.