We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Vero Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Vero Beach Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Vero Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9250 Island Grove Terrace, Vero Beach, FL 32963-4048   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Margate, Kent, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

This was our first holiday visit to this area, though we have visited many Florida destinations, including this time. We decided to pair this beach location with our visit to Orlando. Quiet Vero Beach is a beautiful and finely maintained spot. It is quite clearly affluent, with it's beautiful, tidy estates and condominiums. The Disney property is just wonderful. It is situated on a truly nice beach. The staff members are very friendly and helpful and the units are great as well. There are good dining options and perfectly nice pool there. This is a great place to unwind on the beach and a great family choice for this type of holiday. Great weather, great beach and excellent Disney product.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    210
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
416
139
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We chose Vero Beach for a relaxing few days at the end of a busy 11 nights in Orlando, hoping to retain the "Disney" magic throughout the holiday.

The location is great, the beach is clean, facilities are all well maintained, the food was good, the campfire night was fun however...

1. We arrived at 8pm with two sleeping children. It took nearly 1.5hours to actually get into the room type we'd book after the staff tried to pass us off with two terrible rooms in the main building. Be warned, anything that is not described as an Ocean view is described as a garden view. Garden views at this hotel including views of the garbage disposal area and generator. The first room we were given actually trembled due to the proximity of the generator outside, despite being on the top floor. The next one was right by the elevator and noisy with the constant flow waiting right outside for it to arrive. Neither of the these rooms were the "Studio" type we'd booked. We eventually were given a Studio room which was perfectly fine, by the pool on the ground level with a small patio which was ideal. The fact that we were assigned two awful rooms before this was an indicator of the level of service at this resort.

2. Saturday is Character Breakfast day. It was advised that we booked a table in advance which we did for 10am. On arriving we were just put in line with all the people who had turned up without reservations. We ended up not being seated to nearly 10.30. The hosting staff were just plain rude when we enquired why people who turned up after us were being seated ahead of us. The manager was no better and walked away when I asked why some people with reservations and party sizes the same as ours were seated immediately.

3. Even the activities booking staff took rudeness to another level. When attempting to book my son on an activity, the staff member first suggested that I might not be a guest, then when I said I was and gave them my room number they then insisted on me showing my room pass. If that's what they needed, they could have just politely asked to see it in the first place.

I should perhaps point out that I'm not some weird looking hoodlum who perhaps looked out of place or acted discourtegously, I'm a mid-30's, respectable looking accountant just trying to enjoy a nice family holiday!

There is clearly two strands of service operating here. The generally middle aged staff seem quite happy to provide the appropriate level of service to older Americans but being mid-30's with young children and from the UK seems to put you in the coach category of service at this resort. Expect to eat last, be given the worst rooms and be followed around the store least you steal something. I have never experienced anything like it anywhere else.

  • Liked — Location by the beach.
  • Disliked — awful staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We loved it. Weather cooperated. Husband went on deep sea fishing trip, I hung out at beach and pool. Walked the beach every day. Never ate at the resort. We tried various restaurants. We even bought lunch at Boppy's and ate on the beach. Bobby's is walking distance from beach.
All the staff was wonderful. A great relaxing vacation.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

We spent 3 nights at Disney's Vero Beach (Sun, Mon, Tue). I booked at the last minute through our travel agent. All of the "condo" rooms were taken (it was a Holiday Week), so we took a room at the Inn. Two Queens with "Ocean view". You could see the ocean off in the distance over the shrubbery, but we faced the pool. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave, sink, coffeemaker with complimentary coffee, cups, glasses, plates, etc. It was very spacious, though rough around the edges. I'm not sure how old the resort is, but edges of carpets were not too clean and grout in the tub was boderline icky. Overall though, a nice hotel room with plenty of room for our family of four.

We are not DVC members. Anyone can stay here; you don't have to be a timeshare owner. We were greeted very warmly and the "cast member" explained everything to us. The place was sold out for the first night we were there.

The resort caters to kids and families of course. The pool complex had it all for our 7 and 5 year old. Giant pool with slide; ample chairs; complimentary towels; toddler Pirate Ship splash pad; ping pong; putt putt golf; bikes, shuffleboard; board and card games available to borrow; snack shack. In addition, there is a full slate of activities for kids starting at 9am. My kids participated in face painting, toddler tea party, harmonica lessons, the UnBirthday Party, Kids Night Out (4-8pm), sun gazing.

After Day 1 at the pool, we tried to hit the beach on Day 2. But the weather was much cooler and very windy. We retreated to the pool again.

We ate breakfast as a family at Shutters, the Resorts restaurant. I was puzzled that we had to wait for a table at 9am and yet the restaurant was not even half full. Maybe understaffed? The food was fine, but took an incredibly long time to be delivered to our table. There are very mixed reviews on Trip Advisor about Shutters. Unfortunately, when our kids were in the Kids Night Out, the fancy restaurant Sonya's was not open. It is only open Thurs, Fri, Sat nights. Actually, I'm not sure where it is; I never saw it. We opted to skip Shutters and instead went to the Green Cabin Bar and sat on the second floor patio overlooking the ocean with drinks and ordered a few appetizers from the bar menu.

Character breakfast is only offered on Sat. mornings. Goofy and Donald are the only 2 characters at Vero Beach. We did see them a few times while we were there; but staffters told us that this was unusual; they are usually only there for the breakfast.

My biggest beef with Disney's Vero Beach is that they nickel and dime you to death! We paid $330 a night for our room at a beach resort. They charge you for any type of chair on the beach, umbrella on the beach, cabana on the beach. Why not build these prices into the room rate so that beach chairs are available to everyone? As a result, the beach was not crowded; everyone was at the pool! They also charge for most of the children's activies. They also differentiate between DVC members and non-members and charge non-members more (but only by a few dollars). They even charge for putt putt golf. I thought they should include that instead of charging $2 a pop to play 9 holes of mini golf! Drinks are expensive. $7.50 for pina coladas (good!) and $10 for a bahama mama (yum!). No poolside waiters. The line for the snack shack/bar was long. There is a general store off the lobby with Disney souveniers, sundries and also a decent selection of groceries (milk, cereal, bagels, drinks, etc). The only spa services on site are massages ($70 for full hour). I did get one; it was just OK. Also, we went to the family campfire. Two cast members lead us in hokey songs and we roasted marshmallows for s'mores. It was fun.

All in all I would highly recommend Disney's Vero Beach. Just realize that there are a lot of incidental charges that will arise. The dining options there need to be improved. There is not much else nearby if you want to go off site. If we go back, I would definitely stay in a condo room with a full kitchen to give us more options. Disney really does things right and knows how to cater to families. The resort is very clean and grounds are beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Disney does it right for families!
  • Disliked — But they nickel & dime you while you're here
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

This was our first visit to Vero Beach since 2004 - we had always intended to go back but were unable to until this recent trip. We have two young boys - aged 8 and 4. We booked in and stayed in an Ocean View Inn Room for four nights - these have 2 Queen Beds, sink, half-fridge, microwave oven and a small cupboard area for food storage. We had a decent sized balcony with a view directly fronting on the Oceanfront from the 3rd Floor. The closet was standard sized for this type of room.

We were booked into an accessible room which worked out great as we were able to shower off the inevitable sand tracked in from the beach in our tevas and crocs.

The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean and the staff were personable, friendly and helpful. There is a short 9 hole mini-golf course by the pool along with a small playground structure and a smaller kids pirate ship with lots of water flowing through to play in. The pool is a good size with a really nice waterslide - you get a great view of the Ocean from the top of the slide. The pool is not deep with a range from 3 feet to 5 feet and change. There is a shuffleboard pad nearby and they have a rental station for games, activities, sports equipment, bicycles and an arcade as well. There are a number of activities offered for kids at the property - scavenger hunts, tag football, arts n crafts, bicycle safaris etc. For adults, they offered surfing lessons, yoga, bicycle rides and a number of other activities. There is a reasonably sized fitness centre as well on the property.

We dined at Shutters and did not have a chance to dine at Sonya's. We generally had breakfast at Shutters which had a wide selection of choices that kept the family happy for the four morning meals we had there. We ate there twice for dinner - the food was very good but a touch expensive for the caliber of restaurant (this is not unusual for a hotel property). It is quite easy and convenient to eat at the property restaurants. Lunch was generally either in the room (we shopped at the Publix just north of #512 towards Sebastian on US#1) or at the Bleachers grill poolside. Decent fast food offerings and some drink selections. We also had a snack in the Green Cabin (on the 2nd floor) which is a warm and relaxing spot especially on a cool night.

We loved sightseeing in Vero Beach - the McKee Botanical Gardens were amazing and the kids liked going to the Vero Beach museum and the Schact Orange Groves and we will go back again (this time not almost 4 years between visit).

Our only disappointment during the trip was the lack of any Discovery kids club during the four nights we were there - we were looking forward to leaving the kids and letting them enjoy some time with their peers. They did not offer this during our stay.

  • Liked — Great pool slide and lots of activities scheduled
  • Disliked — The Discovery Kids Clubs not running
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

As new members to DVC, we were excited to book our first trip to one of the resorts. We decided to try Vero Beach and we are so glad we did.
The cast members were excellent. The abundance of things for our boys to do was amazing. They learned how to play the harmonica, took a cooking class and an archery class to name a few.
The beach is beautiful and we loved looking for the turtle nest. The swimming pool slide is a lot of fun for young and young at heart and my boys really enjoyed the pirate ship splash and play area.
The camp fire sing a long was a lot of fun. From check in to check out, I could not have asked for better treatment.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

There were 7 of us - 1 teenage boy, 2 teenage girls, our 8 year old son and 5 year old daughter. All of us had a fantastic time with the activities. Weather cooperated and made for a great week.

  • Liked — Disney's fantastic treatment
  • Disliked — Wish we had more time there - that's why we're going back
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Vero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Vero Beach Resort

Address: 9250 Island Grove Terrace, Vero Beach, FL 32963-4048
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Vero Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Disney hotel not located near Disney World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Vero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Resort Vero Beach
Disneys Vero Beach Resort
Disney Vero Beach Resort
Disneys Vero Beach Hotel
Disney Vero Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Vero Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.