We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's got the lot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Carnish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Carnish
Save
You added Auberge Carnish to your Saves list
5 Carnish, Carnish HS2 9EX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Carnish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Lewis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's got the lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Auberge is an amazing experience. Uig is one the most remote areas of Lewis, but certainly one of the most beautiful so the scenery of the drive over merely wets the appetite for what's to come!
Auberge is located on a wee tidal inlet which has a sandy bottom. The surrounding landscape is the glorious hills of Uig.
Upon entering the building and going to reception you are immediately greeted by an cosy wee stove surrounded by comfy leather couches..........this was a fantastic place to sit, later on, and enjoy some per-dinner drinks and choose from the menu.
The room we had was fantastic. Spacious, comfy....kind of Scandinavian. There was a couple of comfy seats over by the window where you can sit and enjoy the outstanding view before heading downstairs for dinner.
Sitting in the big leather couches downstairs, beside that wee stove just makes you feel so relaxed and cosy. We sat there until our starters were ready.....then we were shown to our table. The table was right beside the front of the building so we could continue enjoying the same stunning view........there was plenty of room at the table with the spacing between tables making it feel private, which we certainly appreciated.
The menu was utterly fantastic. There was absolutely nothing on that menu that I wouldn't have loved! Very much a French cuisine theme, using local produce where possible - what a perfect blend! I've been extremely fortunate to dine in restaurants around the world so I have no problem in rating the quality of food at Auberge as being amongst the finest. Fantastic selection of wines from around the world as well.
Never once being rushed to leave our table, the table service was fantastic. Some of the staff were new, but they were being coached and mentored by Richard who was constantly guiding them.
Richard, the proprietor and chef deserves a particular mention. Charm personified......friendly, humorous......and highly talented. What he has created at Auberge is fantastic.......fine dining and fine accommodation........it's a recipe for success. Auberge already has a fantastic reputation and I can only see that growing as word spreads. It isn't cheap, but it is easily comparable to other high boutique hotels/guest houses........Auberge can hang its head high in that company.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
85
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting. Wonderful food. Lovely people. Tasteful furnishings. Comfy beds. Excellent showers.

Did I forget anything?

Apparently I have to write 200 characters! I suspect that you've already got the general idea, and there's really not much I can add that wouldn't be repetition.

Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. The setting is amazing. The food is very very good. Richard and staff are friendly and helpful. If you are looking for somewhere to stay on Lewis, try here first (but make a reservation because there are only five rooms). We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herault, France
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived at the auberge in glorious sunshine. We were staying on the Isle of Skye but decided to hop over to Harris and Lewis for two days. The place was easy to find and occupies an unenviable position overlooking the pure white beach and coral sea.

We were shown to our large, spacious and comfortable twin room with excellent views of Uig beach. French doors opened onto our private patio.

Our bathroom was large with an excellent shower.

My night's sleep was of good quality in a comfortable bed. When my constant insomnia did raise its ugly head I walked over to the French doors and looked up at the night sky with its myriad of stars. A walk out onto the patio, despite the chill of an April night and watching the stars was magnificent; if only I'd packed my camera tripod!

Richard was a great and friendly host with a good sense of humour, his staff are a credit to him and altogether we had a exceptional night thanks to them all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ate here twice while staying at Riof on Lewis. What a great place!! Views from restuarant are out of this world. The food is all cooked to perfection with good menu choices using fresh local produce. The owner, Richard, and his staff are the perfect hosts. Good portions and value for money with set price for 2 or 3 courses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Auberge Carnish has a prime location overlooking the stunning main beach at Uig. The rooms and dining room all overlook this amazing view. Our room was large and cozy even in the chilly March weather. Our en-suite bathroom was also big and luxurious.
Richard is an amazing cook and he fed us with beautiful meals cooked with local produce ranging from Scallops and Monkfish to Venison. As we were the only guests at the time we were also waited upon by Richard and he managed to take our orders, prepare the meals and keep our glasses topped up!
If you love the Outer Hebrides and also like a wee bit of luxury then visit Auberge Carnish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our honeymoon, the location is truly lovely. The house itself is spotless and very comfortable with large rooms. We dined in the restaurant both evenings and it is the best food we have ever eaten. Breakfasts in the morning were freshly prepared and cooked to order, the homemade bread was divine. We were the only overnight guests during our time there so got to know the chef and proprietor well. Thank you Richard for making us feel totally at home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Carnish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Carnish

Address: 5 Carnish, Carnish HS2 9EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carnish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carnish
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious, relaxed, purpose-built guesthouse in a lovely corner of the Isle of Lewis, with fine dining, an excellent wine list and spectacular views of Uig Sands from your bed, bath and dining table. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Carnish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.