We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world decor, very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante di Mare

Ristorante di Mare
1517 South Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL
+1 772-234-2809
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante di Mare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 264 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: New Restaurant that replaced Te Amo Sempre in Vero Beach
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old world decor, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We weren't wowed by the decor--a bit old world for my tastes. But the four meals we were served were all excellent. Would definitely go back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    43
    11
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
“Fine Dining in Vero Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Vistited DiMare recently on a weekday. Me and a friend had a 7:00 reservation and were seated promptly at a nice table by the window. We started out with two Grey Goose martinis and an appetizer of fried calamari. The calamari were very tender and the sauce was outstanding..slightly spicy. The two drinks were very cold and dry as requested. For entrees my friend had the special Veal Chop(medium) and I the fresh triggerfish(catch of the day) served in parchment paper tableside. A very nice size chop! The fish was fresh and the rice and vegatable sides went well with dinner. Our server suggested the bread pudding for dessert which we enjoyed with 2 espresso coffees. The service was friendly and very attentive. An exceptional fine dining experience which we will repeat soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Me and my wife had dinner in Di Mare restaurant few days ago. It was a busy Saturday night. When we got there around 7.30 place was full. Our waitress was very nice, brought us drinks right away and gave us just enough time to look at the menus and enjoy life music before returning to take an order. My wife ordered risotto di mare which was absolutely fantastic and I ate an excellent filet mignon. Even though place was full we didn't have to wait long for our meals. The owner came to the table to check if everything was alright and had a short talk with us. They really do everything to make sure customers are satisfied with their dining experience. We had a great time and will definitively recommend it to our friends and come back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food we got was very good, Maitre d' belongs in a job at the DMV”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The WORST dining experience of all time for both my wife and I. With a dining history consisting of many countries, cites, and rural settings, this was the worst in 40-50 years. In fairness, it was the service or complete lack thereof that made our evening difficult to believe. At first, our waiter was a buffoon, forgetting our order for a bottle of wine. The wine's vintage ended up being one NOT on the menu so who knows if this was intentional or not because when the Maitre d' (Chef's Wife) explained that "older was obviously better" and that she had no control over what the wine distributor delivered. There was even a red type caveat about this printed in the menu. But then it got worse.....the waiter disappeared!!! For 20-30 minutes there was no wait staff who visited the table to remove a plate, water, pour wine, etc. I finally got up and walked to the reception area and asked the hostess where our waiter could be. She replied "he was fired"! So when was he fired? Not sure, but no one felt it was important enough to visit the tables assigned to the fired waiter. Then it got worse. The Chef's wife (Maitre d' ) came to our table and arrogantly attempted to explain how we should be more understanding of these problems. I assume she was referring to being ignored for 20-30 minutes. This woman is capable of ruining any fine dining experience. She belongs in the DMV where ignorance, arrogance, and rudeness are expected. NOT in the restaurant business!!. The wine was good, the entree was good. We paid full price sans tip for the fired waiter. The Maitre d' offered to comp a Side Salad that never arrived, and later a piece of Key Lime pie. I was curious if she would comp the wine or an entree but that never occurred to her. At this point it was time to leave and end the experience. Which we did. We will never return. Oh, and I've been kind in writing this.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Dinner was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere romantic and fun. I had the fresh fish (Snapper) with a red/green/yellow pepper sauce, mixed vegetables and jasmine rice which was incredibly out of this world. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante di Mare also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante di Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.