We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The feel of the islands” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa

Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa
3500 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
+1 772-469-1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 253 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Fresh from the Atlantic, our dinner menu includes highlights like local tuna sashimi, grilled cobia with roasted lemon-butter, and sweet potato clam chowder. Save room for a slice of decadent key-lime cheesecake or a scoop of house-made seasonal ice cream.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The feel of the islands”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After dinner drinks on the outside porch overlooking the beach - heaven. Great fire pit. Service was good and price reasonable for what it is. Have dined in the restaurant in the past and prefer going there for after dinner drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    108
    40
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not bad but a little over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My friend raved about this place but when we drove almost 40 miles to have lunch here I guess I was just expecting a little more. The staff was very, very good...no problem there.... but the food seemed a little short on quality for the price. I got a burger, fries and cole slaw. The burger was overdone but tasted ok....not medium as ordered but well done. The fries were a bit greasy and soggy but there was a generous portion given to make up for it. The ambience is what you pay for and if you want to impress yourself or guests with the place then good luck, otherwise I would not advise shelling out your $40 for two for lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible kitchen, good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Menu is a very short.
Main entry absolutely without taste. (Chicken breasts or me and duck breast for my wife)
Desert definitely was not "home made".
Please fire a chef.
Parking rule is a strange. You have 2 choice - valet or go elsewhere on the street. My car have disability sign, I parked car on the appropriate parking space, but attendant told me that this space only for valet parking! So no exclusion even you have limited ability to walk you must pay for valet or go away, even like in my case, parking lot have many vacancy spaces. I personally hate valet parking, for two reason- my car is very expensive and my car received a little damages when I used valet year ago in Miami and I found out it only when I was about 100 miles from Miami on the gas station.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david f, General Manager at Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We take honest comments from people like yourself very seriously. It pains us to hear the not-so-good stuff, but it helps us learn and improve!

On the parking situation, valet is complimentary if you dine at Cobalt or Heaton's Reef

Thanks,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“big disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Uncomfortably cold, seats uncomfortably low. Service very slow. Limited menus and several items not available. Food portions very small and very expensive. Taste bland...not special at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david f, General Manager at Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
So sorry! The situation you encountered at our restaurant was pretty rare, but that doesn’t make it any more right. We always try to do our best and hope you will let us prove this to you during your next visit.

Please let me know when you are back in Vero and I would love to treat you to a great dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Maybe not quite a 4...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was very good and the outdoor patio was very nice and relaxing. Usually I am wowed by a Kimpton restaurant, but this one just didn't have that wow factor on this visit. If I ever come back, I still would try again and hope to be wowed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david f, General Manager at Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hopefully we will be able to wow you the next time you come in, let me know when you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa also viewed

 

Been to Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.