We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Resort

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife & I stayed here over the weekend and we LOVED it. All of the rooms are suites with kitchenettes and are very nice.

The grounds are amazing, though the pool is a bit small.

In addition, there is a wonderful little shopping area nearby.

We loved Vero Beach and will visit often. When we return, we'll be staying at the Driftwood Resort. You should as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    45
    16
    15
    7
See reviews for
42
51
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

If u get a beachfront room in E bldg which is the original bldg.(breezeway) u are practically in the ocean. Astonishing!
D & E bldg have the coolest rooms anywhere. All are suites and are decorated
to be faithful with the history of The Driftwood. The history of the D'wood and Treasure Coast is very enchanting if not mesmerizing.
Staff is friendly and knowledge. The bar and restaurant (Waldo's) is unmatched with atmosphere and on certain afternoons and evenings the entertainment is excellent.
You must have a Margarita at the bar facing the pool and the ocean.
If you hang around for a couple days or more you'll meet some very cool Vero natives hanging at Waldo's and the "long time shareholders " enjoy sharing their knowledge and entertaining stories concerning The Driftwood and the eccentric but yet brilliant Waldo!
NOPE, I don't work at "the Driftwood or Waldo's for that matter. I'm from S.C. and have visited at different intervals for 21straight years as a renter. Finally bought a timeshare last year. There are some EXCELLENT deals available .
Check it out, unless you're a stick n the mud, you're gonna love it ! AND( in my opinion it is rather reasonable $. Unless u stay for two monthes as I once did. Now that'll break the bank!
Very Vero,
P.G.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A first time visit to Vero, it was simply fate to fall on this gem of a place. Room for 4, and a balcony with a view, I couldn't have had a more comfortable stay in 228. Right on the corner above Waldo's, I was at first hesitant that I would be kept up with the band playing, but there was no such thing - all I could here were the ocean waves right outside my room. Waking up to that was perfect! I only stayed for one night, but will surely book again for a longer stay. The staff was pleasant, the location fabulous, and the overall rustic nature of the resort made it what it was.

Looking forward to stay #2!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this resort for 5 experiences, with family renting up to 6 rooms all at once. Great selection of room types and amentities makes this a great destination for groups. Reasonably priced, given the most rooms have kitchenette, living room separate from bedroom and nice balcony/porch for each room. The rooms are someone dated, and in baths and kitchens, could use some work on rust areas (common for ocean front). Rooms are clean though and maid service is very good, nice and flexible! The bar at Waldo's (on property) was rated best oceanside bar by the county magazine readers. Great deck to eat at on the water with a very southern TGIF type menu with limited selection but good consistent execution. The bar and restaurant service is spotty. Tip well and it will guarantee better service with each visit. The pool area is great because there are areas which are buffered from the wind in case of cooler weather. The artifacts around the property are interesting and history of this national historical property is fascinating. Great walking distance to other restaurants, coffee shops and bars. This is definately NOT a resort though! Managed very simply, everything is manual at the driftwood including the reservation process. It is clear that restaurant is also run very ad hoc. Cute and quaint. Overpriced but it is one of few all purpose places to stay on Vero Beach where you can BBQ your own food, make your own coffee while you sit on your own porch/balcony and sip your mohitos. Or walk 20 steps down to where the action is with their daily/nightly bands.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are different as this is a timeshare hotel. For quiet and view, bldg A 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two notes March 7thru the 9th.room122 B was actually like a little house.had sitting area Huge bathroom very clean and walked out the door tithe ocean.Ate at Waldo's for lunch with the ocean breeze blowing on us.Food was great.John the waiter was very attentive Also enjoyed the nightly music at Waldo's. Great little shops an restaurants to walk to Staff was excellent and price was great.Wish we would of bad a few more days to stay . Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is a Vero Beach classic and is a little older, but hasn't raised its prices to unrealistic levels. We stayed in the older section where our room had charming decor and a tiny but functional kitchen. The bed was my only complaint - we had to split up and use the sofabed. The beach is fabulous and the town is quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you want to experience some old florida lifestyle, this place is perfect with lots of character and interesting history.
Great experience with every every member of the staff. The second floor room, overlooking the ocean was very accommodating and clean.
My wife and I will return for another stay as soon as time allows.
Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.