We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, great service, decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wave Kitchen and Bar

The Wave Kitchen and Bar
3244 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
(772)410-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wave Kitchen and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 265 restaurants in Vero Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bouganvillia Lane
Description: ~Simple, Savory, Seaside~ The Wave Kitchen & Bar, offers an ocean-front dining space with amazing views of the Atlantic. The restaurant offers a menu directly sourced from local farmers, fishermen and artisanal purveyors. The Wave concept was designed to offer a dining experience similar to what one would encounter at a hospitable and cozy dinner party at a friend’s home with generous attention to detail. The open kitchen and customizable selections aim to engage guests.The Wave will also feature select Cuban specialties developed by Costa’s owners,Emilio and Gloria Estefan,form their Estefan Kitchen cookbook.
Sandy, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great service, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our waiter was one of the best waiters we've ever had anywhere (don't remember his name, but he had a shaved head). The atmosphere was very modern and nice. The food was not amazing, but was good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    63
    34
    16
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not for late night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We went there for a drink after a night at the theater. Bad idea. Bar is very uncomfortable for conversation. Service is so do. Being a Cuban restaurant we wrongly expected a late (10pm) night bar menu. To say something nice.......the valet service was a nice touch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eat outside on the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Enjoyed the South Beach ambience here in Vero Beach. On a beautiful sunny day, get a table around the pool. Food was good and loved their virgin mojito!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake mary, fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food in Vero Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We dined the first night in the restaurant at the hotel "The Wave." We should have dined there both nights. The food and service were wonderful. The menu was quite varied and enticing. We ordered the trio of ceviche with a tuna, a lobster, and a calamari ceviche. They were all amazingly fresh and had their own unique flavor. These were so good we ordered them again the next day at the pool. The portions are really great and they are served with their own plantain sticks (like long plantain chips). Perfect for this appetizer. For dinner my husband ordered the whole cooked fish. The presentation was really something with the entire fish poised on the plate. He loved it, said it was cooked very well and had a good structure so you did not run in to any stray bones. I ordered the Shrimp Cuban Scampi with pasta; the chorizo was overflowing, the shrimp were cooked beautifully, and the wide Pappardelle pasta and lite sauce were a perfect compliment. For dessert we had the Bómbon Cubano; a flourless chocolate cake, with a liquid ganache center with tres leches ice cream. Yum! Our dinner there was topped off with fantastic latin music played by a guitarist and one other accompaniment. There music was spectacular, his voice was tremendous, and it made the entire evening even more romantic.
We also had breakfast at the hotel Sunday morning; again, amazing value and wonderful food. I had the Wave Omelet; it was delicious!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Cuban Cuisine? Hardly authentic in my opinion.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were in Vero Beach visiting relatives and happened to be shopping nearby when this place was recommended for lunch by a shop owner across the street. We were told that the menu was Cubano and that the owner of Costa d Este Resort was Gloria Estefan. So we walked across the street and the front of the resort was impressive with the large cascading waterfall. After that point we were no longer amazed or impressed. The resort seems very upscale (as most places are along the Florida ocean front). The restaurant was inside with a view of the pool and the ocean beyond that. The decor is very modern and I suppose "classy" in a loose sense of the word. Our view from the table by the window was of several overweight guests standing in the pool imbibing of drinks and being served a steady stream of hor' douerves by an attentive server. There were a couple bratty kids by the pool as well, crying and throwing fits while their mother tried to ignore them.
I ordered an entree of shredded beef in creole sauce with rice and fried plantains. The flavor was definately NOT the Cubano food I have had at other places. It seems they tone down the spice severely for delicate palates of guests, the food is pretty bland tasting. I would recommend passing this place by as nothing is really interesting about it other than the waterfall outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wave Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Wave Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wave Kitchen and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;