We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere like it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Carnish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Carnish
Save
You added Auberge Carnish to your Saves list
5 Carnish, Carnish HS2 9EX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Carnish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nowhere like it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is our second trip to the Auberge and even better than the first. The view is the best you will find anywhere. If you like peace and tranquilly and are in need of a break from the rat race of life the this is the place to be. The room so comfortable and has everything you need, from lovely highland toiletries to lovely fluffy towels. The bed was so comfortable we slept like logs. The evening meals cooked by Richard were delicious and there was an excellent wine list. Kerry looked after us so well and remembered our preferences every time. Fiona provided us with an wonderful breakfast every morning and gave us handy tips on where to visit. Nothing was too much trouble for any oft the staff. The icing on the cake was the way Richard and his staff helped our friends give us the biggest surprise when they joined us for the trip when we thought they were unable to come. Thank you Richard and Jo for another wonderful stay. We left feeling refreshed, rested and pampered. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view. Room 5 has two widows and is very light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
85
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmacolm, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The view is spectacular, anyone who has stayed there will tell you that, but it is really spectacular. And better than that it changes continually, you drink in the view, turn back to the table to be polite, then turn back and it is new. With the tide shifting the sand and the sky constantly repainting itself there is serious danger of getting stabbed in the cheek, either from careless eating or from a frustrated companion.
I should also say the food is excellent - the fish superb. If you are feeling decadent, and want to make up for neglecting your loved one by watching the view as if it were the footie on the telly, then be extravagant and take a room. They are beautiful and have those nice cushions and fragrant unguents that girls like.

Room Tip: book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was working on the Isle of Harris on a photo assignment when I was let down by a hotel. I found out about Auberge Carnish via a local guide book and managed to book their last room available. Initially I only needed to stay for one night but stayed for 3. The room was very comfortable with a great wifi signal (which was essential for my job). Other than the truly amazing landscape, the quality of the food was stunning. The venison was fantastic as was the smoked salmon.
I am now considering how I can take my family back up there to have a holiday, it was that good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The saving grace of the Auberge is its location on Uig beach. I have never seen a lovelier one in my travels. The room was of a generous size with lovely furnishings and a modern en suite. However, there was an air of neglect and the restaurant was a real let-down. The staff was genuinely friendly and helpful and I hope they can bring their performance up to speed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

In my opinion the people who have ventured over to auberge are being seduced by the view. Don't get me wrong the accommodation was fine, but at the prices charged it was no more than was expected. The reviews from the visitors makes me a little bit dubious as to where they are basing their experiences from, good food is good food but this is far from "fine dining". If you are looking for this look no further than "Digby Chicks in Stornoway". Auberge needs to try and add some sort of character as after your evening meal the place was deflated with no soul. I was so looking forward to going but was left disappointed to the point of "will not return" and will not recommend. On a brighter note the breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's been a few weeks since our stay at the Auberge Carnish and I am still in awe of the place. First of all, the drive to the Auberge from the ferry in Tarbert is nothing short of amazing. At every turn we were stunned by the beauty and ever changing nature of the landscape. It's one of the most beautiful drives we've ever enjoyed. The Auberge is situated just as the pictures show -- the view of the beach is incredible, the location is superb. Our room was enormous, and had two comfy chairs placed right in front of our windows for that view. We spent quite a bit of time in those chairs. The bathroom was also extremely large and well appointed, with a large skylight/window you could operate. It was wonderful to open all the windows in the room and bathroom and let the breezes blow through. I loved the colors on the walls, too, they exactly matched the colors of the turquoise ocean and the soft pink/tan of the sands. It's simple luxury and completely in keeping with the location and architecture of the auberge. Loved the bed linens - very high quality, and the bed was obviously new and very comfortable and large. Tons of storage -- we didn't use all of it! Large desk too, great lighting everywhere, lots of plugs.
Food here at the auberge was better than I imagined. Chef Richard is truly innovative and talented. Everything we ate was delicious, fresh, and surprising. Though we stayed several nights, there were always specials and we ate something new every night, I only wish we could have stayed more nights to try everything! The value is mind blowing for the quality you are getting. Don't get me started on breakfasts. They were the best of our 3 week trip through Scotland. One night, after a very busy dinner service, we were lucky enough to have Chef Richard sit down with us and another couple and chat over drinks. He is such an interesting, lovely man, and I loved his French/Scottish accent! The other staff, including Fiona, who does the breakfasts, were all so genuinely friendly and positive -- we felt like family after only a few days.
We feel so happy to have found the Auberge. We wanted to stay extra nights but unfortunately they were booked solid and we had to move on. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The best room in the house has to be the ground floor room with a private terrace, looking right at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a delightful place to stay but it was the dinner that made it excellent. If you just stay B&B then you are missing out. Having said that the breakfast was fabulous too. A change from the usual was available, pancakes with lots of berries - yummy.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs one for the view over the beach. We had one downstairs which was perfectly equipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Carnish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Carnish

Address: 5 Carnish, Carnish HS2 9EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carnish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carnish
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious, relaxed, purpose-built guesthouse in a lovely corner of the Isle of Lewis, with fine dining, an excellent wine list and spectacular views of Uig Sands from your bed, bath and dining table. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Carnish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.