We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere, good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilted Mermaid

Kilted Mermaid
1937 Old Dixie Highway, Vero Beach, FL 32960
772-569-5533
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 257 restaurants in Vero Beach
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went with a group . . . everyone was pleased with their selections! Friendly service, good menu choices, something to please everyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    30
    24
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Funky fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant because of the reviews, we did not expect more than bar food, so it was a pleasant surprise to find "crab fondue" and it was delicious! The atmosphere was great, live music (the performer was very good) and nice people around. Strongly recommended if you are in town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Eclectic fun and good food, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Glad I checked the menu online for this place. It's what brought us in. Located near downtown, the Kilted Mermaid is a small pub. The decor is dark and somewhat whimsical with interesting lighting and decorative mermaids all over.
We knew when we walked in that we were going to order the fondue but we had to decide which flavor. We decided on the spinach and artichoke mixed with fontina and havarti cheese. The fondue was light with subtle flavors and was served with a plate overflowing with bread pieces and a wide variety of veggies. We also opted to get the meat skewers combo. The menu said the fondue is for two people and the portion size was just right for my friend and me.
Of course, we made sure to save room for dessert -- chocolate fondue. It was delicious and our meal was considerably less than a certain chain of fondue restaurants I know.
The servers were friendly and fun. We asked to move further away from the band before it started playing and they were happy to accommodate. They suggested we enjoy dessert in the "couch room" in the back and we did.
We were told the restaurant is frequented by locals and I plan to join them on my next visit to Vero Beach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Not for everyone; but if you're one that enjoys a fun atmosphere; great selection of beer; good service and a lighter meal the Kilted Mermaid is worth trying.

Waitstaff was outstanding; both owners on site and the woman with a 18 inch tattoo of a mermaid on her back and partner walking around wearing a kilt...that might give a flavor of the joint.

Food included good salad, fondu and hearty sandwich. Chased down with a chocolate stout.

The night we had dinner was open mic....some very good local talent.

Not for all but if you are looking for a fun night out....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hip Downtown Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved this eclectic restaurant. Sat outside and listened to a great music track while enjoying local beer from an impressive beer list. Server was fun and attentive. High end pub food with a unique menu. We really enjoyed the chicken curry potpie and the spinach artichoke fondue. Fun place to hang out with friends.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilted Mermaid also viewed

 

Been to Kilted Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilted Mermaid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.