We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added The Reef Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Reef Ocean Resort
3450 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Newport RI
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The resort is located in a wondrful area, right on the beach, a short walk to many great places to eat and drink. It is clean, the staff is helpful and we would certainly stay there again. It is a simple place, not full of fancy extras but a solid value. .

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

The Reef is located on the beach. It's less then 20 feet from my door to the beautiful white sands of Vero Beach. If your looking for waterfront rooms, you'll find it here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom, oceanside, second floor unit.

The best thing about Ocean Reef is the location!!!!! The ocean front location was wonderful. The actual units are well kept, with many ground keeper types staff present and available. The decor in the unit is somewhat dated, but I was willing to overlook that because the unit was clean and like I said, the location was wonderful.

I have come to appreciate staying in a smaller complex rather than a large resort type accommodation. It is quieter, has easier parking, friendlier, and the best thing......the units are only two stories, so we never had to enter a high rise and wait for an elevator and tote our beach gear up and down and all around. I could leave our room and be at the pool in 30-45 seconds! We never had to scramble for a chair by the pool either! Some places I have stayed involve a lot of strategy to get a lounge chair!

I can say that the one bedroom unit really is meant for two people. I can not imagine having more than two. The bed was comfortable.

Vero Beach itself was great.....peaceful, quiet, nice people. Not much traffic. Could walk from Reef Ocean to several restaurants, etc. Some days we didn't even drive anywhere.

This is a great place for couples.

The only thing I could suggest is that it would be nice for the property to provide chairs on the beach. Since many people use air travel to get to Florida, it is impossible to bring chairs/etc along. There were no chairs during our week long stay.

Overall, I liked it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We swapped to this hotel with Interval . This hotel is motel type 2-3 star , disappointed with the hotel decor and the other hotel guests. Lot's of smokers .. not nice.. The property itself is clean and neat, good location close to the beach . nice grounds . The decoration is stale 80's style /colors.. not 4 star at all . Service was good, friendly staff .
I would not return this hotel but would visit Vero Beach again .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I traded a timeshare week with Interval and, because I procrastinated at booking somewhere I was left with finding a place before the end of September. We picked this spot because we had never been to Vero before and it seemed to have (from the info. available from Interval) everything we needed. It did! When we got there, we had been assigned an upstairs room. Because of my husbands disability (I had never been to a resort without elevators) I knew he'd never be able to manage the steps nor carry up our luggage, etc. The woman at the front desk was great. She found us a first floor room. Only problem was it was right next door to the office. Well, beggars can't be choosers so we took it thinking the noise and traffic would keep us up all night - wrong! They must roll up the sidewalks at night because there was no problem. Not an ideal spot for a room but it had everything you could possibly want - full kitchen. Room was very clean and well maintained even if it's not fancy. The decor is beachy on a budget. We really don't care about that. Yes, space was tight but it was just 2 of us. The bed was comfortable. There were plenty of towels but few amenities (just soap) but I bring my own stuff anyway as do most folks. The pool was nicely maintained and just around back toward the beach. We had company for a day and the people in the office were exceptionally nice and helpful in giving us a parking pass for my cousins car. We will definitely be back - I liked their laid back feel of this place. My cousin thought it was a great place to take the family for a long weekend (he lives about 50 miles away). My rating of Excellent is for the fact that this place is clean, comfortable, friendly and convenient to the beach at a great price. No, it doesn't compare with the high priced place but for what you get it was great.

On a separate note. I take exception when someone writes a review who does so only to complain about being towed. This forum is for honestly reviewing a resort including the rooms, your stay here, etc. Ok, so you parked and went for a stroll before dinner. Can't you read the signs? Your car was towed because you choose to park and go elsewhere before dinner. Get over it. Next time go in the office and explain the situation - you have a 45 minute wait for dinner and are going to take a stroll. The office folks are not rude, they are nice and friendly and very helpful. They would have probably been fine with that and you wouldn't have been towed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

stayed here w family had 3 diff units , staff was very helpful getting us all to our rooms.staff even helped get parking stickers for our guests . we had a nice family reunion at the outdoor BBQ area. the BBQ area has a several tables , electricity and a sink to use , the resort will even provide cooking utensils for the charcoal grills. the rooms had full size fridge, microwaves, stove n oven. they provided everything u need (pots plates etc) even tell u if need blenders, mixers etc just ask the front desk. room had nice bed and the pull out sofa bed was even nice (sofa matteress was thick n comfortable for adults).had room safe avail. plenty of towels, nice housekeepers. resort really is oceanfront can walk right out to ocean, pool n hot tub nice. security officers walk the property after night . price is right compared to surrounding hotels (considering this place offers full kitchens) we have stayed in several other hotels in vero and this place is great

Room Tip: they have oceanfront rooms but the oceanview rooms give you just as great of a view and are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This Business will tow your Vehicle.. Be Aware They are also in the same plaza as Bobbys Restruant which is amazing the staff and food is great at bobbys my family has been going to Bobbys for over 20 years. never had any problems untill earlier tonight when our car was towed by the Reef Ocean Resort, According to them we were not doing business in the plaza. (we were eating dinner at bobbys) and our car was towed. when we left bobbys and relized our car was towed the manager of Reef Ocean Resort had aleady gone home and he could not help us untill the morning and the tow yard was already closed. we were told we could not pick our car up untill the next morning.. The staff of Reef Ocean REsort were rude and did not care what we had to say or that we were at bobbys eating dinner when they towed our car. the tow yard says they do this to customers all the time and that the manager told us we would be towed if we did not move our vehicle which he did not.

Room Tip: Stay next door at Vero beach resort...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefocean, Manager at The Reef Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We have a small parking lot for Reef and Bobbys customers when you park and do not go to Bobbys but walk next door as observed by Bobbys/Reef parking atttendant to the neighboring restaurant we are to tow your car. We do wait 15 mins or so before we call the tow company then usually another 15-20 for the tow truck to arrive. If after leaving the neighboring business you decide to eat at Bobbys we are sorry but we are unable to keep track of your evenings activities and know that you ended up at Bobbys. Once you go next door you are in parking violation as per our 4 parking signs posted at all entrance/exits. We are sorry for all those who eat, work or stay next door but we cannot accomadate there clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Ocean Resort

Also Known As:
The Reef Ocean Hotel Vero Beach
The Reef Ocean Hotel
Reef Ocean Resort
Address: 3450 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Reef Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.