We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa

Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa
3500 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
772.469.1060
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 264 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food we enjoyed at Cobalt was to a high standard and very well presented. We visited the restaurant on what appeared to be a very quiet evening and whilst the service was reasonable, there were a few little things that you would not expect from a restaurant of this standard, particularly on a less busy evening.

When our main courses were served, both of our wine glasses were empty, so I would have expected one of the team to notice on their visit to our table. No-one did so we topped up the wine ourselves (having to get up from the table to reach the bucket.) I don't have an issue serving myself, however, excellent service should be at the forefront here.

Also, considering the empty tables nearby, I would have expected plates to be cleared more efficiently, however, due to the corner of the restaurant we were in, it may not have been possible to see that we had finished eating.

The food was great, but they may need to keep an eye on their service standards, particularly on quieter evenings.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david f, General Manager at Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
First off, great name! Second, thanks for the feedback. We make continuous improvements every day at every shift, without great feedback that makes it a challenge. Glad to know that you enjoyed the food, please come back when you are stateside again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    84
    29
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wonderful meal with incredible presentation! The Chef was amazing. Enjoyed scallops with an oxtail rice. There is also an outdoor patio overlooking the ocean.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david f, General Manager at Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the great review! I agree, Chef Mike is amazing, the new menu is delicious. Our scallop dish is our signature!! Come back and enjoy the view and our firepits overlooking the ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place provides a great high end classy meal and ambience. We had a wonderful family wedding dinner here and the meal was outstanding even as they catered for 60 people.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New chef,new menu, 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Returned after visiting in July and cobalt has markedly improve. The grouper and snapper dishes were outstanding as was the lobster salad.richard, our server was also outstanding.the outdoor seating on the beach makes for an outstanding sense of ambience.highly recommendand will return

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david f, General Manager at Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks! We are so happy you liked the new menu! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great place for sunday brunch -lunch,not too pricey around 10-14 dollars, great view, great service , clean and classy. Also has a great happy hour daily from 4 30 to 6 with excellent prices, can get busy so get there early.Recommend the fish sandwich, the best in town. Food is fresh and light, delicious flavors.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david f, General Manager at Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Great review, thanks! I am addicted to our fish sandwich, so fresh!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa also viewed

 

Been to Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobalt Restaurant and Lounge - Vero Beach Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.