We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The property needs some help” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Vero Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Vero Beach Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Vero Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9250 Island Grove Terrace, Vero Beach, FL 32963-4048   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The property needs some help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I would give Disney Vero Beach a 3.5 rating not 4. This place is in need of a face lift. The rooms are showing their age. We had an ocean view room and that was the best thing about the room.
The TVs in the room are surprisingly small. Not that we are sitting around watching TV while on vacation, but at nearly $200 a night we felt like a decent television would not be too much to ask.
The carpet, bedspreads, mattresses, shower, sink etc... all need replacing. The rooms include a coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave and a toaster. If you don't want to pay a premium price at breakfast at Shutters -- I'd recommend going down to the gift shop and buy some bread and jelly.
My husband and I only ate one meal at the resort and it was lunch at the Green Cabin. He had the fish and chips and I had at Mahi Mahi BLT. The fish was very fresh and that was great and we had good service and meal. I had a Scottish Raspberry Lemon Drop with my meal and my husband had a draw of Yuengling. Total bill was $60 for lunch, which was partly due to the high cost of the drinks. If you want to spend $60 on lunch go somewhere where the locals go(Riverside Cafe) and try the cuisine of the region, and explore Vero Beach instead. Two finds that we stumbled upon while in search of a good lunch was the Penny Hill Beach Emporum which is less tha a block from the resort - they had great sandwiches and gyros. And next to Penny Hill is a good pizza place called Orchid Island. Disney Vero Beach Resort sits along the Atlantic Ocean. The ocean was rough the entire time we were there. As for the beach, it was nothing special. We have been to Jamaica, Bahamas, Antigua, so we know something about a nice beach. This beach was not like any of those. Plus the Atlantic ocean is nothing like the gorgeous aqua blue of the tranquil Caribbean. As one would imagine being a Disney property the pool is geared towards families and children. I wouldn't recommend DVB for romance, it's focus isn't couples. If you want an experience like that go to a Secrets or a Sandals.
The one constant throughout the trip was the service. The staff at DVC did everything in their power to make us happy. They helped us with ground transportation, gave us great food/drink recommendations, a front desk employee took pictures of my husband and I while we waited for our shuttle back to the airport on our last day there. The front desk was well versed in the importance of attention to the details and it was quite evident throughout our time in Vero Beach, which was refreshing.
Overall I still believe this property worthy of a 3.5 - good but not great, and definitely in need of refurbishing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    212
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
418
142
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limon, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Absolutely a beautiful. The location can't be beat - the ocean is RIGHT THERE! We had a two bedroom villa which was wonderful. They told us no ocean view, but we could see it from the balcony and you could hear it every time you went outside - beautiful. Their staff were fantastic, upbeat, and helpful. Resturants were fabulous. As usual, Disney resorts can't be beat and set a high standard that most hotels just can't meet. We went to the Florida Keys first and stayed at a very nice hotel, but we all agreed that we were all happier once we got to Disney - coming home. I think we will add a couple of days here following a Disney World trip just to relax and unwind from the parks. Oh - the parks: We had no Disney World trip planned this year, but at only 2 hours way, we could not help sneaking up for a day and enjoying the Christmas decoration. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After 5 days at Disneyworld, this was a welcomed relief from all the running around. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a ocean view. The room was a corner room and had slanted ceilings which made it quite cozy. It was like an apartment. The carpets, bedspreads and mattresses could use an upgrade. After staying at the Yacht Club, this was a little disappointing. It was clean and housekeeping was very good. We had dinner and breakfast at Shutters which was very good. We did get to use the pool and beach, but for only one day since it was very cold, windy and cloudy. I'm not sure if I would go back there again. I think I would like to try other resorts in that area. It was still an enjoyable time and very relaxing!!

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

As DVC members we have been to Disney Vero Beach over a dozen times and we have yet to have what would qualify as a negative experience. The staff are highly trained and treat you well. The property is well maintained. The staff respond to feedback as evidenced by a change in towel policy to avoid guests "saving" lounges around the large pool. There is a workout center accessible with your room key. Restaurants on property are good in addition to the many local restaurants that can be found on Trip Advisor. If you want a restful vacation, have been to the Disney parks, it doesn't matter if you are a couple or a family, Disney Vero Beach is a place to go.

Room Tip: If you stay in the main lodge, request an oceanview on an upper floor and let the sound of the surf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Disney's Vero Beach Resort was a nice surprise. After reading several reviews, I was a bit skeptical but we found the resort to be well appointed with great service. This is certainly Disney at the Beach - at it's finest. The resort was immaculately clean and the attention to detail was prevalent in every nook and cranny, as is expected with Disney. Our studio room - 1541 - had a tremendous view of the ocean and was comfortable. The TV is very small, but works fine, and the decor was appropriate to the resort. The bathroom could use some updating but everything looked and worked fine.

The buildings and grounds are in such great shape and well designed. The hotel staff was very accommodating and polished. The resort's attention to conservation is everywhere. The turtles of the area are endangered and Disney makes every attempt to protect them with the special outdoor lighting, use of paper drinking straws, protected beach area and emphasis on recycling.

We plan on coming back.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view - the rooms on the 3rd floor have the potential for best views. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I made mine thru Hotels.com, I called them to change the dates of our trip, due to medical issues. They told me I had to cal the Resort to do that. I called Vero Beach and they said I'd have to go thru Disney's Central Reservation Service and gave me the #. There I was told I was not in their computer system since I went thru a third party, Hotels.com. Hotels.com said NO that's not policy. And the out come is that I lost 1nights payment + tax+fees. Over $200. Not happy with either Disney's nor Hotel.com response. So be careful!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Let me begin with the good. We arrived for a 2 night stay during the week of Thanksgiving, so the hotel lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas! Our room had awesome views of the ocean and we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Sonya's. Although our room had great views, it was in need of serious updating. I was surprised to see the "motelish" bedspreads in a 4 star trip advisor hotel! Bathrooms and furnishings were definitely old and tired looking. Service was spotty, which is surprising for the Disney brand. Poolside lunch was disgusting ... Even our kids turned up their noses at their hotdogs. Silly rules apply at this resort: no drinks by the pool and no drinking straws served in drinks by the pool. ?!? Internet service was out for 2+ hours. Pam, at the front desk, was very receptive to our concerns and asked that we share them with Kathy, housekeeping management. They happily credited us for our second night, so we couldn't have been more pleased. Resort itself is off the beaten path...Nowhere close by to grab a coffee or something.
Unfortunately, we won't be returning to this resort. If your family is looking for the Disney experience, head to Disney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Vero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Vero Beach Resort

Address: 9250 Island Grove Terrace, Vero Beach, FL 32963-4048
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Vero Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Disney hotel not located near Disney World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Vero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Resort Vero Beach
Disneys Vero Beach Resort
Disney Vero Beach Resort
Disneys Vero Beach Hotel
Disney Vero Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Vero Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.