We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is pretty good and fairly authentic......BUT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cassariano Italian Eatery

Cassariano Italian Eatery
313 West Venice Avenue, Venice, FL 34285
941-485-0507
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cassariano Italian Eatery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 215 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nassau Rd
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Food is pretty good and fairly authentic......BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have eaten here several times and at first really loved the place, but recently its gone a bit down hill. When we arrived a couple of nights ago, the owner was outside trying to seat people and didn't seem to have a greeting for us. We had reservations for outside and had to go inside to get someone's attention. When we were seated, we were greeted by a friendly waiter who took our drink order and returned in a reasonable amount of time to place our order. I had Pappardelle Bolognese which I have had before and it was delicious, this time it was dry.....need more sauce for sure. The shrimp dish my friend had, which I tasted was overdone and very tough. The kicker of the evening was when four attractive women sat next to our table and our waiter suddenly forgot about us!! Even the owner was distracted! LOL.....I understand really I do, but c'mon, be professional!! A disappointing experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    96
    31
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ROCHESTER NY
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Been here before, been better before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Recent dinner stop with family, was average overall. Meals were okay, service was okay, asked 3 times for oil/vinegar with bread, average level of interest in guest's comfort and satisfaction. Servings were generous, it just was a rather average stop at Italian restaurant, and a return visit goes somewhere in the middle of our list....not the top. Unfortunately for this establishment, they have shinier, warmer, friendlier competition in the area, with better food and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Everything The Review's Said It Was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cassariano's was everything the reviews on TA said it would be. We were seated outside at about 7 PM last evening, the weather was superb about 76 degrees. Dinner began with a couple of glasses of Moscato. Out main courses consisted of a generous portion of Pappardelle Bolognese wuth a delicious Veal Meat Sauce, my wife had one of the specials which was Sea Bass. Meals were attractively arranged on the plate, piping hot and extremely good. Dinner was followed by the desert course. I had a choclate mouse & Madelyn had Creme Brule. Both very good. We just happened to be sitting next to two couples who were speaking about towns and places in our home area, turn's out that of the men was the brother of a classmate of mine and that we were both in the same high school at the same time. You never know !!!. CASSARIANO'S IS AN EXCEPTIONALLY GOOD EATERY. YOU MUST GO THERE!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Great Restaurant!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is now my favorite restaurant in Venice ...Everything was wonderful ...the service...the food the dining ...the downtown venice ...I could go on ....we went with another couple and all thier food was wonderful ...too...!!! It was a nice evening out!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best FL dining experience in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Punta Gorda and had no knowledge of the area. Found this restaurant by accident and were extremely pleased. Walked in on a Sunday at around 520p and the restaurant was mostly full. We had no reservation and were seated right away. Had the carne carpaccio appetizer, a pork dish, lobster ravioli and the ahi tuna (rare). All menu items, no specials. It was all delicious. We were stuffed and even my 7 yo loved her ravioli and took the last 2 home. Portions were not small by any standard. Service was excellent all around and would highly recommend! Went right next door for the best gelato :-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassariano Italian Eatery also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cassariano Italian Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassariano Italian Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.