We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Swapper” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added The Reef Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Reef Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3450 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed Swapper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We swapped to this hotel with Interval . This hotel is motel type 2-3 star , disappointed with the hotel decor and the other hotel guests. Lot's of smokers .. not nice.. The property itself is clean and neat, good location close to the beach . nice grounds . The decoration is stale 80's style /colors.. not 4 star at all . Service was good, friendly staff .
I would not return this hotel but would visit Vero Beach again .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I traded a timeshare week with Interval and, because I procrastinated at booking somewhere I was left with finding a place before the end of September. We picked this spot because we had never been to Vero before and it seemed to have (from the info. available from Interval) everything we needed. It did! When we got there, we had been assigned an upstairs room. Because of my husbands disability (I had never been to a resort without elevators) I knew he'd never be able to manage the steps nor carry up our luggage, etc. The woman at the front desk was great. She found us a first floor room. Only problem was it was right next door to the office. Well, beggars can't be choosers so we took it thinking the noise and traffic would keep us up all night - wrong! They must roll up the sidewalks at night because there was no problem. Not an ideal spot for a room but it had everything you could possibly want - full kitchen. Room was very clean and well maintained even if it's not fancy. The decor is beachy on a budget. We really don't care about that. Yes, space was tight but it was just 2 of us. The bed was comfortable. There were plenty of towels but few amenities (just soap) but I bring my own stuff anyway as do most folks. The pool was nicely maintained and just around back toward the beach. We had company for a day and the people in the office were exceptionally nice and helpful in giving us a parking pass for my cousins car. We will definitely be back - I liked their laid back feel of this place. My cousin thought it was a great place to take the family for a long weekend (he lives about 50 miles away). My rating of Excellent is for the fact that this place is clean, comfortable, friendly and convenient to the beach at a great price. No, it doesn't compare with the high priced place but for what you get it was great.

On a separate note. I take exception when someone writes a review who does so only to complain about being towed. This forum is for honestly reviewing a resort including the rooms, your stay here, etc. Ok, so you parked and went for a stroll before dinner. Can't you read the signs? Your car was towed because you choose to park and go elsewhere before dinner. Get over it. Next time go in the office and explain the situation - you have a 45 minute wait for dinner and are going to take a stroll. The office folks are not rude, they are nice and friendly and very helpful. They would have probably been fine with that and you wouldn't have been towed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

stayed here w family had 3 diff units , staff was very helpful getting us all to our rooms.staff even helped get parking stickers for our guests . we had a nice family reunion at the outdoor BBQ area. the BBQ area has a several tables , electricity and a sink to use , the resort will even provide cooking utensils for the charcoal grills. the rooms had full size fridge, microwaves, stove n oven. they provided everything u need (pots plates etc) even tell u if need blenders, mixers etc just ask the front desk. room had nice bed and the pull out sofa bed was even nice (sofa matteress was thick n comfortable for adults).had room safe avail. plenty of towels, nice housekeepers. resort really is oceanfront can walk right out to ocean, pool n hot tub nice. security officers walk the property after night . price is right compared to surrounding hotels (considering this place offers full kitchens) we have stayed in several other hotels in vero and this place is great

Room Tip: they have oceanfront rooms but the oceanview rooms give you just as great of a view and are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This Business will tow your Vehicle.. Be Aware They are also in the same plaza as Bobbys Restruant which is amazing the staff and food is great at bobbys my family has been going to Bobbys for over 20 years. never had any problems untill earlier tonight when our car was towed by the Reef Ocean Resort, According to them we were not doing business in the plaza. (we were eating dinner at bobbys) and our car was towed. when we left bobbys and relized our car was towed the manager of Reef Ocean Resort had aleady gone home and he could not help us untill the morning and the tow yard was already closed. we were told we could not pick our car up untill the next morning.. The staff of Reef Ocean REsort were rude and did not care what we had to say or that we were at bobbys eating dinner when they towed our car. the tow yard says they do this to customers all the time and that the manager told us we would be towed if we did not move our vehicle which he did not.

Room Tip: Stay next door at Vero beach resort...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefocean, Manager at The Reef Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We have a small parking lot for Reef and Bobbys customers when you park and do not go to Bobbys but walk next door as observed by Bobbys/Reef parking atttendant to the neighboring restaurant we are to tow your car. We do wait 15 mins or so before we call the tow company then usually another 15-20 for the tow truck to arrive. If after leaving the neighboring business you decide to eat at Bobbys we are sorry but we are unable to keep track of your evenings activities and know that you ended up at Bobbys. Once you go next door you are in parking violation as per our 4 parking signs posted at all entrance/exits. We are sorry for all those who eat, work or stay next door but we cannot accomadate there clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We loved Vero Beach. Unlike most Florida beaches this one is not over commercialized and is not loaded with t-shirt stores, souveniers, bars and the other stuff you would find in many other Florida Beaches. There are some classy shops (mostly higher end items), but not too many.

Reef Ocean Resort is probably the smallest places we saw over here, but it is very nice. We had an ocean front, 1 bedroom, it was very clean and comfortable. It was on the second story and had an amazing view literally stops from the beach. We booked through the Armed Forces Vacation club, and didn't know what to expect, but were very surprised. The beach was great, the resort is also great with friendly people (mostly timeshare owners). Pool is lovely and it has a hot tub. The beach is amazing, not many people, lots of great walks and there is nothing better than listening to the surf as you sleep. It is connected to Bobby's restaurant, which is a pretty good place to eat and you wan walk to another half dozen restaurants within a few blocks. Overall, very pleased, especially happy that we were ocean front. My only negative comments were they need to add wireless (it is wired DSL, but they give you a very short 5 ft network cord, so you can't sit out on the balcony, by the pool, etc), not a big deal for me since I had a verizon air card. Also, the tv's are dated. 20" standard CRT in the living room and a 13" (maybe smaller) in the bedrooom - smallest TV I have seen in about 20 years. They are both old, need to get with the times and put in flat screens. Overall, I would highly recommend Reef Ocean Resort to anyone, it was a wonderful vacation on an incredibly beautiful beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We traded our two bed/two & half bath/ red time unit through RCI for a one bed/ one bath/ full kitchen unit which was all they had available. Up on our arrival, we found the unit was a second floor unit with very steep, narrow and flimsy stairs. My wife is disabled yet she can handle most single flight stairs with a landing. These stairs were very steep and only lit by a rope light tacked to the railing. When we opened the door, we were amazed at the lack of space. Two people might be able to stand together in what was called the kitchen/dining room/living room. The room was dark, minimal windows, and very unpleasant. After a very hazardous decent down the stairs, we asked to be shifted to a first floor room due to my wife's disability. We were told the only other unit was an efficiency unit, which was smaller than the front room of the other unit. We asked for another first floor unit which was ADA accessible. They said they had none and since they were a 'fixed" timeshare only the units made available to RCI guests are those which are provided by the owners. Of course if we wanted to rent a unit for the full weekly price they could do that! Needless to say, we left this place after about two hours of trying to deal with the people at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefocean, asst manager at The Reef Ocean Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We have had the ADA come in the see if we had to remodel. The ADA laws reads " if feasible" but found that we cannot remodel it is not feasible due to fixed timeshare. Being a fixed timeshare we do not have the right to use an owners unit downstairs or up to accomodate a disapility even if that unit is unoccupied, not without that owners permission. We do have a high rating with RCI and II and owners of larger units 2/bed, 2/bath elsewhere are advised of the smaller units here at the Reef but most exchangers and renters do not mind the smaller room to be steps away from the ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

In 10 years of trading the timeshare week I own here, I'd never stayed till now. Check in was easy and the studio was immaculately clean but hot. You won't be in the room much since the beach is a stone's throw away (not in view), which is good because they've crammed a full kitchen (oven/range,fridge,microwave,sink, and cabinets/drawers), dinette, queen bed, queen sleeper sofa, and bathroom into about 400 square feet. Ikea fans will love it, but this Florida gal loved that they kept the kitschy Florida decor with mirrored walls to make it look bigger. We stayed a whole week and cooked 4/6 nights so far (still here) and made breakfasts and lunches in the room for a break from the sun. We rented a pack-n-play for our 17-month-old and set it up in front of the sleeper sofa, but didn't need the sleeper, luckily. The only problem is there's no wall between the kitchen/sleeper sofa and the bed/dinette set. There's absolutely no privacy if more than 2 people are staying in any of the 300 units (which are all above the office in hotel-type fashion). If you can, choose an efficiency or apartment, which are also only private for 2 people, but at least you have a wall (in apartment but not efficiency) separating the bedroom and a ocean view. These units are the 100s, 200s, 400s, 500s, and 600s and many are for sale through the Reef and through the individual owners.
The beach is quiet (absolutely no loud-crazies at night) and the streets literally close up at night in Vero Beach. There's middle-income neighborhoods in between the beach hotels/resorts/condos and A1A so it's a very safe, family friendly place to stay. I grew up with the crazy Clearwater beach MTV scene, to give you my 36 year old perspective. I highly recommend local coffee shops such as Cravings and Doughboys doughnuts for being open so early in the morning to catch coffee, pastries, and a sunrise with a early-rising toddler!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Ocean Resort

Address: 3450 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vero Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Reef Ocean Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Reef Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Ocean Hotel Vero Beach
Reef Ocean Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.