We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy restaurant with piano player” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Nights

Havana Nights
1601 Ocean Dr., Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel, Vero Beach, FL 32963
772-231-7299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 265 restaurants in Vero Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jasmine Lane
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with piano player”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Loved the interior of the restaurant with the live music. Small and intimate setting with nice bar. Food was fantastic and came from Maison's downstairs. Great place to eat, especially if you are staying at the hotel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    50
    15
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“On a warm evening, the rooftop is the place to be...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

They usually have what I call lounge style jazz on the weekends. The South Beach area is still largely residential and Havana nights has a local feel to it. Not touristy.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“With a name like Havana...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was expecting Cuban flavor... unfortunately, other than the "Visit Cuba" poster hanging on the wall, we didn't get any of the Havana character that we were expecting. The decor was lovely with cushioned private booths and comfortable tables. The decor is very tropical... very Caribbean. My husband asked for a mojito, and it was to be quite blunt... pretty bad (bitter, not sweet). My drink, a mixture of rum, pineapple and orange juice, was just average. We were hoping to sample some tapas, but were told they would not be available until later in the month and were instead offered a set menu from "Maison Martinique", the French restaurant also located at the hotel. Although the restaurant has pretty good reviews, we thought our dishes (crab for me and chicken francese for my husband) were also just average. Not bad, but not worth raving about either.

Most disappointing of all was the music at the piano bar... jazzy blues and top-40 - all good, and many of the patrons seemed to enjoy it, but it wasn't what we were expecting.

We frequented the bar the following night, and because we already knew what to expect, we enjoyed it more... we had Irish coffees and those were quite good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Executive lunch worth climbing the corporate ladder for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Well, in generally tourist priced Vero Beach this came as a welcome surprise! Granted, we ordered the executive lunch which is their specially priced pris fix menu available only for lunch. Regardless, where in any town coastal or otherwise can you get a drink, truly delicate gourmet salad with a delicate complex dressing, appetizer--exceptional shrimp ceviche from the largest, sweetest and freshest shrimp, melt in your mouth palomillo steak with rice, perfectly boiled and seasoned baby potatoes and two excellent vegetables and a dessert for $12.00 all inclusive?!! Probably the biggest letdown is the atmosphere, unmarked by any distinctive mark of character. That said, this place is a remarkably nice nook in which to take respite from the noon time sun. Definitely will return when opportunity presents itself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Serenity Now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Lunch at Havana Nights is a little piece of heaven! The booths are cozy and comfy, the food is delicious, and the wait staff accommodating and helpful. If you are lucky, you can get Tyler to play a piece by his favorite Japanese composer on the piano. But be sure to give him a nice tip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Nights also viewed

 

Been to Havana Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.