We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Resort to your Saves list
Driftwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We came upon this great find when we meet a couple of bikers in a park. They suggested this place to us which was right up our alley. It is a time share also so wasn't expecting a one night stay. Too our surprise we got an ocean front suite. These rooms take you back in time, but had everything we needed. Then main building is all old driftwood which gives the place such character. So many cool novelties for decorations around the grounds. Nice beach side/ pool side restaurant. Driftwood gave us a relaxing feeling, especially with rockers outside our room to watch the ocean.
This is a place I would consider coming back for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: 205 was our oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    16
    15
    8
See reviews for
43
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loganville, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Driftwood in Vero Beach (our favorite Florida town) many times - so it was time for a review. The Driftwood has a wide variety of accommodations to meet various tastes and the prices are very good for what you get. We particularly like the rooms with balconies overlooking the adjacent park. We brought our kids to the park when they were young and, more recently, our first grandchild. Our favorite room (#3022) is spacious and quiet. The Driftwood is located very close to everything - you can walk to great restaurants, parks or shopping. It has two pools (we like the smaller, quiet one) and is on the beach. We keep going back - what more can you say?

Room Tip: There are a lot to choose from - check them out on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort pierce
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently booked a room for New Year,s eve and was told my confirmation # was Mike, and the cancellation policy for the holiday was 48 hours notice. We were unable to keep our plans so I called the hotel 48 hours before our arrival and cancelled. The woman on the phone said no problem the room was cancelled and there would be no charges to my card.( I did not get her name). Yesterday I received my credit card statement with the room charge on it and it was charged on 1/2/2013. I called the hotel and they said since they do not have a computer they would have to find the paper work!!!!!!. Later I was told the manager said they had no proof I called and the charge stands. I have filed a dispute with my credit card company.PLEASE BEWARE

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Sorry you had this experience but we show no record of having recieved a cancellation call from you. When you spoke with the assistant manager she states you could not identify what time of day you called or who you spoke with about the cancellation. We do have a cancellation policy as do all hotels. We were completely full New Year's Eve and held your room all night long. I'm sorry you felt you were unjustly charged for the no show.

Jeanne Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubberzapp
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a special place with charm and ambiance, not fancy but a beautiful quiet Resort/Timeshare on the ocean. You can enjoy the beach, grill outside right next to the sea, dine at one the best restaurants ever just blocks away and just relax!

Room Tip: This is a off the beaten path place so they have larger high end suites available if you are willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for your review, glad you like the Driftwood!!

Jeanne Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Driftwood Resort in Vero Beach for a week in Mid December. The resort was a pleasant surprise. It is very rustically built using Driftwood. The rooms are very nicely appointed and the beds were really comfortable.

Our room was right above the pool and had two double beds, one up in a loft area. Nice kitchen, everything you need to store food, cook and eat from the rooms if you so desire. Great lounge to relax in with cable TV etc.

The pool was heated and clean and the beach was a short walk down the steps. Nice sand for the kids to play in. The tide does come almost up to the sea wall of the hotel, so when the tide is in, there is not really an option to go out onto the beach for a couple of hours.

The on-site restaurant serves good food and there is a bar on site with all the normal offerings. There are also several restaurants right across the street, from casual to nice dining. Plenty of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner all in close walking distance.

For the shoppers, the local outlet stores are 20 minutes away from the resort with all the big name stores.

A really nice, easy going place to spend a week, close beach, close food etc.

Recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had read the reviews and weren't sure what to expect, but we enjoyed our stay at the Driftwood. We had a room over the pool deck that walked right out to the pool area- there was a loft with another bed over the kitchen. That being said, our room did have a distinct musty and/or mildew smell that was less than pleasant, and the cleaning could be improved upon. But, there were no huge issues with our room. It has a funky beach vibe to it. The room's location was great and the view was nice. The bed was only a queen, but was actually pretty comfortable. We didn't use the kitchenette at all, but we could see how someone would like to have that if staying for a longer period of time. Overall we thought it was a fun place to stay if your expectations are where they should be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights. Our unit was an ocean villa but over looked the band stand & courtyard. Check-in was easy and quick. we were given a schedule of events and when trash & linens would be picked up. 1 of our nights was New Years Eve and our balcony over looked the bandstand. The band was great! We had our own little party on the balcony. Another night we bought some steaks from a local store and grilled them on 1 of their very clean grills. The room has plates,silverwear,coffe machine,blender,cups,glasses and an electric skillet. The squirrels that run all over the place are very friendly. The only complaint was the very thin pillows.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.