We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort on the Ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added The Reef Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Reef Ocean Resort
3450 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Hayward, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Resort on the Ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had an "Oceanside", one bedroom, unit that was so close to the ocean that you could toss a pebble underhand into the water. The pool and pool area was neat and clean and the hot tub was the same. There is a 2-hole mini putting green and two shuffleboard courts. A small tennis court is available to use, but would only be good for a friendly volley. On the tennis court is a basketball backboard and rim for a shoot around.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. They had a "free" hot dog roast (you bring a dish to pass) for lunch one day during our stay. Another day they had an ice cream sundae social where we received a huge sundae with all the toppings for a $1 donation. We enjoyed a wonderful week and will return.

Room Tip: If renting - ask for an Oceanside (lower) unit. It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am currently at the Reef Ocean sitting on the balcony looking at the ocean. The place is amazing. I see bad reviews and i am confused. Yes the place is alittle dated but the friendly clean environment makes it worth it. We are early risers and the maintenance that is done when no one is watching is what matters the most. Every morning they are cleaning the pool area and i mean cleaning. They vacuum, skim, spray down the tables and chairs everything. We had a problem with our sliding glass door not locking properly, it was fixed in 5 minutes. No questions asked, the lady at the front was truly concerned about something being broken. Bobby'e restaurant - i have yet to see the loud noise people speak of. It is very quiet here in general. Everyone is super friendly and considerate of other quests. Every week they have a meeting with the managers and everyone is invited, that to me shows that the owners/visitors come first. The comments about the room sizes, yes they are a bit small but more than adequate. You are on vacation you are suppose to use the room for showers and sleeping.They have a night time security guard that walks around checking the area, i asked myself why do we need a security guard. Then i realized that they do things here just because it makes sense. The extra cleaning and extra security makes theirs guests happy and feeling safe. I can continue to write more but this would turn into a novel, the place is amazing and we will be returning. We are not owners, we transferred through Diamond Resorts. The only concern that i do have is when you check in receive a booklet, and in the booklet it has a "Neighbor list" for the week were it lists your name and home town. At first you think that's nice to have a list of names but then you think if someone gets a hold of that, they now have your name and home town so with quick Google search they can be on your porch. So next time i will request my home town be left off the list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were looking for a lower price room in Vero Beach but were not able to find anything... but then we asked at the reception and were surprised by their low rates... first we though there must be something wrong... but there wasen't! We stayed in a new looking small studio (including great kitchen and huge fridge). The bed was comfortable and the big mirrors on almost every wall make the room look bigger then it was. Just one thing... don't expect a "resort"... it's just written in the hotel title... not in reality...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Locating and booking accommodation on the internet is a bit of a dart toss. Sometimes you score a triple 20, sometimes you miss the board altogether. We didn't book Reef Ocean Resort on the internet, but we still consider it consider our week there a triple 20, as we found it after the place we did book on line turned out to be one of the "missed the board by a mile" kind of places. So, as walk-ups, we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff (especially Debbie) who found a way to accommodate us for six nights. And for the next few days we enjoyed what everyone else has enjoyed about the resort (proximity to the beach, nearby restaurants, quiet, and cleanliness) and experienced none of the problems encountered by others in terms of noise, parking, etc. Vero Beach is positively and accurately described in other reviews, so we feel fortunate to have come across the Reef and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were here for a week ending December 8, 2012. The first thing you need to know is it is not a resort. The decor is something out of the 70's. There are no amenities unless you consider Bobby's restaurant who fills the air with smoke and whose drunk patrons wake you at midnight. Don't bother complaining to the management; Bobby's pays them $150,000 a year rent, so they look the other way.

They had construction going on all week which they never reported to our time share company or us. The first morning we were greeted from our sleep by the wall vibrating from their construction. When I complained to the front desk they told me I could find another place. The manager claimed it would not be a further issue; wrong, it continued all week. When I told the manager I was told I guess it wasn't my week. When I went to the front desk I was told "some people can take it, others can't." Unless you want to pay to be abused find another place along the strip there are better places to stay for equal or lower cost.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We just came back yesterday from a week at Ocean Reef. We own a timeshare there but I doubt we'll be back. The apartment was cramped but our big family is used to that. My biggest complaint is about the ants. We had to put all our food in the fridge to keep them away. One night as we ate dinner the ants got into our leftovers. It was gross. We complained but nothing was done. The beach is not very pleasant but the pool area was lovely. The wifi was spotty at best which was a disappointment since I needed it to work. The other vacationers were super nice, though, which made it a fun atmosphere for our family.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My family enjoyed staying at this small resort through an Interval exchange. Even though this is an older property and fairly small (60 rooms?) we had a great vacation. Some reviewers complained about parking, but we had no problems. We received a parking permit when we checked in and displayed it on the dashboard. Some rooms have older, non-HDTVs but I guess that just encourages you to spend more time on the beach! There were only a few resort-sponsored activities during the week. Families with small children should know that there is no kiddie pool. The one pool has a deep end of 9 feet and a shallow end of 4 feet. The manager talked about plans to upgrade all rooms to HDTV and to add more activities. If you want to stay a few feet from the beach and just relax, this is the place. If you were any closer to the ocean, you'd be sleeping with the fishes!

Room Tip: There are a few "beach-front" rooms and a few "beach-view" rooms. The other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Ocean Resort

Address: 3450 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vero Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Reef Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Ocean Hotel Vero Beach
Reef Ocean Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.