We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vero Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Islander Inn
Save Saved
You added The Islander Inn to your Saves list
3101 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Arden, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Having spent two weeks on the road working in Florida, my husband and I were headed back north to go home and found ourselves in Vero Beach on Thanksgiving Day. We thought it would be nice to hole up there for a few days and rest before heading home. After being turned down at most places on the strip, we tried The Islander. Mary Jane, who with her husband are the resident managers, was super friendly and welcoming to us. She even offered to share their Thanksgiving meal with us! We were delighted with our old-timey room with king sized bed (one of the problems of searching for a room at the last minute is finding a king bed). The room had a coffee maker, a refrigerator, microwave, even a sink in the small "kitchen area" and a 2-burner hot plate as well. We stocked up on a few supplies at the store located right next door, and hit the beach just across the street. Mary Jane pointed us to Mulligan's, the only restaurant open on Thanksgiving Day, and we had a very good meal there.
We slept well that night but were awakened but some industrial sounding hum. Washing machine? Ice machine? We were in room 17, which apparently shares a wall with some utility room. Nevertheless, we had our coffee and eventually headed on out.
Mary Jane called us into the office.
She had mistakenly double-booked our room and we had to move into a different room. Room 16 has 2 beds rather than a king. No coffee maker. No little hot plate. The remote for the tv didn't work.
She thanked us for being flexible, although we were given the choice only to switch rooms or leave and get a refund for our second night (which we paid on arrival).
The blush was off the rose. The blankets are ripped (were ripped in both rooms) and the a/c is very very loud. I don't know what the humming was but it was annoying. Our second room, room 16, was on the other wall of the utility area.
But worst of all, after we kindly moved our things, Mary Jane suddenly wasn't at all friendly any more. She wouldn't even look at us. I thought she could have at least offered up a coffee maker, but she did not.
So while our visit started out to be wonderful, it ended on a bit of a sour note.
I would like to say The Islander Grill, a tiny restaurant attached to the hotel, had wonderful food and a very charming owner.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Just back from a too-short stay at the Islander Inn. Mary Jane and Doug are the perfect hosts. While this is an older inn, the rooms are well maintained and attractive. The morning coffee is a nice touch and was certainly enjoyed. Everything is within walking distance.

We had Sunday brunch at the Lemon Tree a few doors down - excellent!!! It's a popular place, so we waited a few minutes - worth the wait.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Went with girls friends for a reunion. Got adjoining rooms, one with a small kitchen, which was great to have. The other had a small refridge and microwave oven. Large rooms, Walk to the beach...just across the road. Has a pool. Older privately run motel. Cute decor but tired. The bedspread had rips in it. The a/c had a hard time keeping up with the hot temps. A/C was good at night, but not so good during the day, but we were at the beach. The bathroom was newly renovated and was huge! Great shower!! Good price for the beach. We were looking for location. Parking was on the street. Reunion was just across the street so it worked for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Nice comfortable rooms, great location for Vero Beach and surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I'm a 30 year old female who was there with my boyfriend April 17/18 for a wedding in Vero. This hotel had one of the best rates on the beach. It is not directly on the beach, but is directly across the street from the beach. The exterior of the hotel is not spectacular, but dont be deterred, the room was wonderful. It was a GREAT size, very clean, very homey and the husband and wife who own it are amazing people. It's good for singles, couples and families. I loved it, my boyfriend loved it, a friend who stayed there and her boyfriend loved it- it was a nice personal down home feeling. HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO ALL.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Early in March 2010 I discovered that I needed to make a trip for family business to Vero Beach. It had been over 20 years since I had been to Vero. I quickly researched motels in Vero and based upon TripAdvisor reviews I selected the Islander Inn. I took my daughter and granddaughter with me and booked 2 rooms for 4 nights. We absolutely loved the Islander Inn! The location was great - right on Ocean Blvd. and across the street from the beach. My 13 year old granddaughter could walk to the shops and cafes by herself. The Islander Inn rooms were super clean, the beds firm, the Key West style decor charming, and the owners Mary Jane and Doug super helpful. It was nice to have fridge and micros in our rooms and free coffee available in the morning. It was too cold to go in the pool; however, we did sit outside by the pool and enjoyed the tropical setting. We ended up staying and extra 3 nights ,and had a hard time leaving this gem of a motel. We will stay at the Islander Inn on our next trip to Vero Beach. An added bonus: right next to the Islander Inn is the tiny Island Cafe. We got our food here many times and the fish sandwiches are the best.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Doug and Mary Jane, the resident managers at The Islander Inn, work very hard to make your visit pleasant. Across the street from the ocean, The Islander is a throw back to family run, quaint and clean local hotel/motel. The bathrooms are newly renovated, our room, #21, has a nice kitchen w/ a cooking stove (I made pancakes this morning), fridge and microwave. I hate having to write this next part only because Doug and Mary Jane do work so hard, BUT, one of our rooms, #22, is windowless, dark, and shares the same wall with the little Islander Café, which means you can sometimes smell food and the small bathroom window opens to the café’s sitting area, which is a bit disconcerting, if you know what I mean. Mary Jane says she often sells these two rooms to families like ours who want two adjoining rooms, yet had we known Room #22 was virtually airless (short of the AC), and w/out natural light, we would have asked for one room w/ their big, comfortable beds. And, because it was Easter weekend, there was no other room for us to move. We considered leaving after our first night, but decided to stay because everything else is so nice. Bottom line: we like the Islander. We like the managers, we like the vibe, we like the location, and we like that in our room we had a kitchen. What we don’t like is that no one warned us prior to our long trip that one of our rooms was like an inside room on a cruise ship, which took the blush from this lovely rose.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Inn

Address: 3101 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Vero Beach
Islander Hotel Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;