We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TooJay's

TooJay's
555 21st Street, Vero Beach, FL 32960
772-569-6070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 266 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A typical NY style deli with a takeout counter in the front (pastry, cakes, pies, salads, breads and much more). Lines at lunch and dinner that usually move fast. The pastrami is not Carnegie Deli, but still very good. Love the homemade rye bread, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Like Denny's but with a Deli!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A mainstay in Vero Beach. Normally there for a Sunday morning breakfast, which is normally excellent. This was a 'quick pick' dinner. Menu was good and staff was well geared in customer service. Dinner was not sensational but well above average. I have never had a bad meal at TooJay's. Vero has many wonderful restaurants ... 'if you cannot make up your mind .... make iot TooJay's.'

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Popular place with good breakfast and lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a good place to eat, with a choice for everyone. We went for lunch at 11:30 and were seated immediately, but within 15 minutes the place was packed. I had a very good chicken noodle soup, which alas was not as hot as it should have been. The server was very remorseful. I also had a good chicken salad sandwich. My wife had a pastrami on rye..also very good. Sides of cole slaw and dill pickles were also good.

There is a full breakfast menu all day. Breakfast is very popular here, and looked wonderful. Must try it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast and will go back for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The breakfast place we were going to was not open and we met people at the closed restaurant who recommend TooJay's and we followed them to TooJay's. The service was excellent and for a deli the breakfast was very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beware if you have children!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

On numerous occasions there has been one waitress (older lady, short hair) that consistently insists on trying to kiss, hold, feed, hug and just touch our child. We have spoken to management, nothing has been done. We have spoken to her, nothing has been done. It is disgusting! Keep your germs to yourself!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TooJay's also viewed

 

Been to TooJay's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TooJay's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.