We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vero Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Islander Inn
Save Saved
You added The Islander Inn to your Saves list
3101 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Key West FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent a weekend with friends in Vero & stayed at The Islander at their recommedation. It was
perfect for my getaway, great location, great price, easy parking, friendly staff. The room was large, very clean, bright & colorful wlith a small refrigerator & mircowave. The bed gets a A+ for comfort, bathroom clean with good water pressure for a quick shower. Nice pool and just
across the street from the beach.

Greg Dunbar
Key West

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Islander is on A1A in Vero Beach right by a cute strip of shops, across from the Driftwood Resort, and right across from the beach. I stayed in an upstairs room with a king bed that comes complete with a big fridge and other kitchen amenities as well as a very large living space, closet, and bathroom. It had a high ceiling, nice peach/gray summer colors. The pool looked nice, but I went over to the beach. It was clean. The bed wasn't comfortable and the pillow linens were scratchy. I visited friends in a first floor room which didn't feel as nice- perhaps because it was 2 beds which ate up a lot of the space. Definitely recommend a 2nd floor room.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room for higher ceilings and a more spacious feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipman
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The location is WONDERFUL, the owners very nice. The room was just ok, small and front door would not close properly. Bath was very nice, had just been remodeled. Usually stay in nicer rooms, but would stay again, because of nice people and location. There was a park right across the street, which was fun for my small grandsons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windrmere fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

for the price and closeness to the Atlantic,stay here!GET UP AND GO WATCH THE SUNRISE!
yes,sunsets on the west coast of Fl are great,but watch the sun come up and drive across the state and watch it go down in the same day!
great little hotel.close to good restaurants and for desert,a fabulous Kilwin's ice cream shop is next door!
life is good at Vero Beach!

Room Tip: get the second floor room facing south.from the balcony you can see the Atlantic to the left and wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

JUst stay there. Super nice people, great rooms. Across from the beach. Go there. The owners are awesome

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest, NJ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I don't like you have an average then you go to very good. This place is good! Not very good but above average for sure. We visited in November 2010 for my nephew's wedding. We stayed 3 or 4 nights and it was clean, the owners were pleasant, the location was terrific right on ocean drive and across the street from the public beaches. Many eateries, shops, etc. I especially liked the ice cream place right across the street (Kill-something) and the NJ taylor ham and egg sandwiches at the little window walk-up in front of the hotel. Great place to grab coffee and breakfast. We loved Waldo's for happy hours and the Lemon Tree for a sit-down breakfast or lunch. The Islander rooms aren't fancy. The pool area is basic but everything was clean and pleasant. It was a good value and just plain good overall. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is only a limited number of rooms; setup motel/cottage style. Any room would be good. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stumbled upon Vero beach, what a lovely place with some fantastic resturant and boutiques!
Originally tried getting a room at the Driftwood Inn but was fully booked as it was bank holiday weekend, busy!
Anyway we managed to get a room at the Islnder Inn, basic rooms but cheap rates so couldnt expect much more.
Rooms were country style decorated and you could tell there was a lot of personal thought in the little things like soaps, etc.
Maybe could do woth a bit better clean and modernising a few things!
The lady/owner seemed very nice at the beginning however very touchy and seemed that she didnt like to be bothered for anything.
Overall, i probably wouldnt stay here again but for just a one night budget stay its fine!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Inn

Address: 3101 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Vero Beach
Islander Hotel Vero Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.