We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vero Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Islander Inn
3101 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Welland, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Islander is a nice clean quiet reasonably priced motel across the street from the beach.Restaurants, bars and shopping are all within walking distance. It is a little older but very unique. My room had a vaulted ceiling and white wicker furniture.The bathroom has all been redone in beautiful tile. The owners live onsite and are available anytime. They let me bring my bicycle into the room where it would be safe. A very enjoyable place to stay at the beach.

Room Tip: Ground floor by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I booked this as a last minute getaway for our early wedding anniversary celebration. Reservations were easy and kept up to date and informed via my preference, email or phone. The onsite managers were friendly, courteous, professional and warm both over the phone and in person. Rates off-season after Labor Day and before Spring Break are fantastic and definitely worth checking out, regardless of which room type you select (2 queen beds, or 1 king). My wife arrived first for an early evening check-in as I arrived much later that evening returning from business travel.

Our room was perfect and spacious. We opted for a regular, 2 queen bed room as opposed to one of the single King Bed rooms over the office and didn't mind a bit. The room was huge, with a high-angled ceiling, ceiling fan, large bathroom, plenty of windows and blinds on the windows available for every desired amount of privacy. Closet area was ample, and iron/ironing board available upon request came in very handy prior to dinner one evening. The A/C was effective and kept the room comfortable regardless.

The comfortable covered walkway in front of the rooms gave additional shade along with a nicely kept courtyard, landscaping and pool/office area. The pool was clean, well-maintained and comfortable. My wife and I especially enjoyed the small, roofed seating area next the pool while we relaxed reading in between dips in the pool to cool off.

The property is a lovingly restored and updated classic Florida beachside Inn. The beach is just across the street along with a public park and beach access. Vero Beach is a very low-key, locals kind of beach town with lots of wonderful, small shops, galleries, restaurants, and clubs with outstanding quality and great live music for such a small beach town. There's an ice cream parlor immediately next to the Islander Inn along with another one just a short walk away.

We stayed 2 nights. The coffee in the morning was always fresh and the beach always available for a long morning's walk. Every time we visit we find even more to love about Vero Beach, starting with The Islander Inn. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Single King Sized Bed Rooms are available above the office, next to the pool, with a direct beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent a weekend with friends in Vero & stayed at The Islander at their recommedation. It was
perfect for my getaway, great location, great price, easy parking, friendly staff. The room was large, very clean, bright & colorful wlith a small refrigerator & mircowave. The bed gets a A+ for comfort, bathroom clean with good water pressure for a quick shower. Nice pool and just
across the street from the beach.

Greg Dunbar
Key West

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Islander is on A1A in Vero Beach right by a cute strip of shops, across from the Driftwood Resort, and right across from the beach. I stayed in an upstairs room with a king bed that comes complete with a big fridge and other kitchen amenities as well as a very large living space, closet, and bathroom. It had a high ceiling, nice peach/gray summer colors. The pool looked nice, but I went over to the beach. It was clean. The bed wasn't comfortable and the pillow linens were scratchy. I visited friends in a first floor room which didn't feel as nice- perhaps because it was 2 beds which ate up a lot of the space. Definitely recommend a 2nd floor room.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room for higher ceilings and a more spacious feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipman
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The location is WONDERFUL, the owners very nice. The room was just ok, small and front door would not close properly. Bath was very nice, had just been remodeled. Usually stay in nicer rooms, but would stay again, because of nice people and location. There was a park right across the street, which was fun for my small grandsons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windrmere fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

for the price and closeness to the Atlantic,stay here!GET UP AND GO WATCH THE SUNRISE!
yes,sunsets on the west coast of Fl are great,but watch the sun come up and drive across the state and watch it go down in the same day!
great little hotel.close to good restaurants and for desert,a fabulous Kilwin's ice cream shop is next door!
life is good at Vero Beach!

Room Tip: get the second floor room facing south.from the balcony you can see the Atlantic to the left and wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

JUst stay there. Super nice people, great rooms. Across from the beach. Go there. The owners are awesome

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Inn

Address: 3101 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Vero Beach
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Vero Beach
Islander Hotel Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Islander Inn to your Saves list