We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good but slightly off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides

The Tides
3103 Cardinal Drive, Vero Beach, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 258 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“very good but slightly off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was there a few months ago and had last been there a year ago with my parents.. The service was flawless.. my cosmo was a disappointment, I do a better one than they did.. My Dad and I had fish which was wonderful. However, my Mom was most interested in the special they had, a pork chop. She asked our server about it and was told it "was flavorful and very juicy and moist". Sadly, it was neither of those. It was dry and tasteless. My mother was really disappointed and is never one to send meals back (unlike her daughter!) For the price of her meal, it was enough to make me think twice about going back next time I visit my folks. A year ago it was much much better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    53
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Multiple Appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My daugther and I arrived late without a reservation, around 8:30pm, and we were seated on the covered patio. It made for a relaxing and lengthy dining experience. The menu's first page had about a dozen appetizer selections and we couldn't make it past page one. So we ordered four appetizers to share and loved everyone of them. All seafood options, of course. We couldn't refuse the dessert tray, either, with the trio of creme brulee flavors. We were the last guests to leave the restaurant, but the servers did not seem to care as we waddled back to the hotel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expected better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been dining at The Tides restaurant for the past few years. Our server, Wendy, was phenomenal and very personable. She, along, with Kenny, are the best servers in the house. Now, on to the food...the salmon on the early bird was rather fishy-tasting. The side sauce was almost flavorless. My husband's chicken dinner was very good, but a bit on the salty side. The wedge was just so-so, not great. The Caesar's salad had a very light dressing which made for a good flavor. The drinks were excellent, they really do give you a great pour on the wine and liquor. We will try this place again; however, we will be ordering different entrees.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
223 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Value is very good - if you are seated by 5:30 PM during the week.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The Tides offers early bird specials including salads. Two of us ordered Scottish salmon - excellent. But not a thing on the plate except for the salmon. The men ordered the pork loin which came with veggies and a scoop of mashed potatoes. They were all the same price. I found that curious. Fortunately there was plenty of bread & butter on the table. Service was excellent. The dinners were $15 - order before 5:30 though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girl friend and I had a really great meal at Tides. The food was spectacular and the service was top notch too.

We sat on the side in the open air. The night was cool and the stars were out. Just perfect.

The wait staff suggested a great wine. Not too pricey and very tasty. The appetizer, dinner was so good that for desert I got a special treat. My girl friend is now my fiancee!

Like I said .... a perfect night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.